Desmond McKenzie takes on Peter Phillips
Originally posted by Plush View PostBaddaz, I think the Job is too big for Portia....Plain and simple, BTW, I know some of the people that Portia is mixed with..they are quite shady.
Mr Phillips - Haven't we heard enough about his association with the Arnett Dons of the past and Present. Mckenzie knows, trust me. All of dem mix up and keep each other's secrets.
all now nuhbady nah refute him efforts as de secutity minister... the jlp come in and dem a implement de tings dem weh him set in motion... how dem nuh criticize and scrap dem, if dem wasn't sensible measures fi fight crime...
peter phillips have my support fi lead jamaica...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
is that all? that was played out in the public eye.
mek i ask a question, do you think that them people sitting in parlaiment don't know the wickedness whey each a dem perpetrate? but what, is a confidence game and wi a di mark!
Originally posted by Gamma View Postis that all? that was played out in the public eye.
mek i ask a question, do you think that them people sitting in parlaiment don't know the wickedness whey each a dem perpetrate? but what, is a confidence game and wi a di mark!
Dem know dem one anodda, and tek it a step further - dem may be on opposite sides of the fence, but dem have fambily blood running through their veins.“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
Great post big man. I have often wondered this myself until I got a little insight into the thinking. Nuff of dem man yah are often called upon to do certain things: like pay for funerals, pay for school fees, pay for medical expenses, scholarships etc. Often some of them do this out of their own pockets. To be fair to the One Don he has done this. Jamaica's problem is what happens to the rest of the population who as Bob says: No have no friend inna high society. Truth be known a lot of the politicians would like to be given a road map out of the quagmire but they are in too deep and have no clue as to what to do. This would include the chess grandmaster.
to ansa yuh question, they all know the workings that 'each a dem perpetrate'... still, wi have tuh go by whats in the public domain, nuh suh since a dat a guh ultimately determine electabilty... if mckenzie and de ressa dem have nuting pon peter phillips, yuh tink dem wudda start leak it out awready... him seem to be de thorn inna dem side and de biggest threat to dem, right yah now...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
Originally posted by Mosiah View Postthat's all i am saying. we have to choose from a tainted lot and for me, peter phillips would get my vote over most!
No no no, Mo!
That is what the JLPNDMP would want you to believe. That you only have a tainted lot to choose from and hence must pick from that. But that is only them convincing you to think inside the box. There are other options (Ras Astor, independents or simply refusing to vote in a farce). Sure Ras Astor would never get enough seats to form a government by himself, but if as Willi said there was a coalition of independents Ras Astor could be a part of that. Not even third way (NDM), but a fourth way (independents). A bit more pluralism in parliament would probably break the power of the two established parties and force them out of their comfort zone with the dons since if they realize that people not going to vote for them because of the corruption then the people in the party who actually care more about their votes than the dons will want to push their parties away from dons.
So why not vote for people who don't have ANY association at all with dons (including going to their funeral as Davies, Seaga, Grange and Phillips have done)? They (those without association or at least without known association) stand for election every year, but because we have all been lead to believe that the JLPNP (with NDM as a wholly-owned subsidiary/front business) will inevitably win we go through the circular logic of a self-fulfilling prophecy:
1. We believe that the JLP or PNP will win the most seats in parliament so we don't "waste" our vote on other candidates and decide to choose from the "better" of the two.
2. We don't vote for the other candidates and hence the JLP or PNP wins the most seats in parliament thus leading back to 1.
But Baddaz, the system won't change if we stick to the same ol' same ol. Do you really think Phillips would change the system? And then change it to what? The US system where they have two dominant parties as well?
It's not the system that is the problem but the people who are in it.
Look on Samuda. It wasn't even a few weeks ago that he was going on about how "difficult" it is to be a legislator and take care of the constituency at the same time, yet an article in the Gleaner a few days before showed we have one of the laziest parliaments around (working for an average of 40-50 days out of the year compared to 80-120 for Britain, India and some others or something like that; definitely they work only about a third as much as the UK parliament). Samuda's "genius" idea was for the role of legislator and MP to be separated, but what is the use of an MP if he isn't a legislator? And why is it that other countries with much larger constituencies (the UK, USA) have legislators who balance their time between making laws and look after development in their constituencies? What if Samuda had to run for a US House Seat or a House of Commons seat? He would go mad with the amount of work. Rather his musings and the insufficient meetings of parliament and poor roads (somehow Samuda didn't have time for his constituency's roads while in opposition and now in government he still doesn't have time despite our parliament barely meeting as it is) all point to lazy politicians. Vote them all out and then the "system" will change (or rather it will function as it should if productive people are voted in).
Don't leave Delroy Chuck out of the list of those who attended funerals of dons. Chuck conveniently had business abroad when his don was being buried, but he sent along a message. This way, he covered all bases. His constituents can't say he didn't care and there would never be any photos of him sitting in church for the don's funeral.
Yuh tink dem easy?!?