IMF approves US$1.27 billion loan to Jamaica

READ THE ABOVE response to Lazie and stop waste people time.

Moderators, we really should limit the number of jackasses on the site at any give time.
    Once again, you expose your numb and incurious mind. Yuh a talk bout coulda shoulda woulda like yuh a pickney.

Your point of view is irrelevant and only betrays your bitterness.

I will once again post the salient point of view...

the IMF's chief of mission to Jamaica, Trevor Alleyne...

"Asked why it took so long to negotiate the agreement, Alleyne observed that both the IMF and the Government were of the view that there was no point in a "shallow agreement", so time was taken to look carefully at the critical underlying problems of the Jamaican economy."

you are hopeless.

and just for your info, alleyne went to a good school. clearly, you didn't and should have!

your use of big words don't hide that fact, unfortunately!

again, the smart ones on the forum get it. you and comment? well...

majority of the people?? yuh serious, or is joke yuh mekking?

Yuh affi see wid him, he gets his info from his fellow drunks at the rum bar.

Answer the question nuh. Do you think it was possible.
              Yes I said majority and that is what I believe. Most Jamaicans I think have a bad impression of the IMF until recently.

you are hopeless.

and just for your info, alleyne went to a good school. clearly, you didn't and should have!

your use of big words don't hide that fact, unfortunately!

since we have established that the learned gentleman went to a good school, it would therefore be logical and wise to take his advice as to why the IMF negotiations were so protracted instead of dreaming up scenarios on our own.

until recently?!? wooiiee! so wi in love wid dem now?!?

MOST Jamaicans never know how bad the economy was so Omar coulda tell them foolishness and Audley came and tell them the same.

Again you sidestep my question. thanks for your answer.

Wehby? Him is what, Vasco da Gama? A wha kinda exploration yuh haffi deh pon so? And fi 'ow long?!?

Exploratory talks! Ef a laff a get stretch mark to rahtid!

i think the JDX could have worked at any time once the govt of the day, supported by sensible and unbiased economist level with the people and let them know what o'clock a strike. that was all that was needed. the pnp painted a rosy and failed the country in this regard.

laugh yes.. him nuh realize seh wi leave di 'knee-jerk' comrade way...

When Drivah and him team mek a move dem vision 10 chess moves ahead..

poor comrades still play Tic-Tac-Toe...

lol !

Originally posted by Comment View Post
                            since we have established that the learned gentleman went to a good school, it would therefore be logical and wise to take his advice as to why the IMF negotiations were so protracted instead of dreaming up scenarios on our own.
                            I commend the GOJ for concluding the agreement...ESPECIALLY with the JDX component required by the IMF....that's a potential gamechanger..restructuring our finances...a new paradigm. Just the type of out of the box thinking we need...and I have been calling for ...fi 2 year now pon dis channel.

Clearly this is not our father's IMF...a fresh approach driven by Dr Alleyne a product of fine schooling, not least from the so-called Intellectual Ghetto.

However there is valid cause for criticism...the somewhat fumbled & protracted negotiation process aside...for me the more important issue is the delay in recognizing the profound nature of the recession. Up until late 2008 GOJ spokespeople were spouting the nonsense that the recession would have no impact on Jamaica!

We are now in 2010 having in effect lost a year to a lack of good sense and quick footedness.... most countries concluded IMF agreements 9-12 months ago.

Wi late...

...But better late dan neva.

As to Trevor Alleyne's statement regarding timing... that's diplomatic speak... there is nothing else the guy can say than be supportive of his client...the GOJ.

Why people put so much stock in "official statements" as representing truth .... Jah kno...

mi nuh kno why.

Lazie whey yuh deh?
                            Last edited by Don1; February 5, 2010, 01:17 PM.

thanks. That was the problem, most of us had no idea.

More like because of lack of political will. The IMF was made to be the enemy and the worst thing for Jamaica. IF the government went to the IMF in say March of 2004 they would have been dead duck. You remember the famous Portia speach about the "wickedess government" and Bruce famous reply?

The same people who rather to die than have IMF now saying it should have been done earlier. IF you remember in the run up to election 2007 in debates the word IMF couldn't come up. Now we turn beggars and IMF want them money back and put down them condition, and the we still have IMF tests, and the PNP still not fully endorsing the IMF without any other solution let move forward.
                                Jamaica didn't need the IMF in 2007...we had access to private financing so our debt issues were contained.

What Jamaica needed in 2007 was to undertake structural reforms on our own terms...akin to those types of reforms we are now forced to take by the IMF.

Sadly these enforced reforms will probably be where the regime stops.

The equally or more important social reforms will be ignored..... meaning that we will still be treading water at best.

A man wid one leg can stand...but is still handicapped.