• PNP to establish integrity commission

2010-03-29 09:14:26

The Peoples National Party (PNP) says it will shortly be establishing an integrity commission to investigate ethical breaches and allegations of corruption among its members.

PNP president Portia Simpson-Miller says the five member commission will be led by an individual who is not a member of the party.
    Mrs. Simpson-Miller who was addressing a meeting of the party’s national executive council yesterday, also demanded that the Government remove attorney-at-law Harold Brady from all state boards.
    Mr. Brady was thrown into the spotlight after documents were published indicating that he was involved in contractual arrangements with US law firm Manatt, Phelps and Phillips on extradition matters, on behalf of the Jamaican government.
    The PNP president also wants the General Legal Council to investigate whether Mr. Brady’s actions constitute a breach of ethics of the legal profession.

The contract between Mr. Brady and Manatt has been posted on the US Justice Department’s website.
    However, Mr. Brady says the aspect of the contract involving the Jamaican government was a mistake, which has since been corrected.
    Mrs. Simpson-Miller says the position of the solicitor general, Douglas Leys has been seriously compromised.
    Mr Leys had allowed a representative from Manatt into a meeting he had with the US State and Justice Departments to discuss the extradition matter involving Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke.

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=18039

When you see the PNP a talk bout integrity you know say dem tink their time is nigh. Thanks a lot Bruce. Kiss teeth.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
      When you see the PNP a talk bout integrity you know say dem tink their time is nigh. Thanks a lot Bruce. Kiss teeth.
      Mi curious, what Bruce affi duh wid the PNP's latest move to con the masses?

could be a con move, or it could be legit.

let's give it time. let's see who forms the commission. let's see what actions the take. right, lazie?

Is wha the **************** ******************** ting mi see pon the forum. A fine should be immediately imposed on anyone who uses the words PNP and integrity in the same sentence!

could be a con move, or it could be legit.

let's give it time. let's see who forms the commission. let's see what actions the take. right, lazie?
            No objections to what the dem wanna duh ... just curious as to why Rudi want to bring Bruce into this.

The Iraqi foreign minister from the days of Sadam must have joined the public relations department of the PNP. This so-called integrity commission was only formed to give the impression that they are interested in fighting corruption.

I think the PNP despite their protestations otherwise had resigned themselves to the prospect of being out of Gov't for a while. Case in point: an integrity commission or corruption review was proposed by the Meeks report on the PNP as part of their review. Up until now they never did anything. All of a sudden they are concerned about integrity? I smell self-interest based on all what's happenning currently.

Alot is happening currently bredren. Care to be more specific?

PNP between a rock and a hard place. Portia realise that some people serious about corruption and will not support the PNP until them make some changes. At first she never see the need for changes but she realise without some changes they are stuck. Hopefully it will be meaningful changes but and not a group who a go justify corruption.

let see how it work out. Wha happen to the progressive agenda?

You're probably not aware but the JLP has been tagged with the corruption brush with extradition case and the American law firm embarassment. More is gonna come. It would suit the PNP to be seen as putting their house in order before seriously trying to present themselves as the ready and waiting alternative.

Well, I find it amusing that those who were always skeptical of the USA is all of a sudden taking their word as gospel. One of the reports from the recently beloved USA (for many here) had numerous inaccuracies which were pointed out by the minister, but I guess if it nuh fit the agenda, we side step it.

As for the law firm issue. The gov't has time and again said there is no contract, the SG said there is no contract, the man at the heart of the matter said there is no contract. Neither of us have seen anything to say otherwise ... so where is the corruption?

Get serious if you can. what's the agenda of the PSOJ, the JMA, the JFJ and all the other organizations and individuals that usually are supporters of the JLP? More to come and they know it. I admire your ability to keep a straight face.

Strange, you ignore those that give another view. Why? The president of the Jamaica Bar Association last week also came out saying the gov't is correct. Why are you ignoring their view? The difference is these lawyers keep making reference to a MOU in the agreement which makes it a "politcal matter" (their words).

I'm no lawyer, I've no idea if they're correct, but I see no need to sweep it under the carpet like some of you are doing.

Again, what do you think should happen, Lazie? Should Dudus be extradited?