• Politicians, weathly Jamaicans under US watch - thanks Dudus

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...llance_7485113

Tivoli under satellite surveillance
    Americans said to have audio, video recordings of Gov't officials in community

Sunday, March 14, 2010

TIVOLI Gardens, the tough West Kingston base of Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, is under satellite surveillance by United States authorities who are determined to have Coke extradited to answer drug- and gun-running charges in New York, the Sunday Observer has learnt.
    According to a security expert with knowledge of the operation, the US has powerful audio and video evidence of activities involving Coke, as well as several Government officials, including members of the legislature, inside the Tivoli Gardens community centre.

Jamaican police enter Tivoli Gardens during an operation last year.
    var caption4216324 = document.getElementById('photocaption4216324').inn erHTML; var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({ wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow dimensions: [370, 245], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image imagearray: [ ["http://assets.mediaspanonline.com/prod/4216324/Police-in-Tivoli_w370.jpg", "", "", caption4216324 ] ], displaymode: {type:'manual', pause:3000, cycles:0, wraparound:false}, persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session? fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds) descreveal: "always", togglerid: "slideshowtoggler" })

Jamaican police enter Tivoli Gardens during an operation last year.

1/1

With the use of Satellite Internet Telemetry System (SIMS) similar to that used to record wildlife activities, the US has captured the make, colour and licence plates of vehicles entering and exiting Tivoli Gardens at specific periods, as well as conversations, the expert said.
    The SIMS, the expert said, is very simple to operate.
    "Satellite service is available anywhere in the world for the system to operate. The data is transmitted from the Satellite Telemetry System based on programmed time intervals and/or alarms. It is transferred through satellite and Internet to a dedicated web page, and you can monitor and collect that data as long as you have web access," the expert said.
    "It is very simple. Set your co-ordinates, hook up your sensors, point the antenna to the sky, and turn on your equipment," added the expert, who spoke on condition of anonymity.
    "Wire-tapping communication is an insignificant part of the evidence against Coke," said the expert in reference to Prime Minister Bruce Golding's claim that the evidence supporting the extradition request violated the Interception of Communications Act which makes strict provisions for the manner in which intercepted communications may be obtained and disclosed.
    Also captured, the expert said, was a gathering of some Government officials, along with individuals from the Tivoli Gardens community making and smoking what appeared to be marijuana spliffs at the centre, on different occasions.
    "The United States is making sure that its case against Coke is airtight, and until he is extradited every Jamaican entering the US will be targeted. The US will not relent on this one," said the expert who met with the Sunday Observer on Friday night.
    Relations between Kingston and Washington have deteriorated over the extradition request, with the US State Department accusing the Jamaican Government of delaying tactics.
    Two Mondays ago, in a scathing Narcotics Control Strategy Report, the Americans questioned Jamaica's commitment to law enforcement co-operation and charged that "Jamaica's processing of the extradition request has been subjected to unprecedented delays, unexplained disclosure of law enforcement information to the press, and unfounded allegations questioning the US' compliance with the Mutual Legal Assistance Treaty and Jamaican law".
    The US also said that the Jamaican Government's handling of the extradition request marked a dramatic change in Kingston's previous co-operation on extradition, including a temporary suspension in the processing of all other pending requests.
    The US also labelled Jamaica as the Caribbean's largest supplier of marijuana to the United States as well as a transshipment point for cocaine entering South America.
    "The Government of Jamaica's ambitious anti-corruption and anti-crime legislative agendas announced in 2007 remain stalled in Parliament," said the report.
    "Five anti-crime proposals under consideration as part of an extensive agenda to address the widespread crime challenges have yet to be debated by Parliament," added Washington, which noted that Jamaica is a party to the 1988 United Nations Drug Convention.
    However, the following day, Golding rejected the US' charges and said that the evidence presented in the extradition request -- made in August last year -- breached Jamaican law.
    "The Jamaican Government, rather than summarily refusing the request, discussed with the US authorities the breaches that had occurred which made it impossible for the minister (of justice), being aware of such breaches, to issue the authority to proceed," Golding said in an address to the Parliament.
    "In an effort to overcome the impediment... the Jamaican Government indicated to the US authorities that if other evidence existed, the procurement and disclosure of which were not in violation of Jamaican law, the minister would be prepared to accept that evidence and issue the necessary authority to proceed. No such evidence has up to now been presented," he added.
    On Friday, the security expert said that American border officials are turning up the heat on Jamaicans who have massive personal wealth but who have no supporting documentation to show how the wealth was gained.
    A list viewed by the Sunday Observer includes some of Jamaica's well-known officials, as well as business people of both genders. They are described as having "massive personal wealth", which is said to have raised red flags at US borders.
    The spotlight on these individuals has not come as a surprise to University of Miami Law Professor David Rowe, who remained consistent in his view that Coke is an albatross around the neck of the prime minister, the Jamaica Labour Party and the Government.
    "There is no question that they are being targeted," Rowe said. "Where the individuals have amassed wealth in a short period of time and without any corresponding income to corroborate it is an automatic red flag to the US Justice Department."
    Rowe as well as Sunday Observer sources in the US believe that embarrassing times are ahead for several Jamaican business officials at US borders, even if the Government hands over Coke.
    Information reaching the Sunday Observer is that several Jamaicans who have amassed large personal wealth but who are unable to provide credible sources of income are currently in detention centres in the US.
    Massive unexplained wealth is said to have been the reason behind an upstanding Jamaican businessman being detained in the US for several hours on a return trip to the island in early January.
    It is also said to be the reason for the detention without bond -- at Krome Avenue Detention Centre in Florida -- of a Jamaican man of Chinese descent.
    The man and another Jamaican/Chinese are said to have arrived in the US on March 2 on an Air Jamaica flight.
    The man, whose Alien card number was supplied to the Sunday Observer, was said to have had his Green Card revoked. He did not respond to our request for an interview last Thursday.
    Late last week, the influential Economist magazine reported that American authorities have become frustrated at what they see as foot-dragging by Jamaica's Government over the Coke extradition request.
    The article, titled 'Seeking Mr Coke: American anger at Jamaica's slowness in handing over an alleged gang boss', said "if the United States' allegations of political links are well-founded, some Jamaican public figures may fear that Mr Coke's arrest would lead to the disclosure of embarrassing information".

