It Still Makes No Sense!!

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
    It is likely to be a non-commercial station that would broadcast feel good stories from China. You can find a few of those China Central Television (CCTV) stations on satellite TV. They mostly air cultural programs, and stories of China's assistance in the third world etc.
    Hortical, I completely understand what both you and Don1 are saying. Satellite broadcasts is one thing. However, what I still do not understand is why do the Chinese find it necessary to actually set up physical broadcast facilities in Jamaica? The news story’s lead sentence says in part, “…to allow Chinese entities to start operating a radio and television station locally.”

In typical politician jargon, we learn that the venture is to “promote Jamaica-China relations and to deepen the appreciation and understanding of Chinese culture.” As Assasin implied above (and I completely agree with him), the average Jamaican is not going to be tuning in to Chinese cultural or information broadcasts. Trust me on this!

If an even larger minority group in Jamaica, the East Indians, have failed to have any significant cultural impact on the society (save for foodstuff like curried mutton, etc.) despite living in our midst since the 1840s, what use will be Chinese propaganda broadcasts have in cable TV-friendly, reggae/dancehall/soca mad Jamaica?

I guess we cannot expect nothing but another successful, mutually beneficial deal from a government that so adequately and in an impressive, highly responsible fashion managed the disbursement of Air Jamaica.

I guess it all depends what that $500 Million is buying.. does it not ?
      Not really.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...business1.html

According to government's own estimates it is owed at a minimum J$50 billion in taxes (minimum figure without the penalties). At most it is owed J$138 billion (high end figure with penalties included).

US$500 million = J$45,000 million or J$45 billion (short billion as is common practice today).

What can J$45 billion in loans buy that J$50 billion (at the bare minimum at that) can't?

As for loan fears.. it also depends on what that the cost of the money is...

Yuh have PNP type borrowing and yuh have sensible borrowing..

lol !
      Well this kind of borrowing is little different from PNP type borrowing then. Why borrow so much when you already know that billions are actually owed to you? Sure they are cracking down on some tax cheats now, but that isn't reducing the debt burden because had they cracked down before they would have gotten money they were owed without entering into a new borrowing arrangement. Right now all that will happen is that they will simply be getting the tax money to pay off old loans while the new loans will be on the books.

To get out of debt you don't dig yourself deeper into the debt pit.

you can see the average Jamaican tuning in?

If the Chinese building it, then it must be for their audience. They must be looking ahead.
        I don't think you understand the functions of such outlets.... they exist mainly to influence foreigners....period.... the notion that China is doing this to service future tourists is laughable.
        Last edited by Don1; April 6, 2010, 01:15 PM.

Unless them a go have Mutty, and Ragga and play Beenie/bounti/Kartel/mavado/luciano and Bob I don't see them any any huge marketshare. I think it is more to provide some control over future chinese visitors to our shore as many may not even be able to understand and speak English. Before I go diging I would want to hear more.

I know Halfmoon use to teach German to workers because they had a lot of German guest. IF we are going to get say half a million to 750000 Chinese a year then right there you have enough reason to communicate with them in a language they understand.

Unless them a go have Mutty, and Ragga and play Beenie/bounti/Kartel/mavado/luciano and Bob I don't see them any any huge marketshare. I think it is more to provide some control over future chinese visitors to our shore as many may not even be able to understand and speak English. Before I go diging I would want to hear more.

I know Halfmoon use to teach German to workers because they had a lot of German guest. IF we are going to get say half a million to 750000 Chinese a year then right there you have enough reason to communicate with them in a language they understand.
            You have a very fertile mind.... misguided, but fertile..

"If an even larger minority group in Jamaica, the East Indians, have failed to have any significant cultural impact on the society (save for foodstuff like curried mutton, etc.) despite living in our midst since the 1840s, what use will be Chinese propaganda broadcasts have in cable TV-friendly, reggae/dancehall/soca mad Jamaica?"

Unless it's a back door way to get in the region given our strategic location and our "friendly" government.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

We have had Indian TV here for years now..my cable provider carries no fewer than three..reason to be scared?

see it deh. How many Jamaicans it influenced?

Is for the tons of Chinese workers coming to work at the container port and other related investments.

Tell them please. Everything comes with a price. The Africans can attest to this.

mek them stay deh. Inna another year or two we going to have direct flights.

Maybe the Chinese have more insidious reasons for wanting TV than the Indians...

My concern is the introduction of Trini shows to Jamaica. Bad enuf we have some commercials from T&T, but now we have some type of Trini soap!

it will not all be loan. It will be grant and investment.

They want the wharf, Bauxite, and others. Remember most private entity in China is not really private.

I agree Mosiah..not in to the Trinidad soaps..dats why me ongle use Dove..