• Earthquake shakes Cuba; no reports of damage yet

Earthquake shakes Cuba; no reports of damage yet

if(location.hostname.indexOf( 'edition.' ) > -1) {document.write('March 20, 2010 -- Updated 2000 GMT (0400 HKT)');} else {document.write('March 20, 2010 4:00 p.m. EDT');}March 20, 2010 4:00 p.m. EDT

var clickExpire = "-1";Havana, Cuba (CNN) -- A 5.6-magnitude earthquake shook Cuba on Saturday.

The quake struck at 1:08 p.m. (2:08 p.m. ET) 22 kilometers (14 miles) below the surface and was centered 44 km (27 miles) south-southwest of Guantanamo, the U.S. Geological Survey said.

"So far, there haven't been any reports of major damages or injuries," a civil defense official in Havana told CNN nearly an hour after the quake. "It's still early."

There were no immediate reports of injuries or major damage in Santiago de Cuba, which is 57 km (36 miles) from the epicenter, but a woman who runs a bed and breakfast there felt it.

"It was very strong," the woman said. "We ran and stood in the doorway. Neighbors were screaming and ran into the street. ... I haven't heard of any damages. Everybody is back inside."

"I don't think there are any damages, at least around here," said Mabel Martinez, who runs another bed and breakfast in Santiago de Cuba. "But people are definitely alarmed."

Jamaica under earthquake seige!

List of Earthquakes: 2010

Jamaica under earthquake seige!

Trust me, it’s not only Jamaica!

Today’s date is March 20, 2010. Now, let’s look back at these first three months of 2010:

Jan. 3, 2010: Solomon Islands (7.2)
      Jan. 10, 2010: Humboldt County, California (6.5)
      Jan. 12, 2010: Haiti (7.0)
      Feb. 26, 2010: Ryukyu Islands, Japan (7.0)
      Feb. 27, 2010: Chile (8.8)
      Feb. 27, 2010: Salta, Argentina (6.1)
      Mar. 4, 2010: Taiwan (6.4)
      Mar. 5, 2010: Sumatra Coast (6.5)
      Mar. 8, 2010: Turkey (6.0)
      Mar. 11, 2010: Pichilemu, Chile (6.9)
      Mar. 14, 2010: Indonesia (6.4)
      Mar. 14, 2010: Japan (6.6)
      Mar. 20, 2010: Cuba (5.6)

Typo ...siege!

Cuba hit by earthquake Saturday, 20 March 2010 The Earthquake Unit at the University of the West Indies, Mona has issued a preliminary bulletin on the earthquake which was felt in sections of Jamaica earlier Saturday.

The earthquake actually hit Cuba, but the effects were also felt in Jamaica.

A 5.6-magnitude earthquake struck near Guantanamo city in eastern Cuba, sending alarmed residents fleeing into the streets and causing cracks in some buildings.

There were no immediate reports of casualties or serious damage.

Jamaica's Earthquake Unit said the quake occurred at 1:08pm.

The earthquake had a focal depth of 17.2 kilometres and was located in the Southern Cuban region, in the Oriente Fault Block.

The Earthquake unit said the quake was felt in Kingston and St. Andrew.

However RJR News received calls from persons who said they felt the quake in St. Mary and Portland.

cayman/haiti/cuba ......

okay! stop right there!!!

We are blessed.

On a serious note I pray we don't get one.

thanks god, despite years of manley and the pnp, we made no pact with the devil!

Guweh, yuh REPUBLICAN!

Poor Cuba. I hope the damage is limited.