Vivian Blake Dead
Now you see my fustration and back that up with the politician support and the hypocritical academias and lawyers etc. who try to justify the wrongs been done, and the businessmen who take advantage by taking the easy way out by handing over their responsiblity to people like Dudus.
Sad state really.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Wess Kingston? Yuh not listening to mi!
I think even some PNP areas will erupt!
And of course, Dudus' influence stretches as far as Flankers, St. James, and other areas around the country. Will not be pretty.
I just hope I get some advanced warning and I can book a flight out, and hope dat mi lilly visa nuh cancel!
Some of the businessmen are to be blamed. Some have direct link and even get rid of their competitiors but as you say a the government to take most of the blame.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
However, the most profound statement was made by a group of women from Hannah Town. The women, who indicated that they were PNP supporters, spoke on national television and proclaimed in a worship-like manner that "Dudus next to God". Before we rush to condemn these women, let us examine why they ascribed near divinity status to Dudus.
They said that Dudus assisted their children in going to school, provided funding for their businesses, provided protection and maintained the peace, among other things.
The women's statement that Dudus is next to God provides a critical insight into our prevailing social and political order. For those women in Hannah Town and thousands of Jamaicans in several communities across Jamaica, their dons are next to God, because traditional values, the established social order and legitimate leadership are crumbling before our eyes.
Dudus and his counterparts throughout Jamaica will continue to be acclaimed as next to God as long as parenting and family life remain weak, churches and pastors remain indifferent and irrelevant, civil society remains dormant, and political parties and their leaders remain visionless and uninspiring.
If we continue to cede parcels of the country to strongmen and outsource law and order to others rather than the police force and the courts, then all Jamaica will soon be forced to worship at the altar of lawlessness and criminality and join the women of Hannah Town in praising the dons as gods.
Orville Plummer
oaplummer@yahoo.com
Here's a question: How many people have had vendors, merchants or fast-food cashiers beg them for some money after having made a purchase/order?
When mi seh Wess, mi nuh mean just strict Kigngston or just Tivoli/Rema. Mi mean Hannah Town, parts of the Western St Andrew seats below Chree mile, all the way cross to Gordon House. Basically half of Kignston, plus the other associated areas.
Not pretty.
Nuh wonder Nicholson sign wire-tapping order from Feb. 2007, but did not do more after that. How Dudus get so big during 18 years of PNP rule?
Let's face it, Dudus would have got big unda anyone's rule! Yuh nuh see di tantrum Maudib fling dung when police raid di Tivarli?
indeed, there would have been cries of political victimisation had the pnp tried to do more.
fact is even the pnp did not do enough to fight this crime monster. many a dem mix up and dem just never have di political will.
and then there was portia!
sigh