Originally posted by Time View Post
    [URL]
    With the use of Satellite Internet Telemetry System (SIMS) similar to that used to record wildlife activities, the US has captured the make, colour and licence plates of vehicles entering and exiting Tivoli Gardens at specific periods, as well as conversations, the expert said.

Mi deh pon video!

Your soul for a US visa
      Mark Wignall

Sunday, March 14, 2010

In the early to mid-1970s when Jamaica's ganja exports were nearing peak if not at the highest level, I had a friend who was a frequent visitor to a yacht moored in Kingston Harbour that was owned by an American connected to the US Embassy in Kingston.
      My friend was a 'hustler'. He would buy an old car for $300, spend $350 in a garage to get it in working order, then sell it a month later for $1,500. The complaints that came after from buyers were seen by him as mere impediments on his way to success. Uneducated but highly intelligent in utilising what life presented to him -- 'the edge' -- for his survival, he connected with those who he believed could best assist that overall purpose.

Opinion polls of pre-recession times indicate that in excess of 75 per cent of Jamaicans would 'sell their soul' for an American visa.
      var caption4216918 = document.getElementById('photocaption4216918').inn erHTML; var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({ wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow dimensions: [370, 245], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image imagearray: [ ["http://assets.mediaspanonline.com/prod/4216918/us-visa_w370.jpg", "", "", caption4216918 ] ], displaymode: {type:'manual', pause:3000, cycles:0, wraparound:false}, persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session? fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds) descreveal: "always", togglerid: "slideshowtoggler" })

Opinion polls of pre-recession times indicate that in excess of 75 per cent of Jamaicans would 'sell their soul' for an American visa.

