Jamaicans facing more visa restrictions

I say they may not be considered the land of ganja but they have their baggage their too.

Ah seh Brazilians tief weh...Not that they steal!

They are Massive flight risks...a whey yuh deh. France is famous for having lots of Brazilian trannies. Indeed the coloquial term for Tranny in France is "Brasilien".

Cant go into the Schengen moves we could have made in public. If you want to discuss, it would have to be by PM. Not everything good to talk good to eat.

So all Scandis are Schengen now? I have not followed that history. I know they stayed out of the monetary union...

He was the gang leader and virtually took over the country, KILLING Govt officials with impunity. It clearly was not just him in his organizatio.

The bulbys, Andems etc were just gunmen, not organized intl posses exporting coke...Like Spanglers and Showa.

Drug mules to England was a joke. It takes at least 15 hours to get ther and stewardesses simply reported the seat number of the passengers who didnt eat to customs in London. They were invariably caught. This is a samfie reason for imposing visa...outright lie in fact. There is more to it but the truth was never told. I even back up a UK ambassador once and he squirmed his way out of the argument, depite agreeing with all i said.

Look man, mi nuh care...our people fought and died in WWs to save England from Nazis and Italians and now we need intransit visa just fi pass thru Heathrow and dem can just waltz in. Nuff English people on the street dont like it neither.

You have to get the Mex tourist stamp before going there, so its like a free visa.

Argentina point was just to show that they value our ppt more than the UN ppt (or dem nuh truss di dyam UN...LOL).

Look man, mi nuh care...our people fought and died in WWs to save England from Nazis and Italians and now we need intransit visa just fi pass thru Heathrow and dem can just waltz in. Nuff English people on the street dont like it neither.

So easy them forget. I know a lot of the soldiers who gave their time.

Ah seh Brazilians tief weh...Not that they steal!

They are Massive flight risks...a whey yuh deh. France is famous for having lots of Brazilian trannies. Indeed the coloquial term for Tranny in France is "Brasilien".
            Right, but again it is perception.

A Brazilian tranny is one thing in France. A Jamaican gangsta is another.

Look on the perception Brazil presents: sex, football, carnival and occasionally business.

Look at the perception Jamaica presents, or rather allows to go unchallenged: drugs, murder and beaches.

Cant go into the Schengen moves we could have made in public. If you want to discuss, it would have to be by PM. Not everything good to talk good to eat.
            Alright, PM me den.

So all Scandis are Schengen now? I have not followed that history. I know they stayed out of the monetary union...
            Yep, since long time.

Denmark, Norway, Iceland, Finland and Sweden all signed up for it in 1996. Only Finland out of that five joined the euro currency.

I say they may not be considered the land of ganja but they have their baggage their too.
              Sure they have their baggage. All countries do. It is the perception that counts. Southeast Asia is a notorious drug smuggling area. However Malaysia and Singapore (two countries whose citizens which perhaps not coincidentally do not require Schengen visas) have ultra-harsh laws on drug trafficking and they execute those laws (and those caught with drugs).

you are a bit hard on Jamaicans there.
                Brazil have as much crime in some areas. Brazil has no negitives behind their names?

last time I check Jamaica was know for its sports, music and beauty.

I think while we can do a lot better we are no worst or seen no worst than many others.

ReggaeMike - one correction to your statement

Visas granted upon arrival - Cuba, Haiti, Dominican Republic, Panama (Costa Rica used to be in this category)

==============================================

Don't know if it has changed, but in 1980, when I visited Haiti, I had to procure the Visa in Jamaica.

He was the gang leader and virtually took over the country, KILLING Govt officials with impunity. It clearly was not just him in his organizatio.

The bulbys, Andems etc were just gunmen, not organized intl posses exporting coke...Like Spanglers and Showa.
                    But where is that all power Kittian organization now? Clearly they aren't killing with government officials with impunity now, so what can be pointed to currently that would make St. Kitts comparable to Jamaica with regards to organized crime?

Drug mules to England was a joke. It takes at least 15 hours to get ther and stewardesses simply reported the seat number of the passengers who didnt eat to customs in London. They were invariably caught. This is a samfie reason for imposing visa...outright lie in fact. There is more to it but the truth was never told. I even back up a UK ambassador once and he squirmed his way out of the argument, depite agreeing with all i said.
                    Care to PM me some more about that? In addition to the Schengen story?

