• And While We're Busy Signing Chinese Deals

EDITORIAL - Golding's flaccid leadership on crime

Published: Tuesday | April 6, 2010

As much as Jamaicans may have come to doubt it, Prime Minister Bruce Golding has convinced us that he is capable of passion - especially when it comes to defending the presumed rights of his parliamentary constituents.
    Just ask Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, the assumed 'don' of West Kingston, who the United States would like to be extradited on narcotics and gun-smuggling charges, and against which Mr Golding's government has mounted tough resistance with esoteric legal manoeuvrings. Mr Golding argues that fighting hard for Mr Coke is really protecting the constitutional rights of all Jamaican citizens.

This is the kind of passion that this newspaper wishes Prime Minister Golding to bring to the fight against crime in our country, which poses, perhaps, the greatest threat to the rights and freedoms of the Jamaican people.

417 people murdered
    By this newspaper's ongoing count, up to last Saturday, 417 people were murdered in Jamaica since the start of the year, a jump of 20 per cent over the corresponding period in 2009. On this trajectory, Jamaica could reach, or even surpass, 2,000 homicides this year. The killing fields are national. No community is immune or safe.

In most countries, not callused by crime or having grown callous of the idea of wanton murder, our situation would be cause for national outrage and, more important, would have engendered a sense of crisis from thoughtful leaders. Our government, if its attitude is to be judged, discerns no crisis.

If it did, Mr Golding, as the Coke affair has demonstrated he is capable of doing, would be at the forefront, as mobiliser-in-chief, egging us on in a moral crusade against crime, even as he pushes his national security minister, Mr Dwight Nelson, to develop effective strategies and policies to support the operational efforts of the police against crime. Mr Golding's and the Government's efforts, in this regard, are, at best, flaccid.

Disappointing and disheartening
    It is all very disappointing and disheartening. For Mr Golding, more than any recent Jamaican leader, came to office with the expectation that he possessed a moral certitude that would translate to clarity in leadership and new, higher and effective standards in governance. With regard to crime, his administration came to office with a fully articulated plan for dealing with the problem, including strategies for dismantling political garrisons.

None of Mr Golding's three security ministers, including Colonel Trevor MacMillan, under whose leadership that plan was developed, appeared, while in office, to be aware of its contents. So, the country limps along in this trail of blood, mainly of poor Jamaicans.

There are many people responsible for this failure - the population, the police, Minister Nelson, and so on. But the greater responsibility rests with the prime minister who has failed to be at the forefront in an effective and passionate campaign against this monster.

The opinions on this page, except for the above, do not necessarily reflect the views of The Gleaner. To respond to a Gleaner editorial, email us: editor@gleanerjm.com or fax: 922-6223. Responses should be no longer than 400 words. Not all responses will be published.
    Last edited by Historian; April 6, 2010, 01:12 PM. Reason: Slight adjustment to my title

someone needs to send to the gleaner offices a copy of the hardtalk interview.

Suh Historian, we cannot walk and sing at the same time? Yes the crime issue needs to be tackled, but why the sarcasm about Chinese deals?

My Reason Is Simple

Suh Historian, we cannot walk and sing at the same time? Yes the crime issue needs to be tackled, but why the sarcasm about Chinese deals?
        Lazie, the sarcasm is there because I’m disappointed with several things in Jamaica today, and the out-of-control crime problem comes foremost on my list! We cannot guarantee the safety of our children, women and men, not even in their homes, but we are rushing into probably unnecessary deals with the Chinese government? Jamaicans are suffering, and there is little they can do about their anguish, yet I’m supposed to cheer that the Chinese are setting up broadcast facilities in Jamaica at this time?

With the quality decision makers that Jamaicans constantly end up with, no wonder that we stopped being the envy of the region decades ago!

It’s not a matter that “we cannot walk and sing at the same time.” Certainly that’s not the issue here. Rather, the issue is that right now we’re not even walking properly (the situation with violence is incredible by international peacetime standards), yet we want to sing with the loudest cheerleaders, the Chinese! My point, therefore, is this: Since we’re obviously failing simultaneously at several things, we need to work on finding a solution to our most pressing domestic problem (which I identified above as crime), then turn to Far East foreign policy arrangements!

Now, why my sarcastic reference to the shrouded-in-mystery Air Jamaica deal with Caribbean Airlines? The Air Jamaica matter, just like several things before, was handled in apparently such an unbelievably incompetent way (and seemingly still is as I type these words) that I shudder to think of what these geniuses will do in a deal with the powerful, grasping, agenda-pushing Chinese.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
          Lazie, the sarcasm is there because I’m disappointed with several things in Jamaica today, and the out-of-control crime problem comes foremost on my list! We cannot guarantee the safety of our children, women and men, not even in their homes, but we are rushing into probably unnecessary deals with the Chinese government? Jamaicans are suffering, and there is little they can do about their anguish, yet I’m supposed to cheer that the Chinese are setting up broadcast facilities in Jamaica at this time?