1/1

At that time, a 10-cu ft, no-frost refrigerator was sold for a whopping $250, gas was sold for under $2 per gallon, and most of my friends who had good jobs were paid between J$250 and J$350 per month. A mid-priced house in Havendale with land space for another four such houses was under $30,000; a domestic helper earned, on average, anywhere between $10 and $15 per week; a supply of $40 worth of food and groceries could feed a family of three for two weeks; and ganja locally prepared for export would surreptitiously leave our shores at $35 per pound.
      My friend had four other friends who were, like him, in their 30s. One owned a furniture store, the other an ice cream parlour, and one provided legal services for him, at minimal cost. He was a lawyer and along with the fourth, a semi-literate 'businessman', but all were 'small fries' in the illicit export of ganja to the US. In addition, my friend 'sold' US visas, and it was my assumption that he did so through a dirty contact at the US embassy.
      My friend did not survive the 1970s, neither did the furniture store owner, the ice cream parlour owner nor the lawyer. All met violent deaths as a result of their increased involvement in the illicit drug trade and their greed. Not surprisingly, the only survivor is the semi-literate one who is now a born-again Christian and an owner of significant parcels of real estate in Jamaica and Florida.
      In the 1970s the going rate for a US visa was anywhere between $3,000 and $5,000, depending on one's needs/ability to pay. There were social horror stories related to attempts to secure a US visa through the established channels. It was said that applicants had to be in line outside the embassy (Duke Street, Cross Roads) from as early as 4:00 am, and because there was no guarantee that one would be seen that day, it created the need for the professional 'line holder' -- someone who would keep the space for you, for a fee.
      Essentially, one had to prove to the US authorities that if one visited their country for a month, one would not disappear into the American woodwork anywhere along the eastern seaboard from Miami to Plymouth Rock.
      Some Jamaicans would falsify bank statements by having moneyed friends or relatives make sudden transfers to their accounts. All efforts were made to convince the consular officer that the applicant had sufficient ties to Jamaica (job, savings, home ownership, dependents, etc) to not run off.
      When that failed, the 'visa man' was always available.
      Opinion polls of pre-recession times indicate that in excess of 75 per cent of Jamaicans would 'sell their soul' for an American visa. "Mi jus waan dem gimme a one-day visa an mi gone," said an unemployed labourer to me one day last week.
      "Don't you know that times are hard there and people are complaining that foreigners have taken away jobs?" I said to him.
      "Dem nah clean toilet. Mi wi do it," he said. One of his younger friends, in his early 20s who is also unemployed, laughed and said, "Him jus waan guh deh because him waan hit di streets and push drugs."
      After about five minutes had elapsed, with minimal contribution from me, they both agreed that whether a poor and uneducated person decided to go legal or sell illicit drugs on the street, it would be better to do so on the streets of Brooklyn than Kingston and starve.
      I have no statistics on the number of Jamaicans, as a percentage of those granted visitor's visas, who eventually meld into the American socio-economic network for protracted periods. I would imagine that to some poor Jamaicans, the cost of finding the return-ticket fare after a visa has been granted is a little too much to bear. Something else has to come with that plane fare and too often that extra serving is an AWOL in the system.
      Some love to hate America
      In my teens I read in a publication (the title escapes me now) that in the old, money-rich, genteel upper St Andrew society of the 1950s when the skin colour of choice was white, at recreational gatherings - which they imagined was avant-garde in their social outlook - it was, at times, considered necessary to invite a man - a Rastafarian - to such gatherings where they would listen to him lash out on 'the evils of the white man', 'the stolen history of the black race' and the 'day of reckoning' when 'heads would roll and blood would flow'.
      In terms of pan-African sentiments in Jamaica, Rastafari has been ahead of the curve of the remainder of the population who represent the vast majority of the black-skinned population. But where there were some white-skinned Jamaicans of the 1950s who saw the stark and embarrassing social imbalance, it is my view that there were not many who wanted to fast-forward to a time of social change.
      When a Rasta showed up at such a gathering, he was being openly caricatured by his hosts (who would pay him), but one would imagine that a good deal of Jamaican Anancy-ism was in him as he indulged in what he deeply believed in and got paid for doing so. Uptown, separatist Jamaica referred to him as a 'pet Rasta'.
      In a not quite so similar manner there were many liberal institutions in the USA in the 1960s and 1970s that would invite Third World scholars/socialist leaders to flay America while getting paid to do so. The more strident the criticisms, the bigger the next cheque. It is obvious that in a post-9/11 USA those sentiments have been significantly relaxed, and now America is getting a bit tired of those with tiresome political philosophies and nothing in their pockets telling it what a crock it has been - and getting paid for the buffoonery.
      Colleague columnist Rev Mervin Stoddart is a fearless critic of what he calls 'Euro-American' dehumanisation of black countries. In last Wednesday's column, he ended with, "Wake up, Jamaicans, and guard your God-given human rights and privileges. The imperialists and their henchmen are powerful and deadly, but true servants of Yahweh, guided by Yeshua Messiah, cannot fear them. The religiosity of Jamaicans should not make them docile but fire in them the prophetic spirit historically found in Manley, Marley, Marcus, Martin, Malcolm, Mandela, and Messiah Himself, among others. Are there any courageous humans left among us?"
      I would never for one minute mistake Stoddart for a 'pet Rasta' of the 1950s because one doesn't get the impression that he aches, deeply, to repatriate to the 'Motherland'. Apart from not knowing that God was partial to names beginning with 'M', I had no idea that Stoddart, a scholar/clergyman, could spend so many years studying the Jamaican people and find so much fault in big government, imperialism and leaders 'actually executing their demonic plan of destroying and controlling humanity' without, at the very least apportioning some of the blame to the people who continue to endorse such a system: us the voters.
      I have many friends and a few relatives living in the USA, legally that is, and I have two US visas. One is an R type B1/B2 expiring in 2011 and the other is an R Type 1 expiring in 2013. Most Jamaicans I know living in America would return home if Jamaica had even half of the economic prospects America offered them in its heyday and if Jamaica's violent crime problem were to be suddenly reduced by, say, 80 per cent.
      Some years ago I knew a young woman who had seriously fallen off her economic pedestal. She was left with a young child and no support. Next door to her lived a young couple, friends of mine, who had three children and were themselves struggling to make ends meet.
      Knowing of the young woman's plight, my friends would religiously invite her for dinner until she became a fixture at the dining table. Many times all my friends could afford was Grace Mackerel, fondly known as 'dutty gal', a permanent protein fixture in my kitchen cabinet today.
      Years later when the young woman's fortunes changed and she no longer needed to head next door, she was overheard saying to other people, "All dem eat ova dey so (my friends) every day a dutty gal." Talk about biting the hand that once fed you.
      It is not my understanding that Jamaicans should suddenly become afraid to criticise America, but I must confess I have a problem with people eating out of my pot and telling me that there is not enough meat in the stew. Next time carry your own meat to the table.
      If one hates America, one has a duty to represent the other side which would show why one is domiciled in America. Certainly, it must be like a marriage where the wife loves the fact that her husband is able to fund the household but hates the smell of rum on his breath every evening he comes home and wants to kiss her.

