The Air Jamaica Giveaway

You are the one that needs to 'rewrite' history.

Air Jamaica best management was under Butch Stewart. During that time management weathered almost 2 years of grounded equipment due to mind numbing Govt incompetence and 911.

Yuh likkle propaganda campaign getting really boring now. Trying to question the management ability of one of Jamaica's most successful businessmen is.. well.. stupid at best.

We all know what motivates your silly campaign... seen that brand of baggage enough over the years...
    Chemical facts are stubborn.

Butch followed a wrong and unsustainable business model with the airline. Trying to be a Singapore Airline luxury type operation in our discount market was ridiculous....the correct way to go was...and still is... a Southwest Airline discount model.

Yes management was better...unfortunately the strategy was fundamentally flawed.

Plus if he was spending his money and not the taxpayer's...no doubt the 100s of millions spent trying to grow the airline into profitability and creating a faux luxury type brand would not have been spent....a classic case of a moral hazard...knowing that the GOJ and the taxpayer were the ultimate backstop....im open up di spigot dem an get peeple like yuh (and me at the time LoL!) excited wid di luxury BS.... an lef wi a hold di bag

Man fi stick to hotel bizniz...im world class at dat.... with airline... im nuh reddy

Singapore Luxury ??

Nuff said !

The water is a likkle too deep fi yuh here suh.. swing back before yuh drown.

Mi nuh know why unnuh si big people tings and feel seh unnuh 2 cents 'analysis' worth anything..

Ah Bwoy..
      Last edited by Muadib; April 13, 2010, 10:05 PM.

Singapore Luxury ??

Nuff said !

The water is a likkle too deep fi yuh here suh.. swing back before yuh drown.

Mi nuh know why unnuh si big people tings and feel seh unnuh 2 cents 'analysis' worth anything..

Ah Bwoy..
        LoL! Dat hold yuh yute...yuh nuh ave nuh come back...

Wrong strategy = nuff money lose.... taxpayer lose offa "private" company....ongly in Jamaica

sarry fi disturb yuh hero worship...but ah jus suh di ting set

While Butch have to take some blame so too the government of the day because

When Butch took over Air J would have soon been grounded by the FAA.

The government really didn't sell Butch but rented it, so he could stick them up for more moeny.

While Butch have to take some blame so too the government of the day because

When Butch took over Air J would have soon been grounded by the FAA.

The government really didn't sell Butch but rented it, so he could stick them up for more moeny.
            The airline was NOT grounded...tap falla di fooliniss Chemical chat.

They were not able to expand routes until the Category 1 status was regained

proper analysis requires you to arrive at a conclusion based on the facts.. not to try and manufacture facts to fit your conclusion...

Hint.. opinion is not fact..

There are 2 facts which you attempt to skillfully avoid..

"Strategy" is irrelevant in the face of ground fleets and 9-11...

Trying to attribute losses experienced to 'wrong strategy' in the face of the mentioned events is.. stupid...

Strategy was implemented to achieve an objective.. the objective was met..

Next..

proper analysis requires you to arrive at a conclusion based on the facts.. not to try and manufacture facts to fit your conclusion...

Hint.. opinion is not fact..

There are 2 facts which you attempt to skillfully avoid..

"Strategy" is irrelevant in the face of ground fleets and 9-11...

Trying to attribute losses experienced to 'wrong strategy' in the face of the mentioned events is.. stupid...

Strategy was implemented to achieve an objective.. the objective was met..

Next..
                what was the strategy? Ans: Massive refleeting & massive route expansion & massive marketing spend to support new unproven routes

Result: A nice brand, new planes, 350 flights per week, advertising everywhere AND massive losses...... picked up by the taxpayer

Hmmmmm .... the jury is in

What was the objective ?.. if you are unable to answer this question you are not equipped to offer relevant analysis..

You are out of your depth..

Oh is that all ?

"Just a year after its partial privatization, Air Jamaica was again profitable, at least on an operational level. In January 1996, the first of an order of a dozen Airbus A310s was delivered. However, it had to be grounded as the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) found Jamaica’s Civil Aviation Department—not the airline itself—failing to meet international safety standards. This action by the FAA cut off opportunities for Air Jamaica to add new routes in the United States. The carrier was also adding a half dozen A320s to its fleet. Most of the Airbus aircraft were leased; the majority of these planes were grounded for 18 months, costing the company an estimated $150 million."

