Bruce caves in - Dudus case will go to court

I'm curious, will this resolve the issue? The PM did say he will abide by whatever ruling the court decides. However, for arguments sake, what if the courts rules that the AG is correct? Aren't the critics going to claim some deal was made? Would the US gov't abide by such a ruling? Lionpaw, who will be the private attorneys?

buckle up; because I don't see the US standing down to Bruce and prezi.What irks me is: how can you allow yourself to be boxed in defending someone that will face criminal charges. You then cede power and put the whole island at risk.

Our political system is weak; once voted in the people of Ja has no control over the leaders. They literally do as they please. Where is Ja's national security intrests?
      That actually applies to pretty much all forms of government except maybe California (with the Recall ability) and the old Greek city states (and the theoretical ideal states of Greek philosophers). In the old Greek city states, everything could be put to ballot, but then they're world was not nearly as complex as ours, nor was their population even remotely like ours (it was smaller for one and usually all contained within a city so communication was never a problem); imagine putting everything to ballot today in Jamaica...nothing would get done (even in California a lot of issues are backlogged and the state is in dire financial straits). Between people not bothering to inform themselves of the issue and those who can't be bothered to vote a substantial portion of the vote would be technically wasted. Then there would be election fatigue as everyone would get tired of having to stop their own work or various fun activities (sex, etc) in order to go vote on the latest financial bill or some new police legislation. That's why representative democracy evolved - so that persons whom you think best represent your general views (not your exact views as nobody can do that except you) will vote on various issues of state and that being persons too they can do so according to their own conscience. If the electorate had total control over politicians then politicians couldn't possibly be humans capable of independent thought.

This is how politics works. Put enough pressure and our leaders have no choice.

I said it all along, it was a matter of when and saving face for Bruce but the public pressure applied had to result in something been done.

Bruce had no choice.

I'm curious, will this resolve the issue? The PM did say he will abide by whatever ruling the court decides. However, for arguments sake, what if the courts rules that the AG is correct? Aren't the critics going to claim some deal was made? Would the US gov't abide by such a ruling? Lionpaw, who will be the private attorneys?

Some would say a deal was made, but because it is now going to the courts none will (or should) say that the government is currently acting in a conflicted manner (it certainly was acting in a very conflicted manner throughout the whole saga though). It's about doing what is right, moral and legal. Usurping the spirit and letter of the constitution by basically muzzling the AG and making legal arguments on behalf of the judiciary is unconscionable and brings into question the whole point of having a court system if the executive is going to be judge and jury itself (at the very least, don't waste taxpayers money by paying for judges and juries if they aren't going to be necessary, just dump the judicial system and cut the relevant portion of taxes).

Meanwhile, Rev Al Miller says that extradition matters must remain in the hands of the Prime Minister because he is ultimately responsible for the citizens of his country. This was just after he says his position on the entire Dudus case is based on one thing, and one thing only - justice!

Frigging idiot! Then what are the courts for?

Meanwhile, Rev Al Miller says that extradition matters must remain in the hands of the Prime Minister because he is ultimately responsible for the citizens of his country. This was just after he says his position on the entire Dudus case is based on one thing, and one thing only - justice!

Frigging idiot! Then what are the courts for?
              To look pretty and distinguished.

I wonder if this is at least partly related to the Air Jamaica request?

More to come. The chess grandmaster was checkmated long ago only his supporters never told him so he continued playing the game. Dem no bus half of what dem have yet. so mek Bruce gwan play. Some man soon bawl fi get extradited as that is the only way dem going reach US. Failing dat dem better brush up on their mandarin.

It is not about doing what is right. All this time it is about doing WHAT IS RIGHT FOR BRUCE GOLDING.

One thing with Bruce, him know when him lose a battle and when to give in. Check his record from Gang of five, to the tax package last year. As Mo say this was all about Dudus, Tivoli and Bruce. I said early it is not a matter of if he is going to give in, it is WHEN.

i can imagine bruce inna di kitchen now!

"when i'm stressed i put on a pot!"

ah wonder if him mean him smoke it?!?

the funny thing is how politics work, he might have gotten something out of it by standing up to the US and force himself to talk to them, but I wouldn't be surprise if the flood gate open now because the precedence is he has to turn them all over to the courts.

If Clovis was really creative he would do a cartoon with Bruce saying"when I'm stressed I put on a pot" with Bruce with a chalice in his hands and an American Sattalite looking on from above. Now that would be creativity. If him do it I going sue hi R A Sta fleas. Already copyrighted.

What if the court throws the ball back into Bruce's lap?

All the court needs to do is to rule that the AG would be correct to accept or deny the request because

i) The Jamaican Goverment obtained the evidence legally therefore is is up to the Jamaican goverment to decide whether or not to use it.

ii) In Jamaica evidence obtained illegally may be admissisble in court therefore it up to the Jamaican Government to decide whether or not to use the evidence.

then Bruce have no choice but to sign it.

Bruce game is up, question is what he got in return?

Which ever way the court rules, Bruce must act! Or step!