What gives a state its legitimacy?
      In a democracy it is the effectiveness of the security forces and the military which allows a state to police the legitimacy given it by an unwritten agreement.
      If tomorrow morning Opposition leader Portia Simpson Miller should decide to report for work at Jamaica House at the same time as all her ministers in the pre-September 2007 Cabinet are reporting for work at the various ministries, what would the JLP government do? For the PNP to be serious it would need to have the support of the army officers, the army, the commissioner of police and the police force itself.
      In other words, Portia would need beside her the head of the JDF and the police commissioner, as well as their prior assent. If Golding refused to budge, he would be removed to a 'secure facility' as would other senior Cabinet members. And, of course, after that, it is the army and the police that would be the real bosses.
      It's a far-fetched scenario but there is an unwritten code among our people at all levels that once the transfer of a governmental administration takes place, the legitimacy of the changing of the guard must also come with a philosophical concession by the losers and a similar mental shift of 'taking up the mantle of leadership' by the winners.
      Jamaica has many mini-states where so-called dons operate in a parallel universe to the legally constituted government. Apart from the ceremonial gatherings and swearing-in, instruments of office (fancy words on fancy paper) and the playing of the national anthem, over the last 30 years the mini-state has been modelled off the legitimate state and, more importantly, in many instances the mini-state is more effective.
      To a poor, powerless man, the only thing more important to him than securing and holding a job which gives a livable wage - and the possession of a US visa - is his need for justice, because we are a very contentious people.
      If I should park my car on Darling Street, or anywhere downtown for that matter, and it is stolen or broken into, I am positive that I will have my vehicle or the contents returned within 48 hours if I should seek the assistance of those running the mini-state. Go to the police and I can kiss my car goodbye.
      Why is this so? The answer is simple. In the years when those in government opted to take the easiest route to maintaining the power they had - that is, rush in at election time with goodies then disappear for the next five years while leaving the actual running of many inner-city communities to dons - the leaders (dons) of the mini-state were seeing the real problems because they were always very close to the people.
      The state-within-a-state saw that it needed a base of regular funding - called taxation in the legitimate state. Extortion was the way. It needed to maintain a workable justice system, so it simply borrowed from grinding poverty and the police what it knew worked well in inner-city communities: Brutality. Enter its justice system.
      But like the legitimate state it needed to police its authority. With the power connections to deal in the drug trade, many of the mini-states earned the huge sums needed to recruit and maintain various armies of 'soldiers', arms and regular supplies of ammunition.
      Next came the lines of authority in the leadership structure and, most important of all, the infiltration of the mini-state inside the legitimate state. Jamaica is there now and the lines between both states are dangerously blurred, especially where the legitimate state has failed on basic deliverables to those most at risk and those who are most impatient and angry.
      Top-class Jamaican products and the commoner
      It certainly has not created for me a lifetime's affliction to admit that I am a commoner. The first time I had beluga caviar was in 1976. Since that time I have been able to convince myself that I am more comfortable with Grace mackerel on fluffy white rice than tasteless, little gelatinous, brownish balls heaped on a small cracker.
      In the early 1970s I had escargot at The Mill restaurant, then a most upscale Manor Park eatery. No more snails for me. Chupski loves sushi and tends to always order it whenever we are out dining fancy. Whenever she chides me while I am halfway through my oxtail meal, I simply say, "I do not eat raw fish", because cooking it is what those on the sidewalk of society do.
      Long before the Observer presented awards to Homestyle for their frozen dinners, I wrote about them. Excellent! Just steep in boiling water for 15 minutes and voila! I dare any well-known restaurant to cook a more tasty curry goat than the Homestyle brand. I must, however, confess that the recession has for me cut down even moderate consumption of this product.
      One of the best compliments paid to my writings in this newspaper was by an Observer newsroom staff. We were in a bar off Red Hills Road. "Mark, you are to the Observer what Grace mackerel is to GraceKennedy." I thought about it for a while and was then convinced that he had perfectly captured the essence of me the commoner. I was the Observer's 'dutty gal'.
      I confess, however, to hating instant coffee, the first and last refuge of the commoner. I have been inside many corporate offices and most of them serve up instant coffee. So totally void of class. My choice is Blue Mountain coffee roasted beans, ground in a Magic Bullet then percolated. After that the commoner chips in as I add condensed milk and a 'touch' of salt to it. Said Novia McDonald Whyte to me years ago, in her clipped British accent, "Maaak, no, no, no, no! One doesn't use condensed milk there... oh dear, there is no hope for you. Can't say I didn't try."
      The other Jamaican product which I consider excellent is Tru-Juice, especially its orange juice. I have been to many fancy hotels and restaurants but I have yet to taste orange juice as good and fresh as Tru-Juice orange juice. Still, there is nothing better than the freshly squeezed fruit in the morning.
      Although I am not a regular consumer of energy drinks, the face of Red Bull in the market is unmistakable. Over the last few months, however, in many bars, a Wisynco-produced drink called Boom has been making significant strides. I haven't asked the principals how they have done it, but having pretty much the same ingredients as other energy drinks, Wisynco has been able to significantly increase the serving size over Red Bull while selling for nearly $100 less. A marketing coup!
      At one period in my first marriage I would purchase Grace mackerel, a case at a time, because it served the dual purpose of feeding me and the dogs. Once when I added one tin to the 'tun cornmeal' mix, the dogs went crazy over it.
      At that time, I was still the only one on two legs in the household who ate 'dutty gal'. The proviso issued by my wife to the children while they were rummaging in the kitchen cupboard was, "Leave the Grace mackerel alone. It is Daddy's and the dogs' food."
      I have known my place since that time.
      observermark@gmail.com

