Bruce caves in - Dudus case will go to court

• Bruce caves in - Dudus case will go to court

So, what is different now? Did he get a new and legal request from the USA? Or has he got some assurance from our justices that all will be okay?

Why did he waste the country's goddam time with the nonsensical grandstanding about protecting the rights of citizens?!?!?

Time to step, Bruce!

So, what is different now? Did he get a new and legal request from the USA? Or has he got some assurance from our justices that all will be okay?

Why did he waste the country's goddam time with the nonsensical grandstanding about protecting the rights of citizens?!?!?

Time to step, Bruce!
    Wow! Thats what they're going to the courts for?

I really hope this can be cleaned up;because if the US govt.declares the present one in Ja s rogue, it won't be pretty. Private enities that gave to their campaign may be investigated and restricted from doing business in the US.

This is a no win situation for Bruce. I wonder who's really advising him.

Maudib is his advisor Jawge.

okay then. we are in good hands!

Well that explains everything.

I am now understanding that this could actually be an April Fools joke. Oh well!

buckle up; because I don't see the US standing down to Bruce and prezi.What irks me is: how can you allow yourself to be boxed in defending someone that will face criminal charges. You then cede power and put the whole island at risk.

Our political system is weak; once voted in the people of Ja has no control over the leaders. They literally do as they please. Where is Ja's national security intrests?

I am now understanding that this could actually be an April Fools joke. Oh well!
                  April Fools joke or yuh found out you were misinformed?

yuh did watch did HARDtalk interview, Jawge?

that was a TVJ announcement.

silly me! i should have checked with NNN first!

No. I notice the talk of Chess grand master and tai chi master has died down. Reality is slowly creeping in.

that was a TVJ announcement.

silly me! i should have checked with NNN first!
                          The sarcasm isn't necessary. One of us heard something incorrect. Lets wait to see it in writing then to determine whose hearing was correct.

dun gone bad arready.

all mi a tell yuh, mind unnu mek dem cancel mi likkle visa! worries between me and you and maudib! memba!

Here it is

Dudus matter heads to court

2010-04-01 09:00:52 | with audio | (0 Comments)
                              The Prime Minister Bruce Golding has bowed to public pressure for the Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke extradition issue to go to court.

Mr Golding has instructed the attorney general Dorothy Lightbourne to seek a declaration from the court as to whether she was right to deny the extradition request.

The Government had denied the request claiming that the United States had illegally obtained wiretap evidence that was being used to prosecute Mr Coke.

Speaking on his monthly radio call-in programme Jamaica House Live, Mr Golding said he decided to send the matter to court in the interest of the public.

He says private lawyers are to be retained to take the matter to court.

Mr Golding says he’s ordered the justice minister and attorney general Dorothy Lightbourne to have the court rule on two issues concerning her decision.

This is an about turn from the position that Mr Golding had advanced 29 days ago in Parliament.

At that time, Mr Golding was insistent that the attorney general was right in denying the request by the United States for Mr Coke to be extradited.

He had made is clear that the Government would be sticking by its position.

Mr Golding had claimed that the Government would not be swayed by concerns that Jamaica’s relationship with the United States could deteriorate because of its handling of the Dudus extradition issue.

Since then the Opposition with former national security minister Peter Phillips leading the charge, prominent attorney Lord Anthony Gifford, and the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ) have insisted that the matter should go to court.

Last night, Mr Golding also used his radio programme to respond to his critics saying their positions were influenced by the fact that Mr Coke is a member of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), as well as his West Kingston constituency.

The critics believe the judiciary should determine whether the evidence against Mr Coke was illegally obtained and not the justice minister.

Dudus is wanted by the US on drugs and firearm charges.

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=18164