The Air Jamaica Giveaway

• The Air Jamaica Giveaway

I got this in an email. As I am no expert on the matter, I put it to the forum for discussion.

The Air Jamaica Giveaway

Posted on March 6, 2010 by jay

A few years ago when then minister of finance Dr Omar Davis sold the Heathrow slots in the UK we were all very livid, as we believed we could have gotten a lot more for it.

Never in my wildest dream would I have imagined that 4 years later, the Bruce Golding lead JLP would have outdone this rather ludicrous act by then government (the PNP), but he has done just that.

The transportation minister in the twin island Republic of Trinidad last Thursday made it very clear that they were NOT buy or even merging with the beleaguered airline, Air Jamaica. Instead the minister stunned millions of Jamaicans when he stated that Trinidad was merely taking over the profitable routes that Air Jamaica used to fly.
    Lets put in bulletpoints
    • Trinidad is NOT buying Air Jamaica.
    • Trinidad is not absorbing any debt of Air Jamaica (We already knew that).
    • Trinidad has no obligation to the Jamaican workers.
    • Trinidad will ONLY fly on the profitable routes Air Jamaica had.
    • Trinidadian based Caribbean Airlines will become the Jamaica’s National Airline.
    • CAL will have exclusive rights in Jamaica.
    • Trinidad gets to pick all the slots they want and they pay nothing to acquire them.

What does Jamaica get in return for the dumbest deal ever negotiated?

• Jamaica will absorb all the debts of the National Airline
    • Jamaica will pay all redundancy benefits to former Air Jamaica workers
    • Jamaica will close down Air Jamaica, April 11, 2010.
    • Jamaica will have to secure deal i.e. pay other carriers to secure airlift for taking tourist to Jamaica on those routes that CAL will not fly, so as not to disrupt the tourism product.
    • What will happen if those profitable routes than CAL has taken over stop making profit? Well you guess it right, CAL will simply pull those routes, leaving the Jamaican government to pay other carriers to airlift tourist to Jamaica on those routes.
    • What guarantees are there in this agreement between the GOJ & Trinidad as it relates to these routes, I firmly believe nothing is in it for us.

Who benefits

Well Jamaica will absorb all the cost involved in this transition to Caribbean Airline and amazingly Trinidad will not be paying over to us one red cent, yes not a red cent.

Jamaica will also have to find money to secure carriers to airlift tourist on the routes that CAL will not take over, but are important to the tourism product.

Trinidad will take over well establish slots, sale price = $0.00

Trinidad will take over profitable routes, sale price = $0.00

How about landing fees , Cal now pays nothing = $0.00

Being the National Airline of Jamaica we will actually be losing now as CAL will no longer be paying landing fees.(Every Airline that lands in Jamaica is required to pay landing fees).

So four years ago we sold the Heathrow slots of a very low price, but Bruce did better than that, the JLP gave away ALL the fully developed slots to Trinidad.

We will not get a penny for all money and effort we have spent developing and marketing these routes over the years.

The JLP have no idea what is Goodwill, and hence will give everything away without a dime changing hands.

Mr. Shaw were where you in this deal, did you not know that the word Jamaica is a brand name and has such has tremendous intrinsic value, yet you allowed your boss to agree to give it away for free.

It’s not over yet as Jamaica is still stuck with the two planes it owns and have been trying to get rid of for sometime. We still would have to be carrying these on the books, pay maintenance cost, insurance coupled with depreciation cost while we hold them awaiting a sale.

Are we going to give those away to CAL too, Mr. Prime Minster tell us what are the plans for the two planes.

I say Bruce should be impeached with immediate effect; he lied and, mislead the nation about the nature of the sale when he knew fully well there was no sale, but a giveaway.

No elected member of government should ever be allowed to giveaway national assets ands hence impeachment proceeding should start forthwith.

This is a national disgrace and no doubt will go down as the worst negotiation that has ever taken place in the country’s history.

At a time when we are borrowing heavily, how can we afford to be a Santa Claus.

We have become the laughing stock of the entire Caribbean, as not even Haiti would agree to this deal that Bruce and his party carved out.

All involved should resign and locked up and charged with fraud, deception and breach of public trust.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

And what is the alternative? keep the Airline running, No IMF agreement, losing how many Million US per year?

The real AJ giveaway is the US$1B debt that was allowed to mushroom over the years.

well not really.. AJ was setup to be a marketing powerhouse.. problem was the people in charge of the Product..

What was Butch thinking ? He must have been drinking deeply of the Comrade Coolaid.. PJ trick him..

Now.. unfortunately due to airlift options.. AJ is no longer relevant.. wuss if dem guh di Regional Hub route.. as they should..

Nice likkle run doh in Airline Years.. 40+... wow..