.social {overflow:hidden;height:26px;float:left;margin:0;p adding:0 0 0 8px;border:1px solid #bbb;background:url(http://www.geek.com/wp-content/theme...gn/fade-bg.gif) repeat-x;list-style:none;line-height:26px;font-size:11px;font-weight:bold;-webkit-border-radius:2px;-moz-border-radius:2px;}.social li {float:left;}.social li a {display:block;padding:0 9px;border-left:1px solid #bbb;}.social li.delicious a,.social li.digg a,.social li.reddit a,.social li.stumble a,.social li.twitter a,.social li.facebook a {padding-left:25px;border-left:none;background:url(http://www.geek.com/wp-content/theme.../delicious.gif) no-repeat 5px 50%;}.social li.delicious a {background-image:url(http://www.geek.com/wp-content/themes/geek6/images/share-this/delicious.gif);}.social li.digg a {background-image:url(http://www.geek.com/wp-content/themes/geek6/images/share-this/digg.gif);}.social li.reddit a {background-image:url(http://www.geek.com/wp-content/themes/geek6/images/share-this/reddit.gif);}.social li.facebook a {background-image:url(http://www.geek.com/wp-content/themes/geek6/images/share-this/facebook-icon.gif);}.social li.stumble a {background-image:url(http://www.geek.com/wp-content/themes/geek6/images/share-this/stumbleupon.gif);}.social li.twitter a {background-image:url(http://www.geek.com/wp-content/themes/geek6/images/share-this/twitter.GIF);}

