• More initial jobless claim. Lazie and Iman wha you say

Jobless claims surge to 2-month high

By Blake Ellis, contributing writerJanuary 21, 2010: 10:04 AM ET

NEW YORK