• Don1, nuh tell me you led the uproar!

Jamaicans abroad upset at sale of Air J

The Government is hoping to ink a deal with the Trinidad state owned Caribbean Airlines this week for the take over of Air Jamaica.
    The original deadline for a deal was two weeks ago, but having missed that deadline, the hope is to sign a deal before the end of January.
    However as that deadline looms, it appears not everyone is happy with the lovebird going to the Trinidadians.

A Caribbean Life News report stated that Air Jamaica CEO Bruce Nobles encountered a hostile reception from Jamaicans in New York over the impending divestment.
    The report accused the Jamaican government of allowing the IMF to dictate to them to get rid of Air Jamaica.
    Some also expressed regret that the Air Jamaica name will go when the entity is absorbed into the operations of Caribbean Airline.
    The government is under pressure from the IMF to get rid of Air Jamaica and if a deal with Caribbean Airlines does not materialize, the intention is to initiate plans to completely shut down the airline in June.

Just Monday RJR News reported that the staff at the national carrier has made a passionate plea to the Prime Minister, for them to be given the chance to save Air Jamaica.
    Their sentiments were expressed in a two page letter sent to the Prime Minister begging him to reconsider the sale to foreigners.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/24566/26/

2 Jamaican coworkers are also upset about the plight of Air J. What I find amazing is how they're always telling me of the cheap tickets they get when they're going home. Dem never realize say Air J needed their support then? Now like everybody else them a cry crocodile tears.

I recall on one radio station when Jet Blue was to make their first flight into Jamaica how it was being promoted by the same DJs whey a bitch now. One was all planning to spin music pon the flight. I recall him saying he was going to play "Coming in from the cold" when the flight land. Now everybody up in arms.

Can't understand all this emotion. I won't shed a tear.

Them should be crying about all the schools, hospitals, teachers, police, nurses etc who could have benefitted from the resources sunk into that money pit.

2 Jamaican coworkers are also upset about the plight of Air J. What I find amazing is how they're always telling me of the cheap tickets they get when they're going home. Dem never realize say Air J needed their support then? Now like everybody else them a cry crocodile tears.

I recall on one radio station when Jet Blue was to make their first flight into Jamaica how it was being promoted by the same DJs whey a bitch now. One was all planning to spin music pon the flight. I recall him saying he was going to play "Coming in from the cold" when the flight land. Now everybody up in arms.
        why is any of that amazing?

1. everyone likes to save on air tickets....that does not signify lack of support in the least

2. welcoming a foreign carrier also does not mean non support for Air J

Jamaicans abroad upset at sale of Air J

The Government is hoping to ink a deal with the Trinidad state owned Caribbean Airlines this week for the take over of Air Jamaica.
          The original deadline for a deal was two weeks ago, but having missed that deadline, the hope is to sign a deal before the end of January.
          However as that deadline looms, it appears not everyone is happy with the lovebird going to the Trinidadians.

A Caribbean Life News report stated that Air Jamaica CEO Bruce Nobles encountered a hostile reception from Jamaicans in New York over the impending divestment.
          The report accused the Jamaican government of allowing the IMF to dictate to them to get rid of Air Jamaica.
          Some also expressed regret that the Air Jamaica name will go when the entity is absorbed into the operations of Caribbean Airline.
          The government is under pressure from the IMF to get rid of Air Jamaica and if a deal with Caribbean Airlines does not materialize, the intention is to initiate plans to completely shut down the airline in June.

Just Monday RJR News reported that the staff at the national carrier has made a passionate plea to the Prime Minister, for them to be given the chance to save Air Jamaica.
          Their sentiments were expressed in a two page letter sent to the Prime Minister begging him to reconsider the sale to foreigners.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/24566/26/
          yeah..mi did bokkle di bwoy

why is any of that amazing?

1. everyone likes to save on air tickets....that does not signify lack of support in the least

2. welcoming a foreign carrier also does not mean non support for Air J
            Don't get it wrong. I have no problem with one searching for the best deal. But if you and I not flying with Air Jamaica because their tickets are too expensive, whats the fuss if it is sold?

Well Lazie, according to this the PM and his JLP collegues have no time for the pilots.

Weh Maudib deh?
              luk lacka di pilot dem si tire chip an Driva yeye fixed away fram dem?

Well Lazie, according to this the PM and his JLP collegues have no time for the pilots.

Weh Maudib deh?
                luk lacka di pilot dem si tire chip an Driva yeye fixed away fram dem?
                Again, it sound as if they're having problems raising the necessary funds. If they don't have the funds, what yuh recommend dem duh den?

Don't get it wrong. I have no problem with one searching for the best deal. But if you and I not flying with Air Jamaica because their tickets are too expensive, whats the fuss if it is sold?
                  Sold is a misnomer... it's being transferred to a new owner...at a COST of US$300m... in a situation where there may be a better option to consider....employee ownership

I have no doubt that if a PNP regime pushed that proposition... your attitude would be different..

BTW... I routinely fly Air Jamaica... mi nuh kno if you do?....

funny nuh hell...yuh accusing karl of basically what don1 accusing yuh of....

Well dis is one sistren who always gave JM my business when I travel to Jamaica (no Spirit, no American Airlines & no Jet Blue). ..And as long as Air Jam. stay in the skies them will get my business.

Added to the fact that when I fly I have no intention of connecting in Miami airport to deal with the WRENKING Cuban them!

EGO is a boicah.....

Wooops...not intended for you MdmeX.

Intended for the Jamaican leadership and those like Mosiah et. al . who can't stand anything Trinidad.

I hope they cut the deal for cheeeep for Air Ja. Serve them right!

Surely that CANT be the full deal. Hell, it would be cheaper to just close it then or give it to the staffers.

Come on man, the Trini deal MUST offer more than that. Seems clear that GOJ retains the debt, pays the severance, BUT will get dallaz in consideration for that. Can the staffers offer the same or more? Then they should get it.

Sold is a misnomer... it's being transferred to a new owner...at a COST of US$300m... in a situation where there may be a better option to consider....employee ownership

I have no doubt that if a PNP regime pushed that proposition... your attitude would be different..

BTW... I routinely fly Air Jamaica... mi nuh kno if you do?....
                            Last time home I flew with Air J, next time down, hopefully this year it won't be Air J as they no longer fly from EWR. Continue referencing the PNP all yuh want.

Hypocrite!