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Prediction, Action and Outcome
        JAMES MOSS-SOLOMON

Sunday, March 14, 2010

My friend, the great economist Ralston Hyman, usually starts his commentaries by quoting noted international economists who have given thought to particular macro-economic problems. I, being far less sophisticated than Ralston, will therefore have to rely on my practical nature to endorse for the country of Jamaica P X A = O. Where P is prediction, A is for action and O is for outcome. Readers, please note that it is a multiplication sign between P and A, therefore, if one of the multipliers is zero then the outcome will also be zero.
        For over two years, this writer has been making predictions (P), which I feel need to be acted on with alacrity. I get the feeling that action (A) is not one of our strong points in the political or productive sectors, and therefore it is no surprise that we are going to have to be governed by the IMF. So much for our vaunted "sovereignty". With that said, I wish to examine 10 issues:

The turbulent economic climate has led to a fallout in the bauxite industry.
        var caption4216346 = document.getElementById('photocaption4216346').inn erHTML; var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({ wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow dimensions: [370, 245], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image imagearray: [ ["http://assets.mediaspanonline.com/prod/4216346/Bauxite_w370.jpg", "", "", caption4216346 ] ], displaymode: {type:'manual', pause:3000, cycles:0, wraparound:false}, persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session? fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds) descreveal: "always", togglerid: "slideshowtoggler" })

The turbulent economic climate has led to a fallout in the bauxite industry.

1/1

1. Economic Depression

I had indicated to the public that what we were going to experience was not a mere "financial blip", but rather a full worldwide depression similar to that experienced between 1929 and 1938. We, of course, laughed at that prediction and tried to cover up the possibilities of disaster. The massive unemployment and deterioration in living conditions is a result of a lack of action, and therefore we have no positive outcome.
        2. Closure of Bauxite Companies
        I had predicted that due to the depressed nature of world markets we would see a closure of bauxite companies. This was treated as if it was some safely guarded secret, and no one spoke about it until reality has given us a zero outcome and severe loss in foreign exchange earnings.
        3. Engineers and Machinery

I had suggested that several engineers would be out of work as a result of the fallout of the bauxite industry. In addition, many pieces of earth-moving and construction equipment would become available, and perhaps the rental rates would be less than customary as heavy equipment which is left unused often deteriorates at a faster rate than when in use.
        4. Infrastructure Employment

The suggestion was made that said engineers and equipment could have been used for major infrastructure undertakings such as the construction of roads, as well as projects involving the storage of additional amounts of water and the replacement of leaking pipes, which would lower the line losses experienced by the National Water Commission. This suggestion was also disregarded. We have wasted one year in commencing operations, leaving many persons with skills without jobs.
        5. Gabion Baskets

It was suggested that we engage persons with low skill levels in the production of Gabion baskets, which would be necessary for road repairs, hillside retention, river training, and sea defence. This was ignored. Today, the unskilled sit by the sidewalk, smoking 'you know what', and by not earning a penny sink deeper into depression while contemplating a life of crime as a survival strategy. The Government has lost revenue as well as consumption in the domestic market, and the poor are getting poorer. We currently import Gabion baskets from China. The outcome is negative.
        6. Bank Closure and Unemployment

