I remember certain people

• I remember certain people

on here were quick to predict the death and the weakness of the dollar. Some were quick to point out that developing nations such as China, Brazil and others should form a new currency.

Now what are they saying with the weakness of the Euro, Greek and other drag on the currency. Some are actually predicting the death of the Euro. Now I don't see Britain giving up their pound although they are also not in a very good position either.

I heard today one analyst of high profile saying Greece will definately default at some time or another and that Europe fail to find a solution. Maybe they want Audley Shaw fi hook them up.

I notice there is no discussion on this.

A bet if a babylon did a fall or "lose some power" we woulda all over it.

ah bwoy talk bout balance.

You have a Eurocentric and North American outlook which is clouding your analysis I believe. Look at the US$ and the Euro vs. tha commodity currencies like canada and Australia. Look at the inevitable rise in the currency of the Asian countries notwithstanding the effects of their central banks to keep it low. Look at the US$ vs. the Brazillian currency. Unlike the US and the PIGS of Europe these currencies are not saddled with deficits in perpetuity. It is inevitable that the US$ will fall and if you're taking a look in the right places you will see how far it has already fallen Americans don't realize the extent yet but they will. PIGS are meant to signify Portugal, Italy, Greece and Spain the problems of these EU countries is what is primarily ailing the Euro.

Germany is actually benefit from the Greek dilemma. A weaker euro helps their exporters and I'm sure that is partly why they aren't keen on Greece going belly up and also aren't keen on giving Greece a blank cheque (the main reason though is that they don't like the idea that Greece could have gone about for a joy-ride and expected Germany to pay for it).

Russia's currency has also been experiencing appreciation pressure and it's somewhat of a commodity currency (oil, gas, military aircraft, AK-47s)

No not at all. The thing is any rising country are all subjected to major shock or overheating in some case and if they have a major currency as some suggest it is only a matter of time for some of these currency to lose power. They couldn't back a currency.

Last time I check people were using the Euro as example but you see how easy it is and one shock and how the Euro suffer? If you have currency backed by Brazil, China, Iran, and India etc. how vulerable is it?

This not about any centric, it is about what I see on the ground. Again yes these countries are doing well but to back a major currency means doing well over long term and not just the last 5 years.

The fact is just a major jolt in one country can affect the currency as the Euro shows. The US has fallen without a doubt but there are so many on here who just glad to post the down of the US and predict its demise. Not so fast, the economics is a chest game.

It maybe but the Euro as a major currency has suffered a lot because of this shock and show a lot of vulnerability recently.

No not at all. The thing is any rising country are all subjected to major shock or overheating in some case and if they have a major currency as some suggest it is only a matter of time for some of these currency to lose power. They couldn't back a currency.

Last time I check people were using the Euro as example but you see how easy it is and one shock and how the Euro suffer? If you have currency backed by Brazil, China, Iran, and India etc. how vulerable is it?

This not about any centric, it is about what I see on the ground. Again yes these countries are doing well but to back a major currency means doing well over long term and not just the last 5 years.

The fact is just a major jolt in one country can affect the currency as the Euro shows. The US has fallen without a doubt but there are so many on here who just glad to post the down of the US and predict its demise. Not so fast, the economics is a chest game.
                phew!!