while browsing in a bookstore

• while browsing in a bookstore

in new orleans i picked up a book with a long title which begins "one drop" by bliss broyard about how her father passed for white ... quite an interesting read and even mor interesting is scholarship on the "passing" phenomenon (you guys remember "the human stain") including an article by one skip gates.

then there is also a book which claims that j edgar hoover was black.

i remember a 1930's movie called pinky which also dealt with this issue of the "one drop rule".....fascinating stuff, to me.

if you're named after a vacuum cleaner, you must be black! duh!

New Orleans also have lots of interesting art studios and galleries.

Sure you browsed through a few of them.

sure did .... took in restoration hall one night too...

New Orleans is a fascinating place with a complex racial makeup. They also had a number of "free coloureds", mostly mulattos many of who also owed slaves. Quite similar to the "Gens de couleur" of Haiti.

One thing that I only learned recently about New Orleans is that quite a lot of the long time residents have roots in Haiti (or Saint-Domingue as it was then) because there was a mass exodus of the former slaveowners and thier slaves to New Orleans after the revolution.

Some of thier popular dishes like red beans evolved from Haitian "stew peas" and rice and thier version vodoo came from Haiti.

So Gamma, you did try a Po Boy sandwich or a beignet at Cafe Du Monde ?

hup had a po boy and beignets (they don't seem to sell individual beignets) at cafe du monde and cafe beignet.

re st domingue this is correct. beleive it or not they had slaves there who were born in jamaica, ended up ui haiti and then NO. Boukman was one such slave.

check this out....http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dutty_Boukman

Interesting. My wife is from New Orleans and she love going to JA so much I have been telling her that maybe she have Caribbean roots via Haiti.

But now I can raise the possibility that she might even have Jamaican roots!

You know one thing that is common to just about EVERY slave revolt? The leaders of the revolt were somewhat educated, and could at least read and write. That alone says a lot about the value of education.

Nuff of them were also religous leaders by default, because they could read the Bible. Sharpe, Boukman, Nat Turner, Denmark Vescey all unoffical slave preachers.

even in animal farm....

Heheheheh

Didnt know your wife was a yank too.