National Carrier staus is Caribbean Airlines' prize

Whether he PM Golding) is doin so (what he has to do) or not, you, Naminirt et al, have to understand the nationalistic feelings that are at play. It is no less than I witnessed when Craven A and Air Jamaica itself tried to enter the Trinidad market... their Trini (local) competitors threw everything plus the kitchen sink at defending their territory from the Jamaican attempt to get into Trinidad.

Many Jamaicans it would appear are fed up of the way other Jamaicans have ceded territory so easily to outsiders. Preventing an Air Jamaica ( in particular) sell off is tantamount to defending one's birthright for many Jamaicans...right or wrong.

The stories you put up were mostly conjectures as to what is in the MoA and people's opinions. Whe the litany of lies?

I see no twisting and turning as you said. Jalpa submitted no bid during the time frame...true or false? Jamaica needs to ensure dependable airlift for the drive for 5, true or false? AA and others have been blackmailing us to guarantee minimum loads or they cut routes, true or false? All now Jalapa cant name any equity partner...true or false? Jalpa grossly overestimated the severance and participation thereof when they assume US$47 from staff...true or false?

I am as dispassionate as possible, as I understand there is no one to blame for the demise of AJ but US. We allowed years of politicians mismanagement and now at the 11th hour we are chasing bogeymen!!!

The only valid criticism of the AJ handling I see is from Don1 when he suggested that we may have put ourselves into a hole where we get sub-optimal realizations from the now forced sales. If the sights were set more realistically from the outset, we would have been able to play a better poker hand.

Don1 just say the word and I will hook you into the system so you can fulfill you cearly deep desire to be relevant.

The Govt clearly needs guidance and your 'insight' could be invaluable.. what is your hourly rate ?

JALPA have access to cheap oil ?

Dem plan to provide intra-island airlift ?

Don1 just say the word and I will hook you into the system so you can fulfill you cearly deep desire to be relevant.

The Govt clearly needs guidance and your 'insight' could be invaluable.. what is your hourly rate ?
            mi nuh bizniz wid fiyuh sh1tstem.

if I am not now relevant...feel free fi nuh pay mi nuh mine....mi wi welcome dat

The stories you put up were mostly conjectures as to what is in the MoA and people's opinions. Whe the litany of lies?

I see no twisting and turning as you said. Jalpa submitted no bid during the time frame...true or false?
              Which time frame?
              The one the PM Brucie originally mentioned as not yet having received a bid from the pilots?

...or his later mentioned time frame?

Jamaica needs to ensure dependable airlift for the drive for 5, true or false?
              I am agreed that the need for dependable airlift is vital. What I see as PM Brucie's twisting is his use of that reality as to reason to not consider the pilot's offer...particularly when he had earlier said closing down the airline was a considered option. The two (ensuring adequate airlift and closing down) do not 'gel'! Something appears to be at odds to me.

AA and others have been blackmailing us to guarantee minimum loads or they cut routes, true or false?
              False!
              They laid down conditions we accepted. We worked at not making AirJ the beneficiary of 'value' 'those others required'.

All now Jalapa cant name any equity partner...true or false?
              I have not a clue to JALPA's bid package.

Jalpa grossly overestimated the severance and participation thereof when they assume US$47 from staff...true or false?
              To be determined as PM Brucie has not released any documents for us to review.

I am as dispassionate as possible,
              I certainly do not think so.

...as I understand there is no one to blame for the demise of AJ but US. We allowed years of politicians mismanagement and now at the 11th hour we are chasing bogeymen!!!
              Granted our managers at AirJ and those with oversight have failed us. ...and I add, it appears PM Brucie is going down that same path of failure!

...we certainly have not been able to see the bid packages. There just is no transparency.

...and...

PM Brucie has made it clear through his words ...saying first the pilots bid was -
              1. Never made;

2. then he said, it was incomplete;

3. then he said, it would be considered if the CA process breaks down;

4. and somewhere in there he said - if the CA process breaks down, AirJ shall be 'closed down';

...and more...

...and actions that he has no intention of attempting to negotiate with the pilots...

The only valid criticism of the AJ handling I see is from Don1 when he suggested that we may have put ourselves into a hole where we get sub-optimal realizations from the now forced sales. If the sights were set more realistically from the outset, we would have been able to play a better poker hand.
              I do not think you are correct. Certainly Jimmy Moss-Solomon's piece and others before and since have given us things to consider.

...and the matter of AirJ being at worse a 'loss leader' on the shelves of 'our economic supermarket' has been broached by many including myself. ...and I see no reason to change that stance which I have held and posted on this board over the years.
              Last edited by Karl; February 21, 2010, 03:05 PM.

Sale of Air Jamaica T

Sale of Air Jamaica

The proposed sale of Air Jamaica to Caribbean Airlines continues to be in the headlines. This is a highly charged topic which is very sensitive to all Jamaicans. Air Jamaica has been serving the country since 1969 and thus most Jamaicans have grown up knowing Air Jamaica. Just about everyone has traveled on or knows someone who has traveled on Air Jamaica. There are many who would like to see the airline remain in the hands of Jamaicans. There are many who are opposed to yet another Jamaican company being sold to our Caribbean neighbour Trinidad and Tobago. Jamaica was always seen as the jewel of the Caribbean and now has to be taking second place to our smaller cousin Trinidad.

Putting aside our sentiments the question remains “should the government sell Air Jamaica?” The government says that we have no choice but to sell the airline, that currently it is losing US$100 million each year. Given our dire financial problems it is no doubt true that we can not afford to subsidise the airline to this extent. The International Monetary Fund (IMF) agrees and has mandated the government to divest itself of the airline. It would seem that there is no option but to either sell the airline or to significantly reduce the subsidy to the airline.

In deciding whether to sell the airline one needs to consider another other questions. At the time of the proposed offer for sale in March 2009, Air Jamaica was responsible for bringing 31 per cent of all visitors to Jamaica. Let us say that it has reduced to say 25 per cent at the current time. The question now would be “can we afford to lose a quarter of all our visitors?” The obvious answer is no, so how do we address the sale of Air Jamaica. If the airline is sold we need to ask these questions :
                1. How do we get other airlines to take up the slack?

2. How much will we have to pay them to provide the seats?

3. What will happen to the price of tickets?

4. What will happen if other airlines withdraw their services?

It is clear that this is not an easy decision to make so I encourage you to look at all the issues.

http://gleanerblogs.com/finance/?p=124
                Last edited by Karl; February 21, 2010, 03:13 PM.

Peter,
                  Willi and others who have already made up their minds that AirJ should go have cleverly twisted the discussion to run along a narrow path of "AirJ has been losing these vast amounts over succeeding years...end of story". It is an emotional argument fueled...it would appear by partisan instincts.

It cannot be that AirJ is judged solely on its own bottom line. From my vantage point there is only one sensible way to make a decision on whither goes AirJ - What it means to Jamaica's economy?

It must be a view that considers the full impact any AirJ has on the economy. If after such a review it is proven an AirJ (a national airline) would be a negative - a loss - then fine, do away with it.

...if however there are circumstances where an AirJ means a positive - good value for money spent...

...then it is the sensible thing to do to make such an airline as efficient - maximize on value gained - as possible. If that means GOJ divestment of the airline...so be it!

PM Brucie's speaks with forked tongue as he must know what he expects of an AirJ. We must believe he has a clear knowledge of what he desires and what Jamaica needs of the (such an airline) airline.

If Bruce has no idea what is desired to best benefit the economy/the Jamaica people...where we should go to gain best value...then we are up the creek...

...if he does know what is needed, he must communicate that to the only Jamaican entity willing to purchase, the JALPA!
                  Last edited by Karl; February 21, 2010, 03:54 PM.

Peter,
                    Willi and others who have already made up their minds that AirJ should go have cleverly twisted the discussion to run along a narrow path of "AirJ has been losing these vast amounts over succeeding years...end of story". It is an emotional argument fueled...it would appear by partisan instincts.

It cannot be that AirJ is judged solely on its own bottom line. From my vantage point there is only one sensible way to make a decision on whither goes AirJ - What it means to Jamaica's economy?

It must be a view that considers the full impact any AirJ has on the economy. If after such a review it is proven an AirJ (a national airline) would be a negative - a loss - then fine, do away with it.

...if however there are circumstances where an AirJ means a positive - good value for money spent...

...then it is the sensible thing to do to make such an airline as efficient - maximize on value gained - as possible. If that means GOJ divestment of the airline...so be it!

PM Brucie's speaks with forked tongue as he must know what he expects of an AirJ. We must believe he has a clear knowledge of what he desires and what Jamaica needs of the (such an airline) airline.

If Bruce has no idea what is desired to best benefit the economy/the Jamaica people...where we should go to gain best value...then we are up the creek...

...if he does know what is needed, he must communicate that to the only Jamaican entity willing to purchase, the JALPA!
                    Karl...to a certain extent the GOJ's hands are tied...the IMF is substantially in control of GOJ econ policy & they have mandated that the airline be disposed of...even though, remarkably, they have begun to release funds.

Even so, the IMF can still disrupt the economy if their bidding is not done..... we obviously cannot afford that....so this should not be a "partisan" argument...

Jamaica has to choose the best option for its long term interests...even in the face of short term pressures to satisfy the IMF and their loan conditionalities.

That short term vs long term scenario is a calculus that Jamaicans should ensure comes to an optimal end game....and not just a giveaway to satisfy the short term expediency.

Karl...to a certain extent the GOJ's hands are tied...the IMF is substantially in control of GOJ econ policy & they have mandated that the airline be disposed of...even though, remarkably, they have begun to release funds.

Even so, the IMF can still disrupt the economy if their bidding is not done..... we obviously cannot afford that....so this should not be a "partisan" argument...

Jamaica has to choose the best option for its long term interests...even in the face of short term pressures to satisfy the IMF and their loan conditionalities.

That short term vs long term scenario is a calculus that Jamaicans should ensure comes to an optimal end game....and not just a giveaway to satisfy the short term expediency.

1000% agree!

Where were you to help Butch when Vin Lawrence came calling ?

What you are seeing is the inevitable results of that move...

Yet again PNP actions of the past haunting us..

Where were you to help Butch when Vin Lawrence came calling ?

What you are seeing is the inevitable results of that move...

Yet again PNP actions of the past haunting us..
                          Exactly what occurred such that Butch needed anyone to come to his rescue?
                          What is it Vin Lawrence came calling on Butch for or about?