• 'Dear Dad' author Ky-Mani makes peace with publishers

'Dear Dad' author Ky-Mani makes peace with publishers

(No woman (publisher) nuh cry!)

Published: Thursday | March 25, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

Ky-Mani Marley - Contributed

Howard Campbell, Gleaner Writer
    Singer Ky-Mani Marley said he has made peace with publishers Farrah Gray Publishing and will start a tour to promote his autobiography, Dear Dad, next month.

Marley and Farrah Gray were at odds recently over the previous title (Dear Dad: Where's The Family In Our Family, Today? The Story the Marley Family Apparently Doesn't Want You to Know) and some of the book's content, but in a statement he said the differences have been resolved.
    "I stand behind the content of my book Dear Dad 100 per cent. My story is "my story", and I don't deny who I am or my experiences," Marley's statement read. "My issue was with the subtitle only."

Misrepresented
    Originally promoted as Dear Dad: The Marley Son Who Persevered From The Streets To Prominence, Dear Dad was released on February 6, the birthday of Marley's father, reggae superstar Bob Marley, who died from cancer in May 1981.

Last month, Marley said the publishers misrepresented him by suggesting in the book that he was left to suffer by his father's family after his death. But Farrah Gray countered, saying their account was accurate and that Marley had come under pressure from his influential relatives.

The 27-city tour is scheduled to start April 8 in Miami where the Falmouth, Trelawny-born Marley grew up. Other stops are scheduled for Pittsburgh, Atlanta, Detroit, Las Vegas, Los Angeles and Phoenix.

Ky-Mani Marley is the son of Anita Belnavis, a leading Jamaica table tennis player during the 1970s who had an affair with the married Marley. Dear Dad focuses on his early life in Falmouth and south Florida, where he and his mother emigrated in the early 1980s.

Indifferent relationship
    In Dear Dad, he reflects on an indifferent relationship with his father's legitimate children and widow, Rita. Marley said his fortunes changed considerably in 1994 through a financial settlement from the Marley estate.

Bob Marley has been the subject of several controversial books. The most infamous was 1995's Marley and Me, written by his former manager Don Taylor.

Rita Marley also caused a stir with her No Woman No Cry: My Life With Bob Marley, which was released in May, 2004.

Like his brothers, Ziggy, Stephen, Damian and Julian, Ky-Mani Marley has focused on a music career and has done fairly well. He has recorded four albums, the first being Like Father, Like Son which was released in 1996.
    His last studio effort was Radio, which was released in 2007.

He also starred in the low-budget action films Shottas and One Love. His Living The Life of Marley reality show first aired on BET in 2007.

Kill mi dead a Chin wise hym up,yeah!

Anyway, the title too shouldn't be a problem, the response of the Marley Empire confirms it is a story they do not want anyone to know.

Blessed