Air Jamaica's staff make yet another appeal

what were these findings? is Davies to be prosecuted? what was the true market value of the slots?

Come on! It would be a cold day in hell if he should be prosecuted. The same way how the Finsac Enquiry is now a political issue, prosecuting the "best finance minister we ever had" would be a bigger issue with his defenders.

Well I'm not here to defend Davies.. imho he should be retired in the public interest...on the other hand I don't support counterproductive political games...advanced by partisans.

The OCG report is an indication it wasn't political games.

The DPP said, "Given the nature of requisitions made by Dr Davies to the Contractor General's Office when compared with the three letters signed by him all dated April 23, 2007, the public interest would mandate that the matter be referred to the commissioner of police for further investigation..."

Yet you call it politcal games? Suit yuhself Don1. In the real you would be saying something different, but its Jamaica ... no problem.

The OCG report is an indication it wasn't political games.

The DPP said, "Given the nature of requisitions made by Dr Davies to the Contractor General's Office when compared with the three letters signed by him all dated April 23, 2007, the public interest would mandate that the matter be referred to the commissioner of police for further investigation..."

Yet you call it politcal games? Suit yuhself Don1. In the real you would be saying something different, but its Jamaica ... no problem.
          Ok..I can support an investigation...and await the results of that. Suffice it to say that what will come out of that exercise is a big fat ZERO.... but I could be wrong.

What is silly is the political gamesmanship around airline slots mostly by people who don't have the foggiest idea what they are talking about.

Sure...but I would support a Management buyout option all things being equal.

Arbitrary opinion though.

We all know that transaction price can depend on other factors like kickbacks, etc.

Given that the transaction/decision was found to have issues, that opens the door to anything.

I will say it for the last time. Heathrow slots are the most prized in existence.

"All things being equal"

These are the same pilots who are making more than most airline in the industry. They have never come forward to play an active role before or suggestion to keep the airline afloat.

What I think will happen is just a matter of time before they stick up the government as Butch did, if they get it and I think that is what Golding is walking wide from.

The sad thing is if Jet Blue or some other American or European investors had it there would be no problem but just because our Trini brothers a tek a chance.

Arbitrary opinion though.

We all know that transaction price can depend on other factors like kickbacks, etc.

Given that the transaction/decision was found to have issues, that opens the door to anything.

I will say it for the last time. Heathrow slots are the most prized in existence.
                  There is always the possibility of shenanigans....especially with politicians involved ...from whatever tribe. That's a given.

The fact remains that 2 fierce rivals bid for the asset...and one ah dem win at a certain price.

Those who are in doubt about the transaction merely need to show that BA had a materially superior bid.

Absent that information...it's a non issue.

If the particular Air Jamaica slots were so valuable...and in demand...why were there only 2 bidders?

Probable answer:

Frequency: Air Jamaica had how many weekly flights out of Heathrow... 2 or 3? Whatever it was...the capacity was very limited

Timing: Air Jamaica did not have "prime time" departures/landings...those are prized for business passengers who pay the highest fares and have the biggest volume. Outside of the prime periods...the value falls rapidly.

If you can say that Air Jamaica had DAILY PRIME TIME slots.... diffrant ting dat.

As usual the devil is in the details...just saying that Heathrow slots are the most valuable in the world doesn't shed light on the matter.

"All things being equal"

The sad thing is if Jet Blue or some other American or European investors had it there would be no problem but just because our Trini brothers a tek a chance.
                    Hearing you loud and clear

Butch did say he started with 7 slots in the wee hours of the morning and eventually worked them into prime time slots over several years.

BA can use almost any time slot as they can juggle around their fleet and destinations to maxx out the value.

I dont have a problem with your last response anyhow, as it was reasonable.

Still, Heathrow slots are....

LoL

After dem caan get everything, man!

"All things being equal"

These are the same pilots who are making more than most airline in the industry. They have never come forward to play an active role before or suggestion to keep the airline afloat.

What I think will happen is just a matter of time before they stick up the government as Butch did, if they get it and I think that is what Golding is walking wide from.

Sass, the thing is they have come forward - Now!
                          What has the former action to do with the price of bread?

It is a sham Karl.

Would you want NWU and BITU delegates fi run your business?

Them nuh want it sell. If you give it to them before 2 years them a come to government fi money.

you notice the first thing them say is them nah lay off nobody?

It is a sham Karl.

Would you want NWU and BITU delegates fi run your business?

Them nuh want it sell. If you give it to them before 2 years them a come to government fi money.

you notice the first thing them say is them nah lay off nobody?

How many employees dem have?

Well mek mi talk to mi genie so that the Caribbean Airlines deal fcan all through, & make the masses happy when the pilots get it.