• Revoke Us Visas Of Jamaican Politicians & Unscrupulous Busi

"REVOKE U.S VISAS OF JAMAICAN POLITICIANS & UNSCRUPULOUS BUSINESSMEN"

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR
    Jamaica Observer
    Saturday, March 06, 2010

Dear Editor,

The stink of Jamaica's corruption, to which most at home have grown accustomed, has finally begun to wrinkle the noses of our neighbours. While out of one side of our mouth we bemoan the depths to which we have sunk and wonder how we got this far, out of the other side we will call hellfire to rain down on anyone, any agency that dares to point out our shortcomings. Some of us will continue pretending we don't know the reason for Operation Visa Revocation, which seems to be the latest US "tough love" strategy designed to steer us off the path of delinquency and criminality.

Well, since we have been afraid to tag our big fish and call out our "players", the US is tagging them for us, and not even our duly elected leaders can take the pressure. After hearing about "the list", I can only imagine the mounting stress that some folks are going through, whether they have green card, citizenship or non-immigrant visa, since they don't have a clue what the US knows about the shady activities in their past, and if they will be disgraced. I am sure quite a few lawyers have been consulted, just to reassure them that their fortunes will be fine, their status in society will be secure and they won't have to be extradited.

The mystery police superintendent whose visa has been revoked is said to have been under investigation for corruption, yet he is squealing for his lawyer to negotiate with the US regarding his visa. Is that any surprise? By now those in high places should realise that the US visa is not their right, and that their privileged status in that banana republic will not afford them any special privileges in the republic to the north. But why is the identity of the superintendent being protected by the media? Would his life be in danger if he were exposed?

The media should not aid in obstructing the lesson to be learnt from all this: one vital to other members of the force and the civilian population who think of the US as their alternate option when they run afoul of the law at home and need a hideout. It is time they be made to feel ashamed.

The US is doing a great service for our nation. Their actions are levelling the playing field. Those of us who have been solemnly watching daily injustice being meted out to our people welcome these new developments. While some may squirm and squeal about our sovereignty, which we have lost anyway, and our constitution which we conveniently ignore when it suits us, the spotlight will shift to those leaders who have steered us into these perilous waters. It is my fervent hope that the US will revoke the visa of every last politician and unscrupulous businessman in that miserable little island, until they realise it's all they have, and who knows, perhaps they'll begin to treat the citizens and the country with more respect. I say kudos to our neighbour!

Hunter Gray
    grayhunter19@yahoo.com

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
    ...that their privileged status in that banana republic...

...in that miserable little island...
    Geez!

Freudian slip dem mek?