The inconvenient truth...

Originally posted by ReggaeMike View Post
                      Great move?

More like only move.

The same pilots who came to the party late despite the government indicating from 2007 that they were looking into getting rid of the airline? Some of those pilots have helped the management (direct and otherwise) and other staff to drag Air Jamaica's name through the mud, as I know folks in the CAA who have long since refused to fly on that airline because the sponsored seats they were entitled to as part of the inter-agency agreements were being appropriated by some of the pilots so they could take who they wanted on free trips. I've also had relatives on who've found everyone in their group bumped from a flight in favour of the friends of staff and management and the whole game was given away when they announced the name of one of the children (aged 5) but nobody else in the family.

For a country that prides itself on our super-fast sprinters we have an usual addiction to tardiness. So we have the JFF (no matter who runs it) being tardy in world cup preparations and we have airline pilots who have almost two years notice about the divestment of the airline but only organize themselves after everyone else has submitted bids. No wonder Jamaica get the short-end of the stick when it comes to international relations. We have a culture of lateness and expect that lateness will be forgiven and that we can just skip ahead in the line.
                      No one disagrees with what you have said above, same and except, "more like the only move"...but...

As I said, we are, where we are!
                      No need to cause fear and mistakes of the past to have us do 'inaction'...or crazy actions as per Likle Brucie's!

What was the objective ?.. if you are unable to answer this question you are not equipped to offer relevant analysis..

You are out of your depth..
                        too easy yute

yuh tink di objective is to win award an have di bes airline inna di Caribbean? If so mission was accomplished!!

Unfortunately they forgot the part about making money

Oh is that all ?

"Just a year after its partial privatization, Air Jamaica was again profitable, at least on an operational level. In January 1996, the first of an order of a dozen Airbus A310s was delivered. However, it had to be grounded as the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) found Jamaica’s Civil Aviation Department—not the airline itself—failing to meet international safety standards. This action by the FAA cut off opportunities for Air Jamaica to add new routes in the United States. The carrier was also adding a half dozen A320s to its fleet. Most of the Airbus aircraft were leased; the majority of these planes were grounded for 18 months, costing the company an estimated $150 million."

The inconvenient truth...
                          A few inconvenient questions:

Who estimated the losses? Butch?

Who tell im fi orda suh much plane widout due diligence? Look like im did need lobbyist inna Washington like most serious airline before im commit tuh dem kina expansion...yuh tink Babylon easy an tek tings jus suh? Mi wudden surprise if American neva cook up dat deh category 2 BS fi sheg im up.... ah suh it guh most time...Babylon run tings...by di way...like out tings nah run good rite now dem tings cyan still reach wi...watch di ride..LoL!

Whaapen afta di 18 month wen di plane dem cudda fly? Dem mek money?
                          Nuhbadda wid di "operational profit" sinting...all now dem claim dem ah mek operational profit... it nuh mean ah ting

How much taxpayer money bail im out? $150m? $500m? $700m? One guess.

Im mek ah good try (largely at taxpayer expense unfortunately) but di airline bizniz bigga dan im.....nuh shame inna dat...it bruk nuff man pocket

If im did have a discount strategy tings wudda betta....tuh much frills an fandagles
                          Last edited by Don1; April 14, 2010, 12:21 AM.

if that is all you thought was won.. well, as I said you are out of your depth..

you call those inconvenient questions ?

lol !

I call it grasping at straws.. it nah help yuh.. mi did warn you about swimming in the deep end..

AJ experienced its best management, Brand recognition and market share dominance under Butch Stewart... unfortunately it also experienced major shocks not the fault of management..

Pick a different industry to define someones capabilities.. yuh stretching wid dis one.. bettah yuh go back to yuh anti-newsletter campaign...even doh it seem to be yuh friend now..

lol !

if that is all you thought was won.. well, as I said you are out of your depth..
                                you make it so clear when you have run out of argument