At lower interest rates, many banks that had over-expanded, I had indicated, would have to close several of their branches. The positive to this is that banks will now have to earn their money through good banking practices, but at the same time they will have made a significant number of people unemployed. Unfortunately this will continue for several months.
        7. China's Mineral Policy

I had carefully explained the items and actions highlighted in China's strategic plan as published as part of their development programme. I indicated that their need for aluminium would allow them, as one of the few countries with cash, to buy mining resources worldwide. This is true for Jamaica and it is only a matter of time before we hear who will buy our bauxite companies. It seems we are about to sell an asset that is extremely valuable not due to our own initiative, but because of geographical location. Jamaica is in the best position for providing north/south and east/west container traffic. So let us see how cheaply we can give away this natural resource. I can almost guarantee that if we do sell them, within three years there will be no Jamaicans working at these facilities. Start studying Mandarin and Spanish, please.
        8. Caricom Rules

At the time of some trade disputes, I had advised that the unilateral lowering of the Common External Tariff would be in contravention of the Revised Treaty, and businesses would be protected through the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ). To date awards have been made against countries that insist on ignoring the rules. So here we are again today with another dispute over cement importation, which appears not to have been handled in accordance with the correct procedures for obtaining derogation. Waivers continue to be a very topical matter, and each time they are issued they seem to smack of political favouritism. So the government willingly or perhaps inadvertently continues to set itself up to be accused of corruption, which is certainly shared by the IMF based on their stance against waivers.
        9. Transparency

The suggestion was made that to take a path other than the purely transparent route would be to intentionally ask that accusations of impropriety be levelled against government officials. The Contractor General's department now seems to have their hands full with investigations into areas which could have been avoided if a more open communication policy was adopted. Perhaps the Contractor General's department will have to beef itself up with the redundant employees from bauxite and Air Jamaica.
        10. The Rule of Law

I have said very publicly and clearly since 1996 that if politicians choose to remain in the company of criminals and/or criminal gangs, then they would be unable to effectively govern this country. That day is here and both political parties are not blameless, and must realise that they have lost control. I can see where a simple situation as the protests by the Nurses Association of Jamaica about pay owed to them can tip a snowball down this slippery slope, and gather tremendous momentum, perhaps leading to a general strike as has been the case in other countries.
        My prediction (P) is that any helpful comments will continue to be ignored, no effective action (A) will be taken, and therefore the outcome (O) will still be zero.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The US already knows the answer to the questions asked and not yet asked.It's obvious these grand chessmaster fellows and their followers got a little ahead of themselves. Unless the PM wants Jamaica to find out just how low Jamaican politics has sunk to he had better do what the Americans did in Vietnam: Declare victory and promptly retreat. Try saying something like I was only trying to make a point" or something to that effect. The big joke is that some actually swallowed that chessmaster spin/drivel. Driva might be subject to a recall like Toyota. LOL. Meanwhile Mosiah is a good thing you no longer driving the escalade you would have some "splainin" to do.

Grandmaster have Babyon working fi him..

lol !

"Fetch boy Fetch.. don't come back till yuh have something that can stick !

When mi fiyah shot man haffi dead !"

There shall be only One Don ! This ain't a Republic.. yet...

I enjoyed this!

"Babylon ah listen from near and far"

Sizzla

Grandmaster have Babyon working fi him..

lol !

"Fetch boy Fetch.. don't come back till yuh have something that can stick !

When mi fiyah shot man haffi dead !"

There shall be only One Don ! This ain't a Republic.. yet...

Your ability to stay on message is admirable. Continue to Wag the dog. By the way did you become enormously wealthy since 2007? watch it you nuh.

Tribalist , dem man deh , the nation is 2nd in thier priorities , well 3rd behind the next agenda.

Mek mi check out di Chinese Visa requirements again.. mi nevah si nutting bout bank account too large...

Dem ting deh lega ova deh so , yuh safe.

Chubble set like rain, fiyah deh rat muss tail........................

Is wheh duh Jawge ?

Yuh can compare Manley blundah to dis ?

lol ! Clutching at straws.. what happen ? Di Somalia prediction nah work out ?

The sad part is that they know what the Grandmaster is about do before he himself does it. You may need to redefine grandmaster of chess here.

Yuh sure ah nuh Ludo yuh ah talk bout boss?