Hell breaks loose in West Kingston

What is your view on this version of the event...

I find it hard to believe that there was a shootout with police resulting in the death of the men. Bullet holes were everywhere in the room, unless the men were just firing wildly in the small room long before the police came.

However - - is instructive.

Not saying they were innocent and I'm not saying they were gunmen, but police murdering people is not the way. I can't stress that enough.
    http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead2.html

Injured cop tells colleagues of his ordeal

Barefooted and still in a state of disbelief, one policeman involved in yesterday's fierce gun battle gave some of his colleagues a first-hand account of the firefight minutes after it ended.

Our reporter was nearby and heard the officer's account.

He said the police tried to get a key to the apartment where an alleged gunman was hiding, but were unsuccessful.

"So wi decide fi lick dung di door."

"(Name withheld) decide fi go in first, and by the time him go in, the bwoy jus' start fire.

"(Name withheld) bawl out seh, 'Oh! Oh! Mi get shot!'" he said, alluding to the officer who was shot in the neck.

Tight fit

With bullets still flying, he said seconds later, another police officer screamed out that he, too, had been hit.

"So mi chuck unda di sink inna di bathroom and di bwoy si mi and start beat it (firing) after mi.

"A mi head di bwoy aim fah, ee nuh, but mi raise mi hand and a dat save mi," he recounted.

"Yuh si because a tight quarters mi inna, wi cyaa get fi fire back ... . Mi haffi jam di door, and ah dat gi mi likkle space fi start buss it back pan di bwoy dem," he said, pointing out that one of the alleged gunmen was wearing a bullet-proof vest.

When the shooting ended, three police officers lay injured, while three civilians were dead.

mosiah, yuh sounding like the criminal's mother... lol... it appears that jamaica police can do nothing right in your eyes... your level of distrust is across the board with the police... you may need to start accompanying them on their missions as an observer...

A jus suh him love talk. If him was on the force him would go blazing like the rest of them.

or for a ganja spliff.LOL

Hey, perhaps this was an actual, legitimate shootout, and if it was, then the police have every right to lay it on THICK!

But, given our history...
            I find it hard to believe that there was a shootout with police resulting in the death of the men.

given the corruption...i.e. cops on the take selling or renting guns and bullt proof vests to criminals....no wonder cops are trigger happy to rhatid!!! to think that every operation could be compromised and gunmen actually laywaiting yuh and den people tun 'round an cuss yuh and everybody was a choirboy...it MUST be ruff to be a cop!

if you lived here and saw the almost daily reports of these sorts of shootouts, your opinion would be no different. dishonest or naive people like Me can gwaan chat!

can you blame me for distrusting the police? do we realise that those very guns used to injure the three cops yesterday COULD HAVE BEEN SOLD TO THEM BY THE VERY POLICE IN HOSPITAL RIGHT NOW!!!

should i go thru the litany of incidents that have made me very distrustful of our police? don't get me started!

it's not easy one bit. i understand what they have to go thru. and what the state has forced them to go thru. but i cannot justify the killing of persons by our police when they have total control of the situation.

i just touched on that "selling to criminals" issue on a post below.

seems a police man tek whey mosiah girl. mosiah, there is no doubt that this was a shootout. u think the three policemen getting shot was a ploy. u think dem shot dem one a nedda fi mek it nuh look bad? and if so, wha u think dem say?, "Officer Brown, shot mi right ya so inna mi neck so dem can think a shootout"? Mo, u need fi gi di JFJ talk a break sometime. u sound like the crazy ass outrageous JFJ whitey woman.

of course someone shot them, even if they had bought the guns from them! and i hope the police were able to fire back!

but i am talking about the room they showed on tv last night. the two are not necessarily connected.

lionpaw, as a man on the ground, you should know that over the last two weeks, the police have been on a hunt for people who they believe have committed certain crimes. you'd hear about someone being killed and within hours or a day or two there is a police operation. in those operations, were any police shot? were their vehicles shot?

not because police were shot in a legitimate shootout should it mean that any response by the police, even two weeks later, is justified!

Well Jamaican police are very nice...

Last week-end I was merging on to the main road from Duncans. The speed limit was 50 km/hr. A cop pulled me over stating he clocked me at 80Km/Hr.

With a big I said ..."well well now officer I will try to be more aware of the speed limits"... (using my Yankee twang of course).

"Mek me se yuh li-sen" he said.

I showed him still maintaining a big...

"Yuh can gwane...but mek sure yu tek time dribe".

"Gee Mr. officerrr thanks-a-lot" I said driving away with a Cheshire Cat grin.

Jamaican police are very nice.

The man is an extremist.

is people like you plough over our children on our roads and run back to the usa to avoid prosecution. please heed the officer's warning and tek time dribe, hl!

No bossman! Yuh sounding like KArl now. If I should come and visit you and your family and I decide to shoot at the police, do they have a right to unload on the structure as you just indicated? Duh better than that!
                              Brethren if thugs use people as human shields and fire at cops, the cops should not return fire? The thugs are the ones who should be held responsible for any injuries as a result of their actions. If you come to visit my house and you suddenly decide to fire at cops, then I can not blame the police for responding appropriately when their lives are at stake.

mosiah, mi nuh naive, mi witness police brutality first hand on too many occasions... still, mi learn fi pick sense outta nonsense... this situation totally make sense... nuff 'security' was inna de area cause it was a birthday celebration... it wasn't just de man dem inna de house dat was armed... a dat me a seh tuh...