IMHO the REAL driving force behiind obama's

• IMHO the REAL driving force behiind obama's

determination to pass healthcare reform.

"I'm signing this reform bill into law on behalf of my mother, who argued with insurance companies even as she battled cancer in her final days."

no one can underestimate the impact that seeing this unfold before his eyes had...

Yep, i agree.

You have to respect the passion Ted Kennedy had for the issue because of personal experience too, especially as someone whose family did not need health insurance.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhYtM...eature=related

As Assasin said , the Republicans will again be on the wrong side of history in terms of social reform. I guess the last time they were on the right side was 1865 or thereabouts.

...and remember, Lincoln said freeing the slaves was the least on his mind. Conservation of the Union, that was what it was all about!

...and that was then...this is now. Be happy!!

Anyway i was home (alone) watching the signing. Found myself clapping and cheering during the ceremony.

Would have cried...but my tear glands and ducts are dried and blocked.

Little too much info there, HL. But since you mentioned it, dried and blocked tear glands are usually a symptom of red-yeye and badmind.

But, make sure you check with your health care provider!

Cheers!

You can image how Mr.Walton them happy now? There worker will all be covered and them nah fi worry. More profit fi them.

hehehee........................................... .......

yuh bwoy nat too far away...watch

Little too much info there, HL. But since you mentioned it, dried and blocked tear glands are usually a symptom of red-yeye and badmind.

But, make sure you check with your health care provider!

Cheers!
                Yuh nuh fraid HL tum yuh dung
                “Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”

heheheee...funny indeed!!!

But seriously MdmeX...I would floor him widout question. Chussss mi.

Who is Mr Walton? Couldn't Wal-Mart you a talk.

You mek it sound like business can just drop health insurance coverage if them want and the govt just going to pick it up.

Most of Walmart workers are getting low pay and if they are under 30 hours which many are they are not qualified for to buy into the company healthcare. Many will qualify for medicare.

I have no problem with American companies taking advantage because Chinese company, European and others can compete as they don't have this huge healthcare bill that the Americans companies have.

I don't think it going to work that way.

The new bill will fine/tax companies that don't provide healthcare for thier employees, except for small business. This will include part-time workers.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100308/..._care_business

This is a good thing. There is no free lunch, SOMEBODY have to pay for it. I prefer Wal-mart pay for it and charge more for thier goods than thier employees to go on medicare/medicaid.

I don't think it going to work that way.

The new bill will fine/tax companies that don't provide healthcare for thier employees, except for small business. This will include part-time workers.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100308/..._care_business

This is a good thing. There is no free lunch, SOMEBODY have to pay for it. I prefer Wal-mart pay for it and charge more for thier goods than thier employees to go on medicare/medicaid.
                          Good talk!

thanks for the info. I will see the loophole they will use.

question how does it affects the low budget industries?
                              Health care bill could include part-time workers
                              Restaurant industry call to action!!!
                              The Wisconsin Restaurant Association and the National Restaurant Association have learned that Rep. George Miller (D-Calif.), chairman of the House Education and Labor Committee, and his Progressive Caucus are strongly urging the White House and Congressional leadership to dramatically change the definition of part-time workers in the final health care reform package.

The changes would be extremely harmful to the restaurant industry and exceptionally onerous if they were to pass in the legislation. Miller seeks to align the final definition with a concept that was included in the House-passed bill, which the industry opposed.

The Progressive Caucus proposal would increase the number of employees firms would have to cover, narrow the small business exemption, increase the scope of businesses that would have to provide minimum coverage, and increase the portion of total fees imposed on employers.

This is a critical time for restaurateurs’ voices to be heard. We have just a few days before a revised package comes together, and making contact with lawmakers can influence the outcome. Please contact your representative and tell him or her to maintain the part-time worker exemption currently in the Senate-passed bill.

How you can help
                              • Email your representative and senators: Click here to send an email to your personal elected officials.
                              • Call your representative and senators on the Capitol Switchboard: (202) 224-3121.
                              What to say
                              • Restaurants operate on thin profit margins. Including part-time workers in the employer requirements will overburden restaurants by adding large new costs and administrative obligations in already difficult times. This will hinder our ability to maintain and create the jobs our economy needs to recover and the jobs the restaurant industry can provide.
                              • Part-time employees are a large and essential component of the restaurant-industry labor force. Many of our employees work for multiple employers to build a flexible work schedule or already receive coverage under another health plan.
                              • It is critical that the part-time worker exemption contained in the Senate-passed health care bill is maintained.