• Desmond McKenzie takes on Peter Phillips

DESMOND MCKENZIE BARES HIS CLAWS
    • Accuses Peter Phillips of not being sinless

BY ERICA VIRTUE OBSERVER WRITER virtuee@jamaicaobserver.com

Monday, March 22, 2010

JAMAICA Labour Party (JLP) deputy leader Desmond McKenzie yesterday lashed former national security minister Dr Peter Phillips, telling him to stop acting sinless, because he is not what he appears to be.

In a stinging attack on the former minister, who alerted the country to a possible legal arrangement about extradition matters between the Jamaican Government and United States law firm Manat, Phelps & Phillips, McKenzie said Phillips should be careful about "casting stones".

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...illips_7498418

Let's hear what yuh have to say, Desmond! Tell us what you know about Peter Phillips. And while you are at it, tell us what you know about all other politicians, including yourself! Truth and reconciliation mi seh! Y-yeah!

COMMENTS (5)
      Beresford Davidson
      3/22/2010
      'Den no dat,' me ask, him without fault, cast 'de fuss stone! De black hand dat juk Dudus unveil dem duty behind!!' Treason! Treason, Treason!

Paul Gentles
      3/22/2010
      Good-day, I am saddened but should have expected no less from like minded politicians who only entered the political arena for power and priveleges and not to elevate and promote democracy and to protect its citizens.
      What Mr Mckenzie is espousing is "kil the messenger" because the news is disturbing.
      The issue is not who exposes what but rather if what was exposed true or not. If its proven an act took place which is illicit or questionable then what are steps for remedial action. Mr Mckenzie you owe the country and all those blood that have running on the streets year after year an apology as your words and attitude is not geared towards addressing the problem but adding to what we should be getting away from..

3/22/2010
      Though I agree with Mr. McKenzie the Peter Phillips is not without blame for the mess our country is in, I'm glad that he is letting us know what the government is getting up to. He is the opposition after all and it is in the public interest to disclose any wrong doing in the government.
      I can't believe what Mr. McKenzie is saying; that because the previous administration was inept and corrupt that that somehow gives the current one cart blanche to be inept and corrupt and to do whatever they want. Jamaica will slowly become civilised. And all those in government will be held accountable for everything they do.

george watson
      3/22/2010
      I wonder which man or woman is sinless. Dr. Phillips certainly did not characterize himself as such, and what he is saying has nothing to do with him. This is the favourite ploy of this government; whenever a criticism is leveled against them they point to the excesses pf the previous government.
      The government came into power based on the people’s dissatisfaction with the PNP and promises by the LP that they would do better in the areas of CORRUPTION, the ECONOMY and CRIME, so haven’t we the people the right to expect that from them?
      And since we have no voice, shouldn’t the Opposition do it for us? That is the job of a good Opposition, so where does the mayor get off criticizing Dr. Phillips when he seeks the answers?
      Never has a government promised so much and delivered so little. Reminds me of something I received in my email box this morning.
      There's an old sea story in the Navy about a Ship's' Captain who inspected his sailors, and afterward told the Chief Boatswain that his men smelled bad. The Captain suggested perhaps it would help if the sailors would change underwear occasionally.
      The Chief responded, "Aye, aye sir, I'll see to it immediately!"
      The Chief went straight to the sailors berth deck and announced,
      "The Captain thinks you guys smell bad and wants you to change your underwear." He continued, "Pittman, you change with Jones, McCarthy, you change with Witkowski, and Brown, you Change with Schultz. Now GET TO IT!!!"
      THE MORAL OF THE STORY IS:
      Someone may come along and promise "Change",
      But don't count on things smelling any better.

Jay Brown
      3/22/2010
      Is Desmond saying that Dr Phillips should not expose the wrongs of the JLP, if that is what he is saying he is way off the mark.
      Audley when he was in opposition could not resist the temptation of exposing every single wrong of the then PNP government, and rightly so.
      Why then should it be different this time around.
      We need to be informed and as such I welcome these revelations.

~sigh~ is it really now about sinless? what is it now...sin for sin? and who pays the price in the meanwhile? basically he is saying shut up, because we know stuff about you!! how does this HELP?!!

NDM time now?

I am sure dem all have "secrets" fi dem one annada.

Look how Vaz wife get cheap house outta Finsac!!!

This means that there is no way the JLP gonna really spill the beans there. Omar Safe!

JLPNP is one party with 2 face.

3rd way time now.

It helps because all is being revealed now. The dollyhouse a mash up!

Rejoice and be exceeding glad.

no...all will not be revealed .... nuhbaddy naw guh talk now. mexican standoff. that was the intention. this has happened before and ntohing was revealed.

