Barbados Shutting Out Dancehall?

the other day mi hear Steve Harvey play a gospel song and said "people no grining to this one, remember it is a gospel song". You listen some a the new gospel? bibi and Cece and another one name "it is the god in me"?

I don't put dat pass my people. yuh ever see how some a dem go inna church, say dem a go a funeral? what nah show is because dem nuh tun rung yet!

arite den!
      I always wondered about that

Originally posted by Historian View Post
        Come now, Hortical,

When you see nude dancing and live sex in the streets, it is never done to country music or to pop or R&B!
        ..and DANCEHALL is the only type of music that generates this type of behaviour ? have you ever been to carnival in Jamaica ? Trinidad ? Brazil ?

a suh wi luv to denigrate our own.

Originally posted by Twan View Post
            ..and DANCEHALL is the only type of music that generates this type of behaviour ? have you ever been to carnival in Jamaica ? Trinidad ? Brazil ?
            The difference is the people with the right complexion support it so we can work with it.

Your words come back

I don't put dat pass my people. yuh ever see how some a dem go inna church, say dem a go a funeral? what nah show is because dem nuh tun rung yet!
              Below is an answer to your comment above:
              Originally posted by Mosiah
              a suh wi luv to denigrate our own.

don't quite undastan the point you are trying to make.

i'll be the first (or the second, you being first, of course) to say that dancehall has helped to drag us in the gutter. however, i would also acknowledge that other music genres also have their issues with morals and decadence.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                  Below is an answer to your comment above:
                  and what is the point you are trying to make ?

You do realize that the Kartel/Mavado show is taking place in Barbados as scheduled right?

For some the glass is always half empty.

dem cyaan stop good dancehall.

not to say dat kartel/mavado is good dancehall. i like some of their stuff but much of kartel's esp. is garbage. and that whole portmore empire nonsense! please! and as soon as smaddy defect there is always some poor soul to enlist. now we have Gaza Slim! Poor ting!

unnu see how dem shut down him studio a havendale? and dem say how much gunman use to frequent di place. kartel need fi grow up and kool!

dem cyaan stop good dancehall.

not to say dat kartel/mavado is good dancehall. i like some of their stuff but much of kartel's esp. is garbage. and that whole portmore empire nonsense! please! and as soon as smaddy defect there is always some poor soul to enlist. now we have Gaza Slim! Poor ting!

unnu see how dem shut down him studio a havendale? and dem say how much gunman use to frequent di place. kartel need fi grow up and kool!
                          That being said he is prolly making more money than any other time in his career so mi cyaan wrong him.

him know what fi do fi mek up fi di no visa. his weekly show must be doing well!

You don't see di man have di Empire members a tour round di place & collect di farrin money fi him?

true ting. anancy bizniz!