• Banker kills wife: Murder/suicide shocks financial sector

Banker kills wife: Murder/suicide shocks financial sector
    BY KARYL WALKER Crime/Court Desk Co-ordinator walkerk@jamaicaobserver.com

Sunday, January 31, 2010

THE St Andrew North police were yesterday piecing together evidence that could lead to the motive behind a murder and suicide which took place at Waterworks in St Andrew early yesterday morning and sent shockwaves throughout the financial sector where the couple worked.

Police report that Karla Chito, 40 and her 59-year-old husband Everett were at their Broadway Avenue home about 12:30 Saturday morning when they became embroiled in a heated argument. Everett Chito reportedly pulled his licensed firearm and shot his wife several times before shooting himself.

The townhouse at Waterworks, St Andrew where Everett Chito shot his wife Karla (inset) and then committed suicide early yesterday.

(Photo: Garfield Robinson)
    Karla Chito

The townhouse at Waterworks, St Andrew where Everett Chito shot his wife Karla (inset) and then committed suicide early yesterday. (Photo: Garfield Robinson)

1/2

He died on the spot, but his wife succumbed to her injuries at the University Hospital.
    Homicide investigators from the St Andrew North Police Division who went to the scene seized Chito's .38 Smith and Wesson revolver.
    Karla Chito's death has left two daughters, aged 20 and 14, motherless.
    She was a personal portfolio manager at the Haughton Avenue headquarters of Jamaica Money Market Brokers (JMMB) and her murder came as a great shock to her co-workers.
    Yesterday, JMMB Group Marketing Manager Imani Duncan said if the couple had problems at home Karla Chito never showed any signs at work.
    "Karla was always very engaging. Maybe some people can hide things, but there was no sign of trouble," Duncan told the Sunday Observer.
    Karla Chito was employed with JMMB for four-and-a-half years and her death stung fellow employee Kisha Anderson, the personal and corporate client services manager at JMMB.

"Our hearts go out to Karla's two children, family and close friends at the tragic and untimely passing of a woman so full of life and possibilities," Anderson said in a release to the media. "We will continue to provide love and support to her loved ones and team members as it's important to look after family in difficult times."

Everett Chito was the manager for the New Kingston branch of First Global Bank and the vice-president of the Jamaica National Heritage Trust.
    Yesterday, a source who claimed to know the couple tried to understand the reason for his actions.

"He was a very quiet guy but he is known to be possessive," the source said.

One of his co-workers described Chito as very affable and expressed shock at the event. "He was a very nice person, very jovial. I never saw him get angry," said the co-worker. "He always got along well with people, so that's why it is such a shock."

Everett Chito was the father of three children.

Sad affair. Especially when you consider these crimes of passion are rare for normal couples.

normal ?

Wheh yuh mean ?

Traditional, maybe???
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

59 year old can't handle the 40 - suh him shoot har!

he probably had gay tendencies too!

Huh?

It's the JAMAICAN solution to everything isn't it? If you can't resolve it - shoot someone!

do you expect such a crime of passion from a heterosexual person?!? okay, him never limb har up wid a butter knife, but still...

and please forgive my sarcasm. the woman did not deserve this no matter what she did! and we really should be grieving with the family, but I do think we could learn from it and stop making silly assertions about personal behaviours, much of which we know nothing about.

PRIDE and love dont mix , i think the end product is jealousy with rage.Sad outcome.

I have burnt and been burnt , from what I have learnt take up your marbles and walk away , many more games to play with more people.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Pride commeth before a fall. There's no rationale for murder. Caribbean men are just too angry, too much rage, too much 'false' pride.

I didnt know crimes of passion were isolated to caribbean men.

This happens everywhere, in every country, in every culture and to both males and females.