Golding: Garrisonization, Gunmanship & Hypocrisy

• Golding: Garrisonization, Gunmanship & Hypocrisy

......those who condone, excuse or merely ignore Golding's embrace and reinforcement of Jamaica's culture of Garrisonization & Gunmanship (from Parliament!!) are themselves complicit in the continued descent of Jamaica to failed state status...dominated by warlords, drug dealers and anti social elements.

The pathetic thing is they don't even realize it....they're too busy protecting their tribe to notice.

Claude Clarke article

Garrisons must be seen and treated as what they really are: the means through which our people are kept enslaved and denied the right to be all that they can be. They will take us in the direction of Somalia, controlled by warlords, rather than Singapore, characterised by order and prosperity. They lead us towards backwardness and jungle justice, not modernity and the rule of law. The loud, clear and eloquent statement made by the prime minister by his stance in the Dudus affair is that he will pay any price and force the country to do likewise to protect the favourite don of his favourite garrison. In doing so, we may have crossed the Rubicon towards the utter failure of Somalia, rather than climb the first rung towards the success that is Singapore.
    Yet some come on here belching crap about Lee Kuan Yew! I wonder how many dons Lee is currently petting and powdering?!?

SHHH mek the spinners and defenders gwan reveal themselves.

That's what I'm going to do. I'm withdrawing myself from further discussion about this extradition matter and the Brady Bunch case. Just watching them spin has got me dizzy!

Yet some come on here belching crap about Lee Kuan Yew! I wonder how many dons Lee is currently petting and powdering?!?
          LoL!

Missa Yew ah di 1Don.... im nuh tek back chat

Changing Your Stance?

......those who condone, excuse or merely ignore Golding's embrace and reinforcement of Jamaica's culture of Garrisonization & Gunmanship (from Parliament!!) are themselves complicit in the continued descent of Jamaica to failed state status...dominated by warlords, drug dealers and anti social elements.

Claude Clarke article
            You’re now quoting (in agreement) a phrase such as Jamaica’s “descent” to “failed state status,” yet when I used a similar phrase last year, you posted a long list of textbook reasons why I was wrong, at the same time suggesting that I was being “negative”!!

The fact is that I never ever stated that Jamaica is a failed state! Rather, the adjective I used (instead of “descent”) was “approaching,” just as Claude Clarke has done in his article.

I guess you change your viewpoints according to who is the messenger and/or the subject, right?

Originally posted by Historian View Post
              You’re now quoting (in agreement) a phrase such as Jamaica’s “descent” to “failed state status,” yet when I used a similar phrase last year, you posted a long list of textbook reasons why I was wrong, at the same time suggesting that I was being “negative”!!

The fact is that I never ever stated that Jamaica is a failed state! Rather, the adjective I used (instead of “descent”) was “approaching,” just as Claude Clarke has done in his article.

I guess you change your viewpoints according to who is the messenger and/or the subject, right?
              I suppose you are asking for a clarification on my views...not deigning to represent them...yes? This is an issue of mere semantics.

Jamaica is not a failed state or yet close to or approaching being one...I seem to recall that you were making that determination (that Jamaica was or at least was almost at that level) when we had the discussion. If you were not let me know.

However the qualitative difference in recent developments in the present regime appears to have escaped you....developments which in my opinion are clearly accelerating our journey down the road to societal failure.
              Does this mean we are "approaching" in the sense of "close to" a failed state.... not in my opinion...but that usage and possible meaning of the phrase is a difference at a semantic level.

When a leader can stand in a country's PARLIAMENT and provide open political cover to the largest and most influential criminal syndicate.... a rubicon has been crossed. This precedent will now make it much easier for either tribe to do the same...or worse.

It is clear that some don't realize this... perhaps you as well?
              Last edited by Don1; March 30, 2010, 12:48 PM.

Where was Claude Clarke during the PNP years? Anyway Jamaica is close to becoming a hopeless case on this issue and pot a cuss kettle sey him black! For further reading see Jamaican Gangs Oust 200 people from their homes and Gangs and Police Cripple Jamaica's Innercities.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                  Where was Claude Clarke during the PNP years? Anyway Jamaica is close to becoming a hopeless case on this issue and pot a cuss kettle sey him black! For further reading see Jamaican Gangs Oust 200 people from their homes and Gangs and Police Cripple Jamaica's Innercities.

Dwelling on PNP or JLP history, important as it may be, is not my particular interest... you will find many here who like to focus on history...to the point of ignoring the present disasters.

My main interest is in solutions for the here and now.

Here is the next dilemma according to the article, this is the one that makes my heart sink:

"Our country desperately needs to be rescued. Do any of our political leaders have the honesty, moral authority, courage and political gravitas to make this change? Are there men and women who will live what they say they believe and summon the courage to act on those beliefs?
                    The Christopher Coke case has found our prime minister wanting. Can anyone else in the Government or the Opposition rise to the required standard of leadership? And will he or she speak up before it is too late?"

Here is the next dilemma according to the article, this is the one that makes my heart sink:

"Our country desperately needs to be rescued. Do any of our political leaders have the honesty, moral authority, courage and political gravitas to make this change? Are there men and women who will live what they say they believe and summon the courage to act on those beliefs?
                      The Christopher Coke case has found our prime minister wanting. Can anyone else in the Government or the Opposition rise to the required standard of leadership? And will he or she speak up before it is too late?"
                      yep...those are the big questions.... since Golding is clearly compromised... who can we turn to?

Hold on.. Jawge come back wid him Somalia argument ?

I am almost taking you jokers seriously.. love the emotion.. Bruce, the Champion of the Garrison movement..

lol !!

Drivah.. don't stap at all.. run over some more foot..

Heh, heh...

Lesson to be learned.. when yuh hunting Big Game, carry more than a pea-shooter..

Babylon Cayliss.. shows their disrespect.. Drivah whip dem into shape..

Too late ?

lol !.. comedy central. !

Obama !