And what is the alternative? keep the Airline running, No IMF agreement, losing how many Million US per year?
          Well the author of that article is obviously confused as to what a marketable asset is. Air Jamaica is not such an asset. You couldn't pay sane people to take Air Jamaica with it's debt, so why expect Air Jamaica to have value otherwise?

Mr. Shaw were where you in this deal, did you not know that the word Jamaica is a brand name and has such has tremendous intrinsic value, yet you allowed your boss to agree to give it away for free.
          Here's the first mistaken assumption. A country's name is not a brand. Calling a country a "brand" cheapens the country. What kind of brand is "China"? Cheap and Low quality? With nuclear weapons? And thousands of years of history?

This is a national disgrace and no doubt will go down as the worst negotiation that has ever taken place in the country’s history.

At a time when we are borrowing heavily, how can we afford to be a Santa Claus.
          Poor fella actually thinks someone was going to buy Air Jamaica based on name alone. That would amount to being sold a bill of goods.

We have become the laughing stock of the entire Caribbean, as not even Haiti would agree to this deal that Bruce and his party carved out.
          Quite right because Haiti doesn't have anything remotely approaching what we have as a national airline. So they wouldn't get into our kind of situation so as to be forced to make such giveaway deals anyway. Haiti's two main airlines are much more like Jamaica Air Shuttle than Air Jamaica. They both fly turboprop (propeller-driven) planes like Cessnas and JetStreams and the majority of their destinations are domestic (i.e. within Haiti) with the international destinations including the Dominican Republic, Turks and Caicos Islands and the Bahamas.

The real AJ giveaway is the US$1B debt that was allowed to mushroom over the years.
            yep! half ah dat unda Butch "private" ownership...wha 5 year ar suh?

mmmmmm?

Seems as if Assasin, Willi, Maudib, Don1 and ReggaeMike sees this as a great move by Likle Brucie!

...but I do not!
              I wonder if any other person sees why I vehemently disagree with Likle Brucie? ...but then possibly not...?

I have made the case for another route with the pilots given a shot at the controls...but?!

Yes.. that was when the Brand was developed...

What was developed the other years ??

Yuh get more and more transparent the higher yuh climb.. but you cannot help yourself.. can you..

Weakness of the fraud...

Yes.. that was when the Brand was developed...
                  LOL! That was when the DEBT was developed.... yuh cyan try rewrite history all yuh like Chemical... yuh hero worship nuh cut it... try critical analysis..LoL!

mmmmmm?

Seems as if Assasin, Willi, Maudib, Don1 and ReggaeMike sees this as a great move by Likle Brucie!

...but I do not!
                    I wonder if any other person sees why I vehemently disagree with Likle Brucie? ...but then possibly not...?

I have made the case for another route with the pilots given a shot at the controls...but?!
                    How old is Air Jamaica ?

Why are still talking about a 'National Airline'.. need to raise the level and get serious..

How old is Air Jamaica ?

Why are still talking about a 'National Airline'.. need to raise the level and get serious..
                      We are, where we are!
                      ...and should make 'best decisions'!

As far as AirJ is concerned, forget the past! It should have been, "Look to the future"!

You are the one that needs to 'rewrite' history.

Air Jamaica best management was under Butch Stewart. During that time management weathered almost 2 years of grounded equipment due to mind numbing Govt incompetence and 911.

Yuh likkle propaganda campaign getting really boring now. Trying to question the management ability of one of Jamaica's most successful businessmen is.. well.. stupid at best.

We all know what motivates your silly campaign... seen that brand of baggage enough over the years...

yes and the future is Hub.. not Airline..

mmmmmm?

Great move?

More like only move.

...but I do not!

The same pilots who came to the party late despite the government indicating from 2007 that they were looking into getting rid of the airline? Some of those pilots have helped the management (direct and otherwise) and other staff to drag Air Jamaica's name through the mud, as I know folks in the CAA who have long since refused to fly on that airline because the sponsored seats they were entitled to as part of the inter-agency agreements were being appropriated by some of the pilots so they could take who they wanted on free trips. I've also had relatives on who've found everyone in their group bumped from a flight in favour of the friends of staff and management and the whole game was given away when they announced the name of one of the children (aged 5) but nobody else in the family.

For a country that prides itself on our super-fast sprinters we have an usual addiction to tardiness. So we have the JFF (no matter who runs it) being tardy in world cup preparations and we have airline pilots who have almost two years notice about the divestment of the airline but only organize themselves after everyone else has submitted bids. No wonder Jamaica get the short-end of the stick when it comes to international relations. We have a culture of lateness and expect that lateness will be forgiven and that we can just skip ahead in the line.

yes and the future is Hub.. not Airline..
                              Yeah. Not even Dominican Republic have a government-owned and designated international airline and the DR is already pretty much the sub-hub of the Caribbean after Miami.