dag! lighten up, don1!

How ironic that Champs' greatest was an academic of no mean order!

Good article still! Makes me proud of my alma mater that will not do anything to win the next big trophy.

Some encouragement:

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/supplemen...ss-Binder1.pdf

Yeah I saw that a couple weeks ago...great!

Very refreshing.

The great schools invest in academics, sports and also leadership

http://wolmersnyalumni.org/images/Un_2010/p10.jpg

Here we see the future leaders from Wolmer's, the Queens School, Munroe, Jamaica Collgee and students at the United Nations.

dag! lighten up, don1!
              ah true...

Did Wolmers have a spelling bee champion at any point in its 3,000 year history?

MUNRO!!!

Originally posted by Time View Post
                  The great schools invest in academics, sports and also leadership

http://wolmersnyalumni.org/images/Un_2010/p10.jpg

Here we see the future leaders from Wolmer's, the Queens School, Munroe, Jamaica College and students at the United Nations.
                  yep..we had a few in town.....

Did Wolmers have a spelling bee champion at any point in its 3,000 year history?

MUNRO!!!

MUNRO!!!
                      I see these Munroe vans in NYC every week and they send me flyers. I see your Munro boys once at the most twice per years.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monroe_College

We all love sports and know that it is an important nation-building activity.... and vital to Jamaicans, me included. However in today's Knowledge Age ... the Info Age having passed..Jamaican's emphasis on sporting excellence over and above academic excellence is ridiculous given our current state of backwardness.
                        Isn't that idea...held belief by you and some others that Jamaicans put more emphasis on sporting excellence than academic excellence has never been proven?

My personal experience is, I have not met even 1 Jamaican who has expressed the view that more emphasis should be place on trying to achieve sporting excellence than on working towards achieving academic excellence.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                          I see these Munroe vans in NYC every week and they send me flyers. I see your Munro boys once at the most twice per years.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monroe_College
                          Monroe College...not Munroe or Munro...LoL!

Isn't that idea...held belief by you and some others that Jamaicans put more emphasis on sporting excellence than academic excellence has never been proven?

My personal experience is, I have not met even 1 Jamaican who has expressed the view that more emphasis should be place on trying to achieve sporting excellence than on working towards achieving academic excellence.
                            expressed belief or not..... actions speak louder than words

Yuh saying in this the Governments actions...perhaps in many cases based on taking care of the genetically connected and linked to best way to reap tainted dollars...follow the thoughts of the population?

If yuh seh suh, sah!
                              ...but I refuse to accept that line.

Yuh saying in this the Governments actions...perhaps in many cases based on taking care of the genetically connected and linked to best way to reap tainted dollars...follow the thoughts of the population?

If yuh seh suh, sah!
                                ...but I refuse to accept that line.
                                not just the government..we are all responsible.

Some I guess more than others