Bounty, Mavado, Beenie, Adonia and Rick visa gone!Duh!!!!

Ok, i am with you now.

And I agree that it is not possible to separate the culture of dancehall from the music. They are closely linked, as it is with hip-hop culture.

The only thing that has suprised me about dancehall is that with all the gun glorification and rivalries in such a violent society, we have not had a Biggie-Tupac style tragedy yet.

we haven't?

We have?

Very Good Observation, Iman

Ok, i am with you now.

And I agree that it is not possible to separate the culture of dancehall from the music. They are closely linked, as it is with hip-hop culture.

The only thing that has suprised me about dancehall is that with all the gun glorification and rivalries in such a violent society, we have not had a Biggie-Tupac style tragedy yet.
          Yes, you are correct about the impossibility of separating the dancehall culture (fashion, lifestyle, slang, etc.) from the music itself, as both are intrinsically linked (like hip-hop, as you also correctly pointed out).

By the way, Islandman, good observation on the fact that we have not had a Biggie-Tupac style tragedy as yet! I never thought about this before reading your post, but you are correct, and in fact we’ve got to give thanks for this !

bogle.... e.g.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
              Should I go to the archives and resurrect posts I made last summer suggesting that the doors will be closing soon on certain dancehall entertainers? (Those were my exact words.)

You know what, let’s treat this as a rhetorical question. Later when I have some free time I will search for such a post of mine and repost it. Some people were so busy attacking my concerns that they missed the big picture. Note, however, that other countries are expected to follow America’s lead in this matter.
              Unsurprising.

Europe probably going to follow suit.

I wonder how this will impact their finances?

EDIT: Elephantman escape the hit-list or was his visa cancelled already?

Well yes I guess that qualifies.

Not top draw artistes like Biggie and Tupac but visible enough in the culture.

Well yes I guess that qualifies.

Not top draw artistes like Biggie and Tupac but visible enough in the culture.
                  I guess the top draw artistes realize that should any feud get out of hand then it would spell trouble for them all. It's one thing if bogle dead. Bounty Killer now is a different story and would mean a lot of tit-for-tat killings and if you're dead, you can't earn money (or at least you can't spend the money that you might earn since one can earn money posthumously). The same thing doesn't apply to everyone else though since if two blind followers fight and one kills the other then it's no biggie (no pun intended) as they were nobodies.

Where I think you are wrong is they are not clamping down because of the lyrics but instead because of association and downright bad behavior by some of these artists.

Many of these Artists have people close to them who are bad criminal. One Roots singer was banned for a time as they found a wanted man trying to leave Jamaica with him passport.

The Fed is clamping down on many of the druggists who sponsors show and I assume if a few names come up pretty often on their list they will want to talk to them or find out why. It doesn't always mean they are guilty by association but the feds don't have to let them in.

With the Buju arrest more focus may on these artist that ever before so they better watch how they live or you may have lot more going down.

nah go inna tivarli again. nor jungle.

Sung to Busy's"Naw Go A Jail Again" Oh no.

wheeeeeel!

No mek dem ketch you pon none a the Passa Passa video them. LOL

gone bad arready!

bogle was visible enough i think...not a big earner but very visible.