Missing links in Beckles' Haiti analysis
Boss you have to look at it startegically. What if the US at the time aided the Haitian revolution? Quite possibly you would not have a USA today. Why? The US had just finished fighting the british. To support the revolution they would have to go by sea with troops. The British ruled the sea at the time; the US on the other hand lacked naval experience and fleet. The US would be defeated at sea, hence allowing the french to come and gain a foothold (not to mention the British). Why sacrifice a continent for an island?
They now have these games being played out on computers: Civilizzation III et al (i have never really played but I bet a good strategy game if you have the time).
It's not emotion but taking things in their overall perspective.
If they try to trade England and France would blockade them at sea; this in turn would be interpretted as an act of war by the Euros.
I think the Bristsh would welcome such a foolish move on the US's part. Boss it was about dominating and control of resources. Do you really think because the US were white the British and French woul not fire on them? leave emotion out of history.
They are certainly related but the former did not totally shape the outcome of the latter.
The black community needs to set a higher standard for ourselves in terms of governance. It seems to me that we produce more than our fair share of great leaders of freedom and civil rights movements but find it difficult to transfer this to nation building."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Don1 View PostOf course! But there is no sense in constantly bellyaching about dat...Babylon will ALWAYS play dem wikkid game pon wi... wi fi learn fram dem who progress DESPITE BABYLON MACHINATIONS.
It's up to us to be smarter than them...cooperate towards one aim & one destiny.... it's in our hands...not Babylon devices like the IMF
As Adadm Clayton Powell used to say...IT'S IN OUR HANDS... strait
Man being who he is, if there was a role reversal and we had our hands on the controls and the 'whiteman' our slaves it may well have been merely we being 'the BABYLON' and doing BABYLON MACHINATIONS...
...the quicker we see it that if we were at the controls we would make the world our playground...to suit our aims, aspirations and wishes...sooner we move on and whatever the obstacles just climb right on over them!
In our hands, YES!
FORWARD!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Karl yuh coming home here:it may well have been merely we being 'the BABYLON' and doing BABYLON MACHINATIONS...
Ah waan tell yuh say Garvey knew the above and gave an explanation as to why: In his speech on Civilization. I think this is one of his most serious speeches (should be read very slowly) . That speech is deep.