• Six Jamaicans among boatload of immigrants held in Florida

Six Jamaicans among boatload of immigrants held in Florida
    CMC
    Wednesday, April 14, 2010

MIAMI, CMC – United States law enforcement officials said citizens from two Caribbean Community (CARICOM) countries face deportation after they were apprehended when a boatload of people landed illegally at a beach in Fort Lauderdale on Monday night.

US Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) officials said that while it is possible that some of the migrants may have evaded arrest, those detained came from Haiti, Jamaica and Sri Lanka.

Without identifying those detained by name, ICE said that four were from Haiti and six from Jamaica.

Nicole Navas, an ICE spokeswoman, said officials discovered about $11,000 in American and Bahamian currency on the boat and that most of the migrants were smuggled into Florida “from the Bahamas”.

US federal agents using helicopters are searching for the migrants who fled after the boat landed on the beach.

it appears quite a few jamaican entertainers may have been on that boat.

this just in...the chairman of a large urban development company has been reported missing.

it appears quite a few entertainers may have been on that boat.

this just in...the chairman of a large urban development company has been reported missing.

This is a very ominous sign. With increasing crime, and poverty on the rise we should expect more Jamaicans using more desperate means to leave the island. One has to remember that the current state was not always like it is in recent years. Haiti was once a viable country with some opportunities for its citizens. Jamaica is heading in the same direction, and the government is not even capable of completing the extradition order for someone who is probably a criminal.

a long time dat a gwa'an, stay deh!

i have at least one relative who has made the trip. successfully! not a proud fact, but...

The way things are..I am sure you are scheming to try someting like you couzin.

(A least one relative. G'damn)

why would i try? dem cancel mi visa??!

The way things are...you wuden know if you visa cancel until you dey a airport...

no bodda set nuh bad luck pon mi tings, y'ear!

but him fresh!!!!!

why are you not at your work station?

sorry...i thought i was ... as you were hl...fire away!!!

...seems like a going to mix unu pay check wid copper this Friday.

Slacking off pan the job again. Not gwine tolerate that around here.

Back to werk!!!

Hold on Mo, the Chinese them coming don't make the trip yet. You soon can build the big house. Just continue pressure Bruce fi Leggo Dudus.