Jamaica never get so much hassle from de Republicans

• Jamaica never get so much hassle from de Republicans

but now that our friendly Democrats are in power, every minute them have something new against us. A what a gwan

Just wait till the next election

Hahahaha..

A former high ranking PNP member of Parliament told me exactly this last year. Him remind me how is Carter that sic CIA pon Manley and how it was Daddy Bush that invited Manley to Wash for talks in the early 1980s.

The Reps may be SOBs, but it seems that their are OUR SOBs. Dems seem to be Frennimies.

Re: Jamaica never get so much hassle

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
      but now that our friendly Democrats are in power, every minute them have something new against us. A what a gwan

Just wait till the next election
      So, MdmeX, what will happen at the next election? Jamaicans will vote the Republicans out ?

Now, as far as “having something new against us,” some Jamaicans have been doing a superb job over the past couple of decades of turning many people “against us”! And I’m not merely talking about the Yardies in Britain or the Shower Posse and the Jamaican Posse in North America.

Finally, I won’t even comment on the massive and ongoing failure of Jamaica’s executives and legislatures over the past decades to put our house in order and at the same time better the living standards of ordinary Jamaica men, women and children.

The Prez understands third world corruption from his travels in Kenya, and America's new stance with Jamaica is a reflection of that. There is, or will be a linkage to USAID funds & good governance soon.

Re: Hahahaha

Hahahaha..

A former high ranking PNP member of Parliament told me exactly this last year. Him remind me how is Carter that sic CIA pon Manley and how it was Daddy Bush that invited Manley to Wash for talks in the early 1980s.

The Reps may be SOBs, but it seems that their are OUR SOBs. Dems seem to be Frennimies.
          Willi, the Manley years and Washington’s response must be seen in light of the post World War II East-West Cold War, which didn’t end until the final years of the Reagan administration. In the late 1970s (regardless of whether the Democrats or the Republicans was in power), no USA government was going to allow “another Cuba” in the region, so Manley’s actions at the time, rightly or wrongly, were seen as being a threat. (Notice, for example, that it was a Republican president, Reagan, who authorized the 1983 Grenada invasion?)

So, I strongly suspect that if the Republicans had been in power during the late 1970s, their administration would also have authorized certain clandestine actions in Jamaica. Note, in fact, that Jamaica’s newly elected prime minister (Edward Seaga) was the first foreign head of government to be invited to Washington by the Republican Ronald Reagan administration, and in fact that Reagan’s first secretary of state, the late Alexander Haig, actually praised Seaga enthusiastically!

By the way, are you sure that “Daddy Bush invited Manley to Wash for talks in the early 1980s,” as you stated above?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
            The Prez understands third world corruption from his travels in Kenya, and America's new stance with Jamaica is a reflection of that. There is, or will be a linkage to USAID funds & good governance soon.
            Didn't the US cut off some funding to Kenya recently over corruption? And that was corruption that didn't even seem to involve an illicit trade in guns and drugs between that country and the US.

Mdmex it is always the case.
              Can you tell me one thing Clinton did for the caribbean while in Power?
              While they smile with us and have us as friend they have nothing to prove.

The Republicans have to beg friend hense big donation to Africa and try to friend up the Caribbean and get them away from Chavez and co. but the Dems know it is no threat.

Mdmex it is always the case.
                Can you tell me one thing Clinton did for the caribbean while in Power?
                While they smile with us and have us as friend they have nothing to prove.

The Republicans have to beg friend hense big donation to Africa and try to friend up the Caribbean and get them away from Chavez and co. but the Dems know it is no threat.
                Well mek them nuh do something positive for the Caribbean, and then come ask me for my vote come whenever election draws nigh!

Quote from Historian

By the way, are you sure that “Daddy Bush invited Manley to Wash for talks in the early 1980s,” as you stated above?

-----------------------------------------------------------------

George Bush, Snr. had discussions w/ Michael Manley @ The White House May 1990.

That's What I Thought

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                    Quote from Historian

-----------------------------------------------------------------

George Bush, Snr. had discussions w/ Michael Manley @ The White House May 1990.
                    Thanks for the clarification, MdmeX .

I had queried Willi’s post primarily because of the reference to George Bush, Snr. within the context of the 1980s. Theoretically, because the Republican president Ronald Reagan was in the White House throughout the entire 1980s (he would have been inaugurated in January 1980) and Michael Manley was the prime minister of Jamaica until he lost the elections to Edward Seaga and the JLP in (if my memory is correct here) October 1980, it’s not impossible that Manley could have been invited by Reagan. In reality, however, the marked ideological differences and the highly strained relationship between Jamaica and the USA in early 1980 would have ensured that no possibility of any invitation to socialist Manley would have been likely.

So, what primarily raised questions in my mind was Willi’s reference to Bush, as this would have been irrelevant in the early 1980s .

THE VICE PRESIDent Bush invited Manley to private talks in the early 1980s. I am certain, given the high credibility of the person who told me.

I am sure.

I am talking about when Manley was Leader of the Opposition. Your date was round 2.

Amen!

Amen!
                              Amen to what Just say it L-O-U-D