• The Extradition Process: The Final Word

The Extradition Process: The Final Word

I was listening to an interview this morning on TVJ’s morning program. The guests were David Coore, who needs no introduction, and Arlene Harrison-Henry, Chairperson for the Independent Commission of Human Rights. This is what they said about extradition procedure in Jamaica.

The application to extradite an individual is made to the foreign ministry who then passes it on to the Ministry of Justice. The MOJ examines the application to ensure that the material satisfies the provisions of the extradition treaty. That is, the minister makes sure that the accused has been correctly identified, that the right documents have been filed, if the offence is one that is proper for trial, that the evidence justifies person being extradited. Basically, the minister ensures that the person is justifiably being extradited, that the treaty is satisfied.

It is not the responsibility of the minister to evaluate the quality or weight of the evidence. This ensures that role of the minister remains separate and distinct from that of the courts.

The wanted person is given an opportunity to go voluntarily or take the matter to the Supreme Court. The accused may appeal to the Court of Appeal if he is not satisfied with the ruling of the lower court. He does not, however, have the right of appeal to the Privy Council.

Also, in Jamaican courts, evidence illegally obtained is admissible in court. The judge will make the ruling if such evidence should be considered or not. For instance, if someone is beaten and admits to a crime, the judge may choose to disallow such evidence. It is the judge’s right to determine the admission of such illegally obtained evidence. It was stressed that the general rule in Jamaica is such evidence is admitted as long as it is relevant. If the probity of such evidence is great, and may assist in establishing the veracity of the case, then it can be allowed.

And finally, the Minister of Justice, after this entire process is exhausted, does retain residual power to squash the actual extradition of the individual for reasons of colour discrimination, political reasons, etc.

The two guests agreed that the Coke matter should have been placed in the hands of our courts, and not be killed at the steps of 20 Belmont Road. (The latter part of that sentence is my words.)

Of course, I do not expect this post to put an end to the debate of whether or not Bruce did the right thing last Tuesday in parliament when he flatly refused the extradition of Christopher Coke because he believes the evidence was illegally obtained. But it should make some of us, who are not so tribally connected, to re-examine our position on the matter, and to see if the USA indeed needs to come karrect.

Why de ell do u even bother. This is an embarrassment all around. You no sees ome people cant even touch pan it with a straight face. We know the score. The problem was there was no certainty as to how the courts would rule. Period.

Thanks, good information.

So basically the situation right now is that he will not be extradited unless the US comes again with more evidence, correct?

Well, we can only hope that the forumite who said that Bruce just wants to show TG that he tried, is correct and that he will be sent on his way second time around.

thanks for that post Mo. Good to read about the process

Thanks, good information.

So basically the situation right now is that he will not be extradited unless the US comes again with more evidence, correct?

Well, we can only hope that the forumite who said that Bruce just wants to show TG that he tried, is correct and that he will be sent on his way second time around.
          Unless the USA comes with the CORRECT evidence. Just simply more evidence will not cut it for Bruce. Indeed, one has to wonder if there is any kind of evidence that would be good enough for Bruce.

I am happy to know that illegally obtained evidence is admissible. For me, I want the truth, regardless of how it was obtained. An admission beaten out of someone is not truth, but if someone is videotaped committing a crime, I couldn't care less if there is some law against secretive recordings, if it establishes otherwise that someone is guilty of something.

Likewise, this idea that the testimony of a criminal should not be considered is nonsense. If we stuck to that piece of crap, Bungles would not have been convicted since the star witness was a deportee. We all have told lies at some point in our lives. Does that mean we can never be a witness in court?

I am happy to know that illegally obtained evidence is admissible. For me, I want the truth, regardless of how it was obtained. An admission beaten out of someone is not truth, but if someone is videotaped committing a crime, I couldn't care less if there is some law against secretive recordings, if it establishes otherwise that someone is guilty of something.