Gamma talking about HELP? When has it ever been about HELP?!?

Then again, smaddy eva box yuh yet?

Mi get push and trodded toe!

LoL

Enuff will be

Because the US involved.

hope yuh right..suh wi can weed out who need fi weed out!

Mi get push and trodded toe!

LoL
                        LOL!!! LOL!!!

I think I'll do a Jon Stewart and show just how stupid these people are by juxatposing their quotes with the known facts:

However, he could not resist and took another swipe, this time at former justice minister and attorney general A J Nicholson, as well as journalists and commentators.
                          "I want to stay far from certain issues that have taken the spotlight. But, when I hear the condemnation of the Government, When I hear people condemning the prime minister, I hear people condemning the minister of justice and attorney general, and I don't hear one journalist, I don't see one commentator that have asked the question: 'Why, did the former minister and attorney general allow an extradition request to remain on his desk, lost in papers, and he never signed it?' And I don't hear nobody asking how come?" he said to loud cheers.
                          Now, also from the Observer (see: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...y-Blow_7487253 ):

The Observer has pieced together information from several sources to mark out the trail taken by the dispute, which has become the most read news item by Jamaicans at home and abroad:
                          GOLDING... the US did not follow proper procedure
                          1/3
                          February 2, 2007 -- J'can Gov't seeks to have Coke's phone tapped
                          Based on a request, Jamaica's Attorney General and Justice Minister AJ Nicholson applies to the Supreme Court for a warrant to intercept all telephone communications by Christopher Coke. However, the Government is not aware that Coke has been charged and/or convicted of any offence in Jamaica.
                          The warrant is issued to Digicel by the Supreme Court pursuant to Section 4 of the Interception of Communications Act (ICA), to intercept Coke's telephone. Digicel is ordered to disclose all intercepted communications to the Commissioner of Police, a Superintendent of Police and the Head of the Military Intelligence Unit of the Jamaica Defence Force.
                          The transcribed information is also to be disseminated only to those individuals whose involvement in the investigation necessitates the receipt of this information.
                          Similar warrants are issued for the interception of Coke's telephone communications on March 27, 2007, July 13, 2007 and September 18, 2007.

August 25, 2009 -- Extradition request arrives
                          Diplomatic Note No 296 from the Government of the United States arrives at the Jamaican foreign ministry, requesting the extradition of Christopher Coke under their 1993 Extradition Treaty. The request for the Tivoli Gardens strongman is supported by authenticated documents.
                          The documentation includes, among other things, evidence in which a "cooperating witness" is alleged to have been in communication with Coke and others in recorded telephone conversations, about 'dealings' in narcotics and firearms.
                          The alleged conversation was intercepted in Jamaica and 'played back' by US agents to the cooperating witness who alleged that the voice was the voice of Coke.
                          An affidavit also came from 'Constable John Doe', an anonymous member of the Jamaica Constabulary Force, signed and sworn to on May 14, 2009. In it Constable Doe alleges to have been personally involved in authorised wiretap investigations in Jamaica during the period April 2007 through October 2007. Constable Doe alleges that based on that involvement, he is able to confirm the recordings as telephone calls that were recorded in Jamaica based on court authorisation covering the seven-month period.
                          Assistant US Attorney Jocelyn Strauber reports that Coke was indicted by the Grand Jury for the Southern District of New York, based on that affidavit evidence, on two counts:
                          * conspiracy to, inter alia, distribute and possess with intent to distribute narcotics; and
                          * conspiracy to traffic in firearms without a licence.

September 18, 2009 -- Jamaica wants more information
                          Jamaica insists that the evidence presented was not enough to convict Coke in a Jamaican court for these offences, as is required by the Extradition Treaty. A Diplomatic Note is dispatched, requesting additional.....
                          So now McKenzie is not only saying that Phillips shouldn't uncover fishy business (and basically that nobody should since we all know that only newborn babes are without sin), but apparently he is also in possession of a time machine which allowed him to go back in time, lose the elections for the JLP candidates so that Nicholson could still be Attorney-General in August 2009 and then somehow got a snap election called in September 2009 which the JLP candidates won. Honestly is Mr. McKenzie a fool or does he take literate people for fools? Or is he saying that the extradition request came long before August 2009 and that it was only at that time that the current attorney-general discovered it behind a filing cabinet?

Mine dem call yuh socialist!

So? Is not like there are any real socialists among Jamaica's current or ex-politicians. Not even real democrats or capitalists.

I'd much rather be a socialist along the lines of Germany's Social Democrats than to be the Jamaican version.