Extradition

• Extradition

The US extradition requests always mention some kind of conspiracy to transport cocaine into America. Let us not forget that the extradition treaty works both ways. In most cases the drugs flow through Jamaica before going to the US, so why are we extraditing these people? They have committed crimes on Jamaican soil so we should try them in Jamaica and extradite the players in the US to Jamaica. No?

Listen to this doozy:

Extradition shall not be precluded by the fact that the competent authorities in the Requested State have decided not to prosecute the person sought for the acts for which extradition is requested or have decided to discontinue any criminal proceedings which have been initiated against the person sought

i have long said this. why don't we take care of our own business and prosecute the people in jamaica. if we do that, these extradition requests will be null and void. and we would appear to have an ounce of sovereignty and some cojonitas!

So what you think about the "Effect of Decision Not to Prosecute"? I mean if Jamaica does not see it fit to prosecute someone on a crime why would we extradite the person to stand trial on the same crime?

Maybe its because those making the decision is aware that the person will not be found guilty locally.

that's one reason. the other is, we are not brave enuff to prosecute some people. another reason, too much politics in our justice system. (what justice system, you ask?). well, that is the third reason - we need to invest in a justice system. we could start by getting rid of judges who change 191 years into 12!

like i said, time for us to start acting as an independent, sovereign nation that is serious about addressing this crime monster in our midst.

Jamaica does not have a truly independent judiciary. The DPP is beholden to the ruling party & that is one of the plethora of reasons why prosecution of "connected" individuals is rare in Ja.

Well they need to fix that instead of shipping people off to the US whenever they are told to!!

jamaica cannot have it both ways... either we are going to consistently honor the terms and conditions of the treaty or we back out of the treaty...

and yes, we should reform our justice system to remove the political alliance so the system can operate independently...

our latest actions and pending actions will greatly determine how other nations will view our government and by extension our country...

driva bruce is taking us down a slope that will be extremely difficult for us to climb out... once we have demonstrated that we have a history of not honoring treaties, the consequences will be worse than having bad credit...

well it may well be that there is a case fpr politicising the process but objectively, each extradition request must be dealt with on the merits and the government has the right to refuse any of the proper case is not made out or even a technicality (because there are rules surrounding this treaty) because after all, they are giving up their citizens to be tried in a foreign country...not sure what the protocol is for non-nationals where the death penalty is concerned.

the request must be dealt with according to the laws.

hmmmmmmmmm

hl, yuh 'ungry? hold a bun and cheese nuh man!

I simply want you to start believin' the tings you rite. Das all!

I may stop by Golden Krust for a bun 'an cheeZe after work. Have not had it in a while.

totally agree that each case must be dealt with on its own merit... however, the government should not be putting itself in a position where it may appear to be deliberately subverting the principles and spirit of the treaty...

Principles and Spirit ?? Try dat argument ovah Farin and si how much law suit lick yuh when di civil rights people dun wid yuh

lol !

This is another example of Jamaican EGO at work.