Pilots confident in their bid for Air Jamaica
[quote=Lazie;209513]"At a meeting with the Prime Minister on Tuesday, the pilots were told that based on their first proposal the government was not convinced that they could take over the airline." [quote]
Let us assume Tuesday is last Tuesday 19 Jan. 2010 - The pilots proposals were long before last Tuesday dismissed. So what is new in this. ...are we to understand a 'new' proposal was submitted?
If so, what is 'new' about it?
Now that Air J may be going away everybody start get sentimental. Yeah .. it would be nice if the pilots bought it ... the question is, what if they're in a financial bind? Should the gov't be bailing them out as well?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Unuh can cuss me - but the Pilots nuh have any money, and I doubt they will raise the equity. It is all sentimental talk.
Air Jamaica is battling losses for over a decade, and all of us could see that someday the sentimental airline would become extinct. If those pilots were serious, they should have been pursuing this long time. It was only in 2009 that they started the lip service about hoping to buy the airline.
Furthermore, if they are serious, how the hell would they be able to keep 19,000 employees, without trimming any "fat". Nuff restructuring would be needed, lean staff and nuff pay cut!
As to dealing with the Unions - that's another headache, heartache, etc.
If the airline couldn't turn a profit in the days when it had less competition - I don't see it happening now.
“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
I hear them talking about raising equity and people in the disapora.
Which of you Air Jamaica sentimentalists on this forum is willing to buy a stake in the airline?“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
Originally posted by MdmeX View PostUnuh can cuss me - but the Pilots nuh have any money, and I doubt they will raise the equity. It is all sentimental talk.
Air Jamaica is battling losses for over a decade, and all of us could see that someday the sentimental airline would become extinct. If those pilots were serious, they should have been pursuing this long time. It was only in 2009 that they started the lip service about hoping to buy the airline.
Furthermore, if they are serious, how the hell would they be able to keep 19,000 employees, without trimming any "fat". Nuff restructuring would be needed, lean staff and nuff pay cut!
As to dealing with the Unions - that's another headache, heartache, etc.
If the airline couldn't turn a profit in the days when it had less competition - I don't see it happening now.
Southwest like Model? Them woulda cut them pay and get rid of the unions? their salary is one of the highest in the industry.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostSouthwest like Model? Them woulda cut them pay and get rid of the unions? their salary is one of the highest in the industry.
...remember in the Southwest experiment the workers all own a piece of the airline. It is claimed that is why the put in so much effort. ...but the funny thing is Southwest workers are unionized."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."