I agree that drug mules was not the full story, but I would be surprised if it didn't even play a minor role in the decision. Customs is a world onto itself anywhere you go and it is quite possible that customs has enough clout to recommend that various passengers from a certain place be "screened" before hand (i.e. profiled) so they would have less drug donkeys to send back.

Also had any of these drug mules attempted to smuggle drugs more than once to the UK? Because if customs in London kept seeing a number of names and passport numbers repeating after the stewardesses reported the non-eating seat numbers, I can bet they would have gotten pretty tired and fed up with sending the same fools back.

Look man, mi nuh care...our people fought and died in WWs to save England from Nazis and Italians and now we need intransit visa just fi pass thru Heathrow
                    Lots of people fought and died in the Wars to save Britain. India alone sent and lost far more than the whole West Indies, yet Pakistanis, Indians and Bangladeshis today need visas and transit visas. I may be mistaken, but I believe visas were imposed on Indians in about the 1970s (or it could have been the 1960s) due to many Indians abusing the visa-free status by coming to the UK and then just staying.

It doesn't matter what our fathers and grandfathers did 60 or 90 years ago if today some of our people dishonour them by going to these same places their ancestors fought and died for and act like butus. Most of the customs officers and current leading (or recent) politicians in the UK weren't even born when WWII was ending (the last British PM to even remember WWII was Thatcher in the 1980s), so why would we expect them to feel any sentimental attachment to those valiant West Indians in the RAF whom they never saw fighting in the skies above England and whose descendants (whom they would encounter far more frequently) include such upstanding fellows as those who swallow packs of illegal drugs in condoms with the intent to either vomit them out or sh*t them out when they reach the nearest unwatched toilet?

and dem can just waltz in.
                    Well I suppose if the economy had been handled better from 1962 then we wouldn't be needing every single pound they bring in as tourists.

Nuff English people on the street dont like it neither.
                    May be so, but visas are rarely imposed as a result of street polls.

You have to get the Mex tourist stamp before going there, so its like a free visa.

Argentina point was just to show that they value our ppt more than the UN ppt (or dem nuh truss di dyam UN...LOL).
                    I don't think it is that they value our people more. They just don't have a lot of experience with the bad behaving Jamaicans because mainly good behaving Jamaicans go there. Argentina speaks Spanish which basically is a turn off for the vast majority of Jamaicans, plus Argentina isn't nearly as wealthy as the UK, Canada or US (so the average person may not be as able to afford the kind of prices for drugs that dealers would get in the UK, US, etc). In addition Argentina does not have any Jamaican community of note which can act as a base for bad behaving Jamaicans or drug dealers. When someone goes to say Miami and is surrounded by friends and family all from Jamaica, if that someone is used to acting a certain way at home which involves flouting some law, they may be more likely to do it in an environment like Miami than Buenos Aires, despite both cities being mainly Spanish-speaking. For drug dealers it is far easier to set up distribution networks in places like Canada, the UK and US because they have people in those places that they already know and trust, unlike Argentina (which may as well be on Mars as far as some would be concerned).

So which Jamaicans go to Argentina? Mainly legitimate businessmen, affluent tourists, rabid football fans, the occasional student and maybe those intent on working on their Spanish. For the most part these folks are unlikely to get themselves into trouble because they either aren't trouble makers at home or because being in a completely foreign environment they are far more circumspect.

Honestly, how many drug mules was Argentina turning away? How many passengers who were ultimately from Jamaica did stewardesses have to point out by seat number to customs?

Look on Costa Rica. They have apparently gone from giving Jamaicans a guaranteed visa on arrival (as Mexico now does) to requiring visas beforehand. Why? Is it the same reason as the UK? If the UK's reason was conspiratorial, then what of Costa Rica's? Costa Rica which basically doesn't give a rat's ass about the rest of world and would just be quite content protecting its birds and rainforest and doing without an army. I distinctly recall that the reason given for Costa Rica's decision was the extent of activities of Jamaican criminal gangs in the country, gangs who apparently used the Jamaican communities there from the 1920s as a sort of base from which to spread their activities. Unlike Argentina, Costa Rica definitely has a Jamaican community and one that was established long ago and still retains patois and Jamaican customs to some extent (sometimes losing the patois but retaining a slight accent). So Costa Rica has had experience with bad Jamaicans and decides they won't put up with that crap and impose visas.