There was a time when a selector would be seen travelling around on big trucks with boxes of records in tow. These days, that practice like vinyl records have largely disappeared making way for CD carrying deejays better known as 'pouch selectors'.
Pouch selectors can be seen travelling everywhere with their pouches. Whether it may be at a street dance or at a sweet 16 birthday party, they have now outplayed traditional selectors who say it could damage this area of dancehall if the trend continues. "First thing, mi nah fight against another man because everybody affi eat food. But dem affi start build dem own sound. If we decide seh we nah mek dem play dem affi guh rent (the sound boxes and other equipment), and dat even worse," veteran selector Sky Juice said.
While not holding any grudges, Sky Juice who still spins his vinyl and travels with his boxes, believes it would be a damaging trend to the legacy of sound systems in Jamaica, if the growth of pouch selectors continue.
"Dem a nuh selectors ... . Anybody can mix CDs. Mi a come from di hardcore days and a record mi play suh mi know weh mi a talk 'bout. Again, mi nah fight a man thing 'cause it's not everyone can afford a sound. Di problem is with di ones dem who want everything easy," he said.
The sound system concept first became popular in the 1950s in inner city communities across Jamaica. Disc jockeys would normally load a truck with a generator, turntables and huge speakers and set up street dances.
But, as time progressed and new technologies were introduced, some selectors shunned the analogue turntable where the vinyl was master in favour of digitisation where the CD has enjoyed some popularity.
Although the CD has largely replaced the vinyl, the pouch selectors still rely on the generosity of the more established selectors, who actually owns a sound system. Also, most modern day disc jockeys have now turned to laptops which complement the CDs. Also, the popular sound boxes are now being replaced by mini-speakers attached to the monitors.
But new selectors disagree. They say it is now cheaper for promoters because they do not have to pay to transport a sound system and several boxes of music. According to Wah Wa of Darkcide International, most promoters prefer this arrangement. "I have no problem, me do it too. People need fi understand things and time have changed, plus di economy is harsh," he said.
Wah Wa, 20, also told THE WEEKEND STAR that he has no problem with the direction of where the music is heading. "It's not degrading to the industry. I would more say uplifting. By this way, selectors are actually moving rather than the sound, so it causes the promoters less. It's nothing more than a forward movement through technology," he said.
Steve Billings, a businessman in his mid-20s, who has so far experienced both generations, said he prefers vinyl records. "I would more prefer the long-time version. To me, the tunes on records have more quality than the ones produced on CDs. It also represents the authentic side of music," he said.
Billings also believes it's now difficult to differentiate between a selector and a normal person, who simply loves music. "Right now everybody has a CD, so you can't differentiate who's actually a selector. Back in the days I wouldn't have use for a turntable, it's just like buying items, which only a doctor can use," he said.
http://jamaica-star.com/thestar/20100212/ent/ent2.html
Pouch selectors can be seen travelling everywhere with their pouches. Whether it may be at a street dance or at a sweet 16 birthday party, they have now outplayed traditional selectors who say it could damage this area of dancehall if the trend continues. "First thing, mi nah fight against another man because everybody affi eat food. But dem affi start build dem own sound. If we decide seh we nah mek dem play dem affi guh rent (the sound boxes and other equipment), and dat even worse," veteran selector Sky Juice said.
While not holding any grudges, Sky Juice who still spins his vinyl and travels with his boxes, believes it would be a damaging trend to the legacy of sound systems in Jamaica, if the growth of pouch selectors continue.
"Dem a nuh selectors ... . Anybody can mix CDs. Mi a come from di hardcore days and a record mi play suh mi know weh mi a talk 'bout. Again, mi nah fight a man thing 'cause it's not everyone can afford a sound. Di problem is with di ones dem who want everything easy," he said.
The sound system concept first became popular in the 1950s in inner city communities across Jamaica. Disc jockeys would normally load a truck with a generator, turntables and huge speakers and set up street dances.
But, as time progressed and new technologies were introduced, some selectors shunned the analogue turntable where the vinyl was master in favour of digitisation where the CD has enjoyed some popularity.
Although the CD has largely replaced the vinyl, the pouch selectors still rely on the generosity of the more established selectors, who actually owns a sound system. Also, most modern day disc jockeys have now turned to laptops which complement the CDs. Also, the popular sound boxes are now being replaced by mini-speakers attached to the monitors.
But new selectors disagree. They say it is now cheaper for promoters because they do not have to pay to transport a sound system and several boxes of music. According to Wah Wa of Darkcide International, most promoters prefer this arrangement. "I have no problem, me do it too. People need fi understand things and time have changed, plus di economy is harsh," he said.
Wah Wa, 20, also told THE WEEKEND STAR that he has no problem with the direction of where the music is heading. "It's not degrading to the industry. I would more say uplifting. By this way, selectors are actually moving rather than the sound, so it causes the promoters less. It's nothing more than a forward movement through technology," he said.
Steve Billings, a businessman in his mid-20s, who has so far experienced both generations, said he prefers vinyl records. "I would more prefer the long-time version. To me, the tunes on records have more quality than the ones produced on CDs. It also represents the authentic side of music," he said.
Billings also believes it's now difficult to differentiate between a selector and a normal person, who simply loves music. "Right now everybody has a CD, so you can't differentiate who's actually a selector. Back in the days I wouldn't have use for a turntable, it's just like buying items, which only a doctor can use," he said.
http://jamaica-star.com/thestar/20100212/ent/ent2.html