With the quality decision makers that Jamaicans constantly end up with, no wonder that we stopped being the envy of the region decades ago!

It’s not a matter that “we cannot walk and sing at the same time.” Certainly that’s not the issue here. Rather, the issue is that right now we’re not even walking properly (the situation with violence is incredible by international peacetime standards), yet we want to sing with the loudest cheerleaders, the Chinese! My point, therefore, is this: Since we’re obviously failing simultaneously at several things, we need to work on finding a solution to our most pressing domestic problem (which I identified above as crime), then turn to Far East foreign policy arrangements!

Now, why my sarcastic reference to the shrouded-in-mystery Air Jamaica deal with Caribbean Airlines? The Air Jamaica matter, just like several things before, was handled in apparently such an unbelievably incompetent way (and seemingly still is as I type these words) that I shudder to think of what these geniuses will do in a deal with the powerful, grasping, agenda-pushing Chinese.
          The handling of the crime issue is a cause for concern, but I don't see why we're going to talk down the deal with the Chinese as unnecessary. Other gov'ts can multitask, why we going to exclaim when our gov't does it? The last time I checked there was a Security Ministry (maybe it should be Insecurity) and the minister in charge of that ministry had nothing to do with the Chinese deal.

As for the incompetent Air J sale, is that based on facts or emotions?

In Addition....

On March 27, 2010, Mosiah asked me a question in another thread. His question was, “Can Jamaicans describe others as insular”? I didn’t answer then, but I will answer now: If others are indeed insular, then Jamaicans and, in particular, Jamaican leaders need to take a leaf out of the “insularity book” of others.

In the 1970s it was Michael Manley and his adventurers with Socialists International and other so-called non-aligned groups while the Jamaican populace suffered. In the 1990s and into the 21st century it was PJ Patterson and his focused regional “leadership” (Barbados’ prime minister Owen Arthur, of course, was the more hardworking of the two as far as regional integration is concerned, but he could afford to as Barbados under his leadership had one of the highest GDP per capita in this part of the world).

What’s my point here? My point is that maybe we need to start focusing, in an insular way if necessary, on our own Jamaicans. Even the Americans had adopted an isolationist policy prior to World War II, and while I’m not saying Jamaica should do this (we cannot, of course, unless we want to shrivel and die in this globalized world), we need to curtail some things, including foreign policy decisions, if we don’t see any immediate and obvious benefit to Jamaicans living in Jamaica.

are we multitasking?! when it comes to our security ministry, there is no tasking!!

Originally posted by Historian View Post

Walking and Singing?

I thought a more apt analogy would have been fiddling while Rome is burning.

Hmm methinks you need to apply some context to your analysis...

I would think a comparative analysis would be useful..

Where we are coming from
                  What was the Global environment
                  What is the comparative performance within the region.
                  What are the Nightmare conditions prevalent..

I think when weighed in the balance.. Drivah has performed quite brilliantly..

20 years of Bruce and we will be lending money..

Ok back to your cell.

Unneccesary????

The cupboard are bare and have been for a while. The last GOJ should have made the deal from back in 2005 when the 2nd highest ranking Chinese official visited Jam for TWO DAYS.

I personally asked a high ranking PNP Minister in about 2006 what we were waiting on and the namby pamby answer I got forced me to conclude we are not serious.

Crime has been out of control for years, so that is not new either. What now seems apparent is that Jamaica is up shytes creek, as NEITHER party seems to have a clue what to do about it. The real danger now is that the Jam populace will become even MORE cynical and lose all hope for the future.

so china is the answer to Ja's problems? think hard about why they didn't sign. You seem to enjoy a life of instability. This movie will not have a happy ending. We have become very lazy and seem to think the solution to all ills is begging.

Just watch the movie to the end.

Suh wait.. yuh nuh si Bruce fly guh China wheh day ?

Yuh tink is fi learn how to mek Chop Suey ?

Bobby P eff himself (and a few others wid him) when he had the chance.. all now him nuh reach China..

Mek di Belgians, Spanish and di Chinese fight it out.. meanwhile Babylon a look fi Dudus..

lol !

No need to think hard...

Mi hear seh summaddy di want a certain percentage... dem gamble and dem lose di election.. oh well..

lol !

Poor Jawge...

One of the answers...just one.

You rather sit pan the port a gather dust?
                              Stop being afraid of bogeymen. Life is what you make it. Jamaica needs to navigate several perillous waters...or we can just curl up in a corner and die, afraid and alone.