Hell breaks loose in West Kingston
Originally posted by Jangle View PostLazie that's not my concern. We Jamaicans are easily identified anywhere we go, and when Jamaica is placed on the caution list for US tourists, we hang our heads in shame. Life goes on in the black and white communities here in the states. Sean Bell, Rodney King and others are just another incident in this blacks vs whites vs black vs the police battle. It was here before I came here, and will probably be here after I am long gone. Jamaica is my mother and I love her."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostAnd when the police in August Town retreated under heavy firepower they were ridiculed on this very site. Dem cyaan win suh might as well buss shot indiscriminately. I would if i were in their shoes."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Community policing is the only thing that will work. People have to feel comfortable with the police. The police have to know these people. In many places you have vampires(badmen who only come out at nights) and only the people can tell you. The people have to know when new people move in or out. The people need to feel a part of the solution. This must be supported by force when needed but the foot police and detective have to do the ground work and work with the people.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Sass, this is not Law & Order or CSI or some tv show where murders and other crimes are solved in one hour. That will never work in today's Jamaica.Force vs force....one must budge and it shouldn't be the police.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
We differ. The problem with Jamaica is force without intelligence work. Nuff of the time the police have no idea who they are looking for or where to find them.
Notice any community where there is a active police youth club, there is a lot less violence. They youths work with the police and the police work back with them and it a lot easier. It may not work in every community at first but it can work in most.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Lazie View PostI think I'm being misunderstood. A guy shoot at the police of course he should be taken out if there is no other option. The police resorting to killing should be last resort.
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostYuh a lose mi here now. If someone is shooting at the police the ONLY option is to kill him."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Me View PostLazie, is some slow motion matrix shootout you a talk bout. When gunshot a beat it nuh really work like in the movies. LOL"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Me View PostWhen gunman a fire shot pon rapid inna the States, him end up dead."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostI find it hard to believe that there was a shootout with police resulting in the death of the men. Bullet holes were everywhere in the room, unless the men were just firing wildly in the small room long before the police came.
However - - is instructive.
Not saying they were innocent and I'm not saying they were gunmen, but police murdering people is not the way. I can't stress that enough."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Lazie View PostNo bossman! Yuh sounding like KArl now. If I should come and visit you and your family and I decide to shoot at the police, do they have a right to unload on the structure as you just indicated? Duh better than that!
I'll tell you this if three men are going down the road together and one fires a shot at at cop...
I would agree with the police returning fire. If they are together...one group...it is likely that all three will get hurt as the police return fire.
There is no way on God's good Earth can any blame be attached to the police. The relatives of the other two must put the blame where it lies, on the one who shot at the police. He made of himself, BUD...and so he did of his companions!
You guys act in a manner totally out of sorts with how you would act if you were the cops. No way would you allow yourself to be notches on the gunman's belt i.e. refusing to protect your lives until you went up to the party and inquired politely if the two who did not shoot at you were disavowing themselves of the actions of the one."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."