Who needs a job? I am hiring....

• Who needs a job? I am hiring....

Vexed that some 30% of driver candidates flunk its traditional training, United Parcel Service Inc. (UPS) is moving beyond the classroom to ready its rookies for the road.

In the place of books and lectures are videogames, a contraption that simulates walking on ice and an obstacle course around an artificial village.

Based on results so far, the world's largest package-delivery company is convinced that 20-somethings -- the bulk of UPS driver recruits -- respond best to high-tech instruction and a chance to hone skills.

Driver training is crucial for Atlanta-based UPS, which employs 99,000 U.S. drivers and says it will need to hire 25,000 over the next five years to replace retiring Baby Boomers.

Candidates vying for a driver's job, which pays an average of $74,000 annually, now spend one week at Integrad, an 11,500-square-foot, low-slung brick UPS training center 10 miles outside of Washington, D.C.
    Last edited by HL; April 9, 2010, 02:20 PM.

Not bad work at all in these tough times.

Even when times are good...that is good change!

Dat salary seems high!

UPS work dem hard yuh nuh! dem deserve EVERY penny! i worked at a UPS hub one summer ... high presure and very demanding!

Not saving they dont deserve it....Im just sayin....

what I am saying is that they mighteven be underpaid!!! dem wuk dem HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRD!

suits slave drivers like HL.

Bruce Golding Probably click da thread ya a hundred time when him see di thread title.

One day you are going to make the mistake and say something nice about me....

Won't be a mistake. You are one of the kindest people I know.

(There! That wasn't too bad afterall, huh, Mosiah?)

you figet Mosiah work in construction? You think them accuse hm?