• Informer Law finally passed

Plea bargain gets teeth ... despite calls for delay from Opposition

Published: Saturday | February 13, 2010

<DIV class=KonaBody isRoot="true">
    Lightbourne (left) and Nelson
    Daraine Luton, Senior Staff Reporter
    THE SENATE yesterday passed regulations which paved the way for the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) to enter into plea-bargaining arrangements with persons who are before the courts on criminal charges.
    The passage of the regulations, as well as amendments to legal aid regulations gave teeth to the Criminal Justice (Plea Negotiations and Agreements) Act, which was passed in 2005.
    Justice Minister Dorothy Lightbourne told the Senate that while the Office of the DPP currently conducts plea-bargaining, the regulations would "provide a uniform structure and clear guidelines for the conduct of such negotiations".
    PNP bystanders
    However, while government senators celebrated the passage of the regulations, members of the Opposition People's National Party (PNP) were bystanders.
    The PNP refused to participate in the debate on the regulations after its plea for more time to consider the provisions was ignored.
    Acting Leader of Opposition Business, Navel Clarke, told the Senate that although he had committed to debating the regulations yesterday, some members of the Opposition had not received the regulations and were not in a position to contribute to the deliberations.
    "I am informed by those people who are more able and equipped to deal with the matter, that they are not seized of all information that would give them the opportunity to participate this morning, notwithstanding the commitment that I made," Clarke said.
    Another opposition member, K.D. Knight, said that some members of the Opposition did not receive the regulations which had been emailed to them by Parliament.
    "I think it would be in our best interest to delay the debate on this for a week. In the final analysis, what we all want is that there is full participation, so that when this comes into being, it has the imprimatur of the entire Senate," Knight said.

Again, can anyone deny that these clowns are a bunch of obstructionists? KArl, Don1 etc .... unuh proud a unuh party?

Kern?

Again, can anyone deny that these clowns are a bunch of obstructionists? KArl, Don1 etc .... unuh proud a unuh party?
        Spoken like a true Republican!

Let us have a bi-partisan approach. Here is our way...if you do not swallow them lock stock and barrel you do not want a bi-partisan approach. You would have locked us out!

Here is the bill...there is no time to review...just vo9te with us, if you don't you are a bunch of obstructionists!

Good going, Lazie! Gwaan...yuh an yuh Drivah!

what this have to do with Kern? Enlighten me.

I have seen many people on the forum call for this law and I myself called for it. I can only hope they use it effectively to get nuff a the criminals them.

Spoken like a true Republican!

Let us have a bi-partisan approach. Here is our way...if you do not swallow them lock stock and barrel you do not want a bi-partisan approach. You would have locked us out!

Here is the bill...there is no time to review...just vo9te with us, if you don't you are a bunch of obstructionists!

Good going, Lazie! Gwaan...yuh an yuh Drivah!
            Karl, you're a waste of time. The opposition had agreed last WEEK to past the bill yesterday, yet they turned up doing what they do best.

mi leff di party bizniz tuh yuh an like minded peeple....

fiya bun party

mi leff di party bizniz tuh yuh an like minded peeple....

fiya bun party
                Fi real .. mi woulda disown dem tuh.

yep.... full time yuh disown yuh tribalism.... dat fooliniss ah mash up Jamaica

My tribalism? Really now. Statics has proven who has been responsible for the decline of our country. PPL like you can deny it all yuh want ... the stats don't lie.

Karl was brave enough to come here and mek it clear he cannot afford for this gov't to succeed. After you cannot deny how much your ppl eff up yuh come here a try give the impression you aren't a supporter of the destroyers. You may well fool the Karls and the Mosiahs but you were exposed a long time ago.

How unuh sleep a night ... seeing how unuh kept an incompetent bunch in power fi 18 years?

My tribalism? Really now. Statics has proven who has been responsible for the decline of our country. PPL like you can deny it all yuh want ... the stats don't lie.

Karl was brave enough to come here and mek it clear he cannot afford for this gov't to succeed. After you cannot deny how much your ppl eff up yuh come here a try give the impression you aren't a supporter of the destroyers. You may well fool the Karls and the Mosiahs but you were exposed a long time ago.

How unuh sleep a night ... seeing how unuh kept an incompetent bunch in power fi 18 years?
                      yuh prove my point.

however you are more a fool than a tribalist.

both are bad....but your tribalism is worse.

yuh prove my point.

however you are more a fool than a tribalist.

both are bad....but your tribalism is worse.
                        You calling me a fool isn't a problem to me. You've been exposed time and again ... I'm not gonna call you a fool ... you're just a hypocrite.

I'm glad you have no problem with the truth...that's a sign of maturity.