Likewise, this idea that the testimony of a criminal should not be considered is nonsense. If we stuck to that piece of crap, Bungles would not have been convicted since the star witness was a deportee. We all have told lies at some point in our lives. Does that mean we can never be a witness in court?
              You on a slippery slope here bredda. What if you are being illegally surveilled and you haven't committed a crime? You are in essence giving clandestine bodies carte blanche to step on people.

I know. I mean generally I do not have a problem with it. But I will leave it to the courts to decide. Yes, the same courts I have little respect for!

I want the truth, regardless of how it was obtained. An admission beaten out of someone is not truth, but if someone is videotaped committing a crime, I couldn't care less if there is some law against secretive recordings,

you need to decide. An admission beaten out of someone can be the truth so evidently you do care how it is obtained!

Put a postage stamp on that thug and send him on his way to America.

within reason.

but how can anyone be convinced that a beating or torture will bring forth the truth? yes, it could be truth, but because of the way it was obtained, i cannot be sure it is!

anyway, i'm not saying that anything goes.

The Extradition Process: The Final Word

I was listening to an interview this morning on TVJ’s morning program. The guests were David Coore, who needs no introduction, and Arlene Harrison-Henry, Chairperson for the Independent Commission of Human Rights. This is what they said about extradition procedure in Jamaica.

The application to extradite an individual is made to the foreign ministry who then passes it on to the Ministry of Justice. The MOJ examines the application to ensure that the material satisfies the provisions of the extradition treaty. That is, the minister makes sure that the accused has been correctly identified, that the right documents have been filed, if the offence is one that is proper for trial, that the evidence justifies person being extradited. Basically, the minister ensures that the person is justifiably being extradited, that the treaty is satisfied.

It is not the responsibility of the minister to evaluate the quality or weight of the evidence. This ensures that role of the minister remains separate and distinct from that of the courts.

The wanted person is given an opportunity to go voluntarily or take the matter to the Supreme Court. The accused may appeal to the Court of Appeal if he is not satisfied with the ruling of the lower court. He does not, however, have the right of appeal to the Privy Council.

Also, in Jamaican courts, evidence illegally obtained is admissible in court. The judge will make the ruling if such evidence should be considered or not. For instance, if someone is beaten and admits to a crime, the judge may choose to disallow such evidence. It is the judge’s right to determine the admission of such illegally obtained evidence. It was stressed that the general rule in Jamaica is such evidence is admitted as long as it is relevant. If the probity of such evidence is great, and may assist in establishing the veracity of the case, then it can be allowed.

And finally, the Minister of Justice, after this entire process is exhausted, does retain residual power to squash the actual extradition of the individual for reasons of colour discrimination, political reasons, etc.

The two guests agreed that the Coke matter should have been placed in the hands of our courts, and not be killed at the steps of 20 Belmont Road. (The latter part of that sentence is my words.)

Of course, I do not expect this post to put an end to the debate of whether or not Bruce did the right thing last Tuesday in parliament when he flatly refused the extradition of Christopher Coke because he believes the evidence was illegally obtained. But it should make some of us, who are not so tribally connected, to re-examine our position on the matter, and to see if the USA indeed needs to come karrect.
                        That should put to rest the legal sophistry of the GOJ.

Memba seh Bruce inherit Tivarli..

Maybe you should wonder if he wants it to be his own.. from the ground up...

Him have an opportunity now...

Gwaan tek Bruce light.

Heh, heh.

Biggah game a play dan yuh.

Big Man tings a gwaan.. just watch and learn...

Ah nuh 'match cyard' game dis..

LOL !

Heh, heh.

Biggah game a play dan yuh.

Big Man tings a gwaan.. just watch and learn...

Ah nuh 'match cyard' game dis..

LOL !
                              LoL! what a hero worship!

Yeah big game ah play...boxing match.... is wha Drivah did get from Presi?

Right cross ar Uppacut?