Conflict of interest with "Dudus’" counsel

• Conflict of interest with "Dudus’" counsel

The issue of an administrative conflict of interest in the handling of the extradition request for West Kingston strongman Christopher "Dudus" Coke has again arisen, with concerns being aired about his legal counsel's ties to government.
    Attorney-at-law, Ian Wilkinson has asked whose interests are being served by government Senator Tom Tavares Finson, who is also Mr. Coke's lawyer.

"Each person is entitled to the counsel of his choice and Mr. Coke is clearly entitled to have that Senator represent him but is there a conflict? Appearances are very important and there is an apparent conflict on the face of it,' he said.
    "Whom do you represent? Do you protect the individual's interest vis-à-vis that of the state? Do the two conflict and on which road do you travel," asked Mr. Wilkinson while speaking on RJR's weekly news review programme That's a Rap! Sunday afternoon.

Tom Tavares-Finson.Mr. Tavares-Finson refused to comment on the matter when asked by RJR News.

Meanwhile, attorney-at-law, Shirley Ann Eaton who was also a guest on That's a Rap! ", questioned the government's stance given constituency links between Prime Minister Bruce Golding and Mr. Coke.
    As the holder of the West Kingston seat, the Prime Minister is the Member of Parliament for the Tivoli Gardens community where Mr. Coke resides.
    Ms Eaton feels the perception could be that the matter is a personal one for the government.
    "Perceptions are important and how your government and your Prime Minister behave is very important to the people generally. There is a conflict of interest.

"Why is the Prime Minister making these statements? Where is the Minister of Justice, where is the Minister of National Security? Justice must not only be done but it must appear to have been done," Ms Eaton said.
    The Jamaica Labour Party administration continues to stand firm in its decision not to heed the US extradition request for Mr. Coke.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/25789/26/

Dem finally a figure it out ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The issue of an administrative conflict of interest in the handling of the extradition request for West Kingston strongman Christopher "Dudus" Coke has again arisen, with concerns being aired about his legal counsel's ties to government.
      Attorney-at-law, Ian Wilkinson has asked whose interests are being served by government Senator Tom Tavares Finson, who is also Mr. Coke's lawyer.

"Each person is entitled to the counsel of his choice and Mr. Coke is clearly entitled to have that Senator represent him but is there a conflict? Appearances are very important and there is an apparent conflict on the face of it,' he said.
      "Whom do you represent? Do you protect the individual's interest vis-à-vis that of the state? Do the two conflict and on which road do you travel," asked Mr. Wilkinson while speaking on RJR's weekly news review programme That's a Rap! Sunday afternoon.

Tom Tavares-Finson.Mr. Tavares-Finson refused to comment on the matter when asked by RJR News.

Meanwhile, attorney-at-law, Shirley Ann Eaton who was also a guest on That's a Rap! ", questioned the government's stance given constituency links between Prime Minister Bruce Golding and Mr. Coke.
      As the holder of the West Kingston seat, the Prime Minister is the Member of Parliament for the Tivoli Gardens community where Mr. Coke resides.
      Ms Eaton feels the perception could be that the matter is a personal one for the government.
      "Perceptions are important and how your government and your Prime Minister behave is very important to the people generally. There is a conflict of interest.

"Why is the Prime Minister making these statements? Where is the Minister of Justice, where is the Minister of National Security? Justice must not only be done but it must appear to have been done," Ms Eaton said.
      The Jamaica Labour Party administration continues to stand firm in its decision not to heed the US extradition request for Mr. Coke.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/25789/26/
      dat dun figure out lang lang time

Golding and his cohorts are 100% conflicted on the matter and should recuse themselves from its consideration...leff it to the courts.

Only in Jamaica do people not see the obvious nature of this conflict of interest. The joke continues.

Or rather people only see it when convenient!

I see a lot of preaching here (and in the papers) nowadays, by the same people who had nothing to say when the other side did similar.

What the whole thing shows up is that we have a real problem in Jamaica and the entire body politic (and much of the population) is infected. PNP/JLP and no P have deep and close relationship to gunmen and druggists.

I see talk about how the US have dis and dat tech to know bout Dudus. Really? If so, where is the same intelligence on Skengdon, Danhai and the rest of the Labourite and Socialist criminals (civilians, police and politicians). Anyone here dont know seh all a dem a criminal?

I see people simplistically alluding to helping Portia go fit drapes at Jam House. Is that gonna solve our problems? Do we need more clever Samfie politicians running things?

Me, I am rejoicing. I say rejoice and be exceeding glad, as it seems our day or reckoning is fast approaching. One way or another truth is about to be exposed and for ALL!

What yuh saying - Justice, Truth, will be ours at last, Jamaica Land We Love!

To the PNP's credit, they either assisted in the apprehension of the biggest dons in Jamaica or did not appear to interfere in their prosecution. That must be commended. Is it inconceivable that they would have gone after the other shady characters eventually? Yes, I too find that very hard to imagine!

One has to wonder, however, what has happened to Matthews Lane since Zeeks departure? Is there a new don? Has the state begun to address problems/issues in that community?

What is the plan if Dudus should go, regardless of the party in power? (And btw, I don't believe he'll ever go.)

But yuh right, Willi. The connections between many politicians and gunmen are still there. And turning a blind eye is not good enuff!

As for the police, their cleansing is not happening fast enough! And with a lifelong career policeman now in charge, I have no hope that they will become the force we should have serving, protecting and reassuring us.

You come with more lie again to fit your team's cause

where is the lie?

Is how you think the old man never reach prison from before that. Is how Danhai always get let up, not to mention Skeng being protected. They are just bad.

Did you read what I wrote or yuh just shooting off again?

ongle zeeks and andem guh trial..di rest get tek out.....

same ting, nuh true?

Yes, mi read the nonsense that you right as usual with a slant for your friends.

oh, to be as objective (and intelligent) as you!