• House descends into 'tracing match'

House descends into 'tracing match'

Published: Thursday | March 4, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

North Central St Andrew Member of Parliament (MP) Karl Samuda shows off a United States visa in his passport just before the start of Tuesday's parliamentary sitting at Gordon House. Samuda was, however, told by Central Westmoreland MP Roger Clarke that merely displaying one's visa did not verify its validity. Clarke quipped that Samuda would only know if his visa has been revoked when he gets to the airport, a facetious reference to the ordeal of Wayne Chen, chairman of state agency, the Urban Development Corporation. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

'Dudus' crosstalk sparks mudslinging
    Daraine Luton, Senior Staff Reporter

AN UGLY spat unfolded in the House of Representatives Tuesday as Opposition members of parliament attempted to get Prime Minister Bruce Golding to reconsider his Government's decision not to extradite reputed don Christopher 'Dudus' Coke.

Dr Peter Phillips, a former national security minister, and member of parliament (MP) for East Central St Andrew, called government minister Karl Samuda a criminal after Samuda referred to him as an operative of the United States Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).

"I will go outside and say him is a CIA, but mek him go out and call mi criminal. I lock up him backside!" Samuda muttered in the House.

Phillips was pushed to the brink by perennial rabble-rouser Everald Warmington, the MP for South West St Catherine. Warmington had shouted across the floor asking why Phillips was fighting the extradition battle for the US. That comment infuriated Phillips.

"I am not fighting on behalf of the United States, I am fighting that Jamaica be free of criminals ... who are preying on our country. That's what I am fighting for. Don't you question my patriotism inside here! Don't you ever question it!" Phillips shot back.

In the heat of the moment, Samuda, general secretary for the governing Jamaica Labour Party, called Phillips a CIA operative. Phillips responded three times, saying, "And you are a criminal."

Warmington and fellow government member Pearnel Charles then rose and demanded that the comment be withdrawn. Phillips obliged, but only after instructions from House Speaker Delroy Chuck.

Chuck later scolded Warmington for his behaviour, telling him that he was not only unfair but provocative.

At that point, the microphones in the chamber went dead and it provided breeding ground for an abundance of crosstalk and insults.

Daryl Vaz, a member of the governing party who represents West Portland, accused Phillips of displaying a holier-than-thou attitude.
    "Him go a gunman funeral and a gwaan like him virtuous," Vaz snapped.

Phillips was among three People's National Party government ministers who attended the funeral of Arnett Gardens don William 'Willie Haggard' Moore in 2001.

daraine.luton@gleanerjm.com

very good. A long time all them thing fi talk inna Parliament. While it seems bad a time fi call out all the hypocrite them. Get it all out on the table. Hopefully something good can come from it.

Is one hypocrite a trace di odda. Somehow wi want to put more importance in the act of attending dons funerals. That is the least of it. They ALL have wrapped up themselves in the cloaks of gunmen and dons over the years, ALL OF THEM! Big up to Heather Robinson for not wanting any more of the nonsense.

And then we have Bruce Golding, the prime minister of the land, who will go to great lengths to make sure his cloak remains firmly around his hypocritical ass!

Since when Vaz feel him can talk bout anybody? Why him never come run fi a seat a town?!?

I must add the Dudas case is however different and Bruce and crew must must answer to the parliment and Ja when saying so

how is this case different, pray tell?

Hahahahhahahahahaha

Fully agree. They are all soiled goods.

They are all cracked teapots

Having worked with Local Government for years, and being required to attend Parish Council meetings - I can say these tracing matches are nothing new.

In fact, I recall one Councillor biting another one.

Another Councillor took away the law book, lay across the table and refused to budge.

High drama in those Council meetings.

yuh think seh dem nuh know dem one adedda?

The difference is Bruce and the JLP going to have to answer to the US and ultimately the voters for this. It can't be swept under the rug as they usually do.

Its a joke , constitutional change is the only recourse , I call it democratic dictatorship, we change political chairs for the same governance of dictatorship , nothing new will be brought to the table , same political games and the nation suffers.

Its something that must be studied how a nation can allow itself to democratically elect a party to carry on the same madness of the preceding party ?In our case taking it to higher levels of incompetence.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

is jfj fault!

We nuh need anymore darn elections!. Just get some of our brightest to run the country.

It can't get any worse.

I have reached the point where I have no use for politicians. And I have no intentions of ever voting anywhere - unless is a Rasta party!

yuh nuh hear say bruce is one of our brightest prime ministers?

And what a damn comic Samuda flashing passport w/ visa. Somebody shoulda grab and shred it.

Now how serious are these politicians - they're acting like pre-kindergarten spoil brats.

Chuck later scolded Warmington for his behaviour, telling him that he was not only unfair but provocative.

As to Warmington, he should have been tossed from the sitting. He needs a bite on his ears. (Is him related to Portia).