Where in Jamaica easy access from every part of the island would not merely be the wee time it takes to put in the gateways (roadways, airstrips and heliports) ...we are speaking of building a new city right?
The easy access argument is silly!
what is silly is talk of building a new capital city...we can't even fix the potholes in the existing cities....much less build a new one.
A major complaint among residents of the Pilot Plan is that they have only home and work. There are no centralized meeting places for leisure time. The city is very divided into sectors, and there are almost no multi-use areas. There are sectors for everything, like embassies, police departments, fire departments, government car repair shops, private car repair shops, sports facilities, warehouses, military activities, clubs, schools and churches. Travel between these sectors can be very difficult, especially for a pedestrian. Most government buildings have their own shops and restaurants, but, because of the nature of the city, if a service is not available in the building, it could be several miles away. This strict division of the city discourages the casual errand, making the city a difficult place to live in.
This is an important point and a city is not just a place for government services. What makes cities attractive and visitable is the culture, the museums, bars, fancy restaurants & shops, sporting events & theatres. Cities are placing where you want to go to hang out and have a beer.
Last edited by Hortical; February 1, 2010, 05:00 PM.
You do realise that even if the capital is move inland, Kingston, Montego Bay and other coastal towns will remain heavily populated and important business centres nonetheless. If the idea is to safeguard the seat of government and emergency response teams, then perhaps we could consider moving it inland. On the other hand, it could be argued that politicians should not be so protected and it is they who should be placed in high probability eaarthquake and tsunami regions. I tend to agree with that!
Karl, how far inland do you believe a tsunami travels? If we are going to plan and build for apocalyptic events, then may I suggest we go on a church building exercise around the island, rather than moving the capital.
To answer Ben's question:"
What does this 'dismantling' entail ?"
Taking a bulldozer to these shanty towns and rebuilding from the ground up.
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015