and why would Bruce deny a QUALIFIED Jamaican Entity ?
National Carrier staus is Caribbean Airlines' prize
YES KARL KEEP AIR JAMAICA PLEASE KEEP IT !!!! YOUR PM IS DOING WHAT HE HAS TO DO
Jamaica PM flies in for Air Jamaica /CAL talks
NADALEEN SINGH
Published: 17 Dec 2009
http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2...aica-cal-talks
Jamaican Prime Minister Bruce Golding flew into Trinidad yesterday to hold emergency talks on Air Jamaica and Caribbean Airlines aimed at securing the approval of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) for a US$1.2 billion loan that would be a lifeline for the sinking Jamaican economy.
The IMF has insisted that Jamaica divest Air Jamaica as a conditionality of the loan. Golding is expected to announce the agreement with the IMF in a highly anticipated speech today and the surprise visit to Trinidad on eve of his address was immediately taken by Jamaican sources to mean that the merger or acquisition of Air Jamaica by Caribbean Airlines was discussed.
There was no acknowledgment of the relationship between Golding’s visit and the imminent IMF agreement in a statement put out by T&T’s Office of the Prime Minister, which said only that the talks “related to both Caribbean air carriers.” Trade and Industry Minister Mariano Browne has confirmed that a meeting to discuss Air Jamaica and Caribbean Airlines Ltd took place yesterday at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s. According to a release from the Office of the Prime Minister, issued at 6.02 pm, Jamaica Prime Minister Bruce Golding and a high level delegation from Jamaica met with Acting Prime Minister Dr Lenny Saith, Finance Minister Karen Tesheira and Browne. Golding left T&T following the meeting.
In a brief phone call last evening, Browne said: “The meeting did take place and the talks took place, but I cannot disclose further. Whatever is in the press release is the only information to be released.” Ian Brunton, chief executive officer, Caribbean Airlines, said he was not part of the talks and could not divulge any information. But in an interview with the Business Guardian in October, Brunton said talks about a possible merger between Air Jamaica and Caribbean Airlines were ongoing.
“If Air Jamaica comes—it did come—we were asked to bid on it by the government of Jamaica. We did. It appears we were not winners in that process, but it has not settled yet because the government of Jamaica has not made up its mind yet. It can still happen,” Brunton had said.
Originally posted by Maudib View Postlol !
Bruce have unnuh swinging bat in di breeze hoping to hit something.
nuh try fallah di Grand Mastah.. Tai Chi him a practice.. unnuh nuh ready..TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Willi View PostYou continue to besmirch Christie! Why?
Christie or me? ...if he speaks truth he can stand on that! ...if he does not he dies on that!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Maudib View PostWorship ??
lol !
Mi ah watch Bruce bat... wheh yuh did call it a Fine Innings ?
lol !!
triteTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Karl View PostWho claimed the GOJ would be acting illegally if the pilots are entertained?
Christie or me? ...if he speaks truth he can stand on that! ...if he does not he dies on that!
OCG queries JALPA’s bid for Air J Thursday, 28 January 2010 The Jamaica Airline [COLOR=blue ! important][COLOR=blue ! important]Pilots[/COLOR][/COLOR] Association (JALPA) has encountered a major hurdle in its quest to acquire the cash strapped national airline Air Jamaica.
The Office of the Contractor General (OCG) on Tuesday sent a letter to the [COLOR=blue ! important][COLOR=blue ! important]Office[/COLOR][/COLOR] of the Prime Minister outlining it concerns.
And Prime Minister Bruce Golding announced on his monthly radio call in programme Jamaica House Live Wednesday night that Contractor General Greg Christie is seeking clarification on JALPA's proposal to take over Air Jamaica.
According to Mr. Golding, questions have been raised whether the pilot's proposal can be considered as legitimate and in keeping with rules governing the sale of state [COLOR=blue ! important][COLOR=blue ! important]assets[/COLOR][/COLOR].
Greg Christie, Contractor General."The OCG's letter referred to the proposal put forward by the Jamaica Airline Pilots Association and sought to get from the Cabinet Secretary, information about the process that they are pursuing in the divestment of Air Jamaica and I imagine that part of his interest is to see whether we're following the rules of procurement and divestment," Mr. Golding said.
Consideration for JALPA's proposal if Caribbean Airlines' deal falls through
The Prime Minister added that his administration is more inclined to continue negotiations with [COLOR=blue ! important][COLOR=blue ! important]Caribbean[/COLOR][/COLOR] Airlines since it was the initial bidder for Air Jamaica.
However, he noted that if negotiations with the regional air carrier fall through, the government will consider JALPA's proposal.
Prime Minister Bruce Golding."Under the government procurement arrangement, once we advertise and people apply and people are short listed, we have to negotiate with those who have applied and it's only if those negotiations fail to reach a satisfactory agreement that we can look elsewhere," said Mr. Golding.
JALPA, which represents Air Jamaica pilots, submitted a late proposal to purchase the airline in a bid to keep the entity in local hands.
Workers at the airline have also been appealing to the government to make sure that Air Jamaica remains under Jamaican ownership.
A spokesman for JALPA told RJR News Wednesday night that the Association presented a copy of its [COLOR=blue ! important][COLOR=blue ! important]business [COLOR=blue ! important]plan[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] to the Prime Minister earlier this week and is awaiting word on whether it will be accepted.
Air J sale final, Gov't no longer responsible for the airline
And the Prime Minister has made it clear that there will be no turning back once Air Jamaica is placed in private hands.
Mr. Golding has stated that if the airline's new owners encounter difficulties running the entity they will not be able to return to the Jamaican government for support.
"Let it be clear that once we dispose of Air Jamaica, there is no possibility of anybody, whether it be Caribbean Airlines or any other entity that acquire Air Jamaica, to come back to the government and say look we're running into a hard time and we need government support. It's not possible ... the [COLOR=blue ! important][COLOR=blue ! important]budget[/COLOR][/COLOR] cannot take it," the Prime Minister declared.
IndiGo's proposal wasn't best for JA - PM
In the meantime, the Prime Minister also sought to shed light on the circumstances which led the government to scrap negotiations with IndiGo Airlines to purchase Air Jamaica.
Last year, the government started talks with IndiGo which is associated with the low cost United States carrier Spirit Airlines.
However, negotiations broke down and another buyer sought.
Mr. Golding said on Jamaica House Live Wednesday night that a deal with IndiGo would not have been in Jamaica's best interest.
"We couldn't reach an agreement because what they eventually proposed was not what we considered to be in the best interest of Jamaica. It wouldn't have given us the airlift ... those critical routes that are important to Jamaicans who want to travel and to our tourist visitors who we need to come here," he said.
Mr. Golding added that another difficulty with IndiGo's proposal was that the government would have had to continue paying some of the Air Jamaica's bills even after the national airline was sold to US company.
"We weren't into that," he said.
Source: RadioJamaica.com
Do you understand Mr. Christie to be saying that same thing - i.e. negotiations can be terminated with Caribbean Airlines...and thus negotiations with the pilots or any other entity could then go forward?
Besmirch?
If we accept the RJR.com report..is it not Christie not trampling on his own name?
Willi...we have posted on this site Christie's utterances along the same view of 'illegal', 'flouting The Constitution'...etc!
You tell me what is...or why it is...illegal to terminate negotiations...cut off communication...stop speaking with or to...before entering into contract to sell is illegal or 'contrary to or flouting of our Constitution? ..besides downright not true, it is nonsense!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Don1 View PostThis issue is well beyond JALPA and the nature of their bid.
What we see is self serving pronouncements from both JALPA and the politicians in charge of the process....none telling the entire truth...but merely trying to advance their agendas...with their particular spin on the matter.
The core issue is the preservation and development of Jamaica's air market...a strategic objective given the importance of tourism and our diaspora.
Caribbean Airlines brings little to the table....and potentially can block development of our air market for their own narrow interest.
A sub optimal choice by any measure.
Air John-crow HAS TO be sold...it is yet another critical policy difference between the two administrations that you are so fond of lumping together (disingenuous?!)
you cannot make choices in a vacuum or on what you wish to be the ideal... you have to make critical choices based on what exists.
just because I or you feel that the airline and the routes are worth zillions doesn't mean anything... unless you or I have tendered that value accordingly in a bid document (I certainly haven't... perhaps you may want to take up that mantle.. and if your finances closely approximated the magnitude of your idiocy then you could certainly afford it!!) ...the responsible people have to choose based on the information submitted in the bid documents.. and that provided that they are properly and legally submitted...
a tendering process was initiated in accordance with the laws that govern such things...the BEST choice was thusly attained...
Originally posted by Comment View PostYYAAAWWWNNNN
that is just an opinion...and one that is riddled with caveats...
there was a bid process...it is exempt from opinion or emotion...
who is funding the pilots?...the only thing we know is that whoever they are, they are NOT Jamaican.
what therefore is THEIR motive whoever they are?! are they going to be prepared to lose US$100M annually to keep people artificially employed and help "market" Jamaica? what is their projected ROI? how do they plan to do it?
this is no bid...it is a joke...unfortunately it is a joke, because ideally we would want Air Jon-crow in Jamaican hands but the only person that could do it successfully we ran him...
Alas."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
[Comment;214218]once again you are being disingenuous or perhaps there are critical limits to your acuity which sadly prevent you from an even cursory grasp of the issues.
Air John-crow HAS TO be sold...it is yet another critical policy difference between the two administrations that you are so fond of lumping together (disingenuous?!)
If it is to be "sold"... what is the consideration? Show wi di money..
you cannot make choices in a vacuum or on what you wish to be the ideal... you have to make critical choices based on what exists.
Let us rejoice at the great wisdom of the GOJ at work..LoL!
just because I or you feel that the airline and the routes are worth zillions doesn't mean anything... unless you or I have tendered that value accordingly in a bid document (I certainly haven't... perhaps you may want to take up that mantle.. and if your finances closely approximated the magnitude of your idiocy then you could certainly afford it!!) ...the responsible people have to choose based on the information submitted in the bid documents.. and that provided that they are properly and legally submitted...
a tendering process was initiated in accordance with the laws that govern such things...the BEST choice was thusly attained...
We continue to be misled by the blind....or to be charitable...the myopic.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Don1 View PostQuite a mouthful..even for a tribalist. ... mine yuh brain buss LoL!
It seems the airline is to be scrapped....not sold. Didn't you get the memo?
If it is to be "sold"... what is the consideration? Show wi di money..
the choice seems to be a giveaway...while the taxpayer hugs up the debt.
Let us rejoice at the great wisdom of the GOJ at work..LoL!
your passion in defending your tribe is quite touching. no doubt your place at the trough will be further cemented with such fulsome displays of loyalty to the tribal line..LoL!
Without vision...the people shall continue to perish.
We continue to be misled by the blind....or to be charitable...the myopic.
you have offered nothing credible with regards the divestment of Air Jamaica (typical?!)...
your arguments are as flimsy as the JALPA bid and therefore warrant no further scrutiny...