Pilots confident in their bid for Air Jamaica

• Pilots confident in their bid for Air Jamaica

The Jamaica Airline Pilots Association is expressing confidence that it will be able to successfully operate the national airline if a proposal to be resubmitted to the government is accepted.

However, it is a race against time as the government is currently in talks with the Trinidad - based Caribbean Airlines and the Finance Minister has indicated that a deal is likely to be reached soon for the sale of Air Jamaica.

The pilots association which is representing the airline’s staff is adamant that it will not give up on their bid for the cash strapped carrier.

The pilots are currently working with local and international based equity partners to identify the funds needed to acquire the lovebird.
    A deal with Caribbean Airlines will grant Air Jamaica equity, but the Jamaican Government will have to find $27 billion in this year's budget to meet debt and other costs, including the redundancy of hundreds of employees.
    At a meeting with the Prime Minister on Tuesday, the pilots were told that based on their first proposal the government was not convinced that they could take over the airline.

However, Captain Capleton said the association’s business plan will be submitted to its equity partners today and he expects to have a final response by the latest Monday.

Captain Capleton said the business plan seeks to maintain the current staff complement at the airline, approximately 19,000 workers.

He says consideration is also being given to the involvement of Jamaicans in the Diaspora.

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=16245

aha this is why I say watch shark tank. I would like to see what they are proposing. This is the only time I would sit with Brucie I would be like Oleary from shark Tank : Guys you buy the airline pay royalties for the name. Not even interested in five percent equity, br prepared to take all (sorry, no more free flights).

The above also tells us why JA should be very careful in dealing with the USA (so far they have been very patient with the extradition issue) Ja is in the service industry; which is very vulnerable. Our long term strategic economic interests should always be at the back of all our political representatives minds (regardless of political parties)

this is what i am talking about... at the very least the pilots should be given an opportunity to purchase the airline... btw, 19,000 workers cannot be right...

This looks like an old article.

I have been following this matter closely and friends within AirJ tells me those who would make the decision are hell bent on ignoring the Pilots...and have already moved beyond giving the Pilots any hearing or consideration.

Didn't the PM meet with the pilots on Tuesday?

The Pilots are going to need funding - so put down yuh money They should have tried to do this about 5 years ago.

It a go end up like the Utech bid.

Didn't the PM meet with the pilots on Tuesday?
                ...what was said?

Yuh like play dandy shandy don't it? It was after the meeting the expressed their hope of buying the airline.

dem express dem "hope" lang time..

Long time mi tell them fi close it down and keep the name, start a new airline and just service the profitable routes.

There is also the choice of talking with the owner of Digicel who want to set up Air One but the government don't want give him license while Air J is been sold. He wants to set up a model like Ryan Air which is very profitable.

dem express dem "hope" lang time..
                        I stand corrected ... "hope" was the wrong word to use.

The pilots waan run the airline...
                          The 19,000 employees are unbelievable.....

"At a meeting with the Prime Minister on Tuesday, the pilots were told that based on their first proposal the government was not convinced that they could take over the airline."

Now that Air J may be going away everybody start get sentimental. Yeah .. it would be nice if the pilots bought it ... the question is, what if they're in a financial bind? Should the gov't be bailing them out as well?

I spoke with someone last night and the message I got was, the pilots were not being considered.

I never said and I am not now saying you are not correct that the pilots are being considered as buyers...I am merely repeating what I was told. ...and I commented on your article being, 'possibly dated'.

What is the date of your article and where did you get it/its source?

...and what's the below?

... It was after the meeting the expressed their hope of buying the airline.
                              They had lost hope of buying and had now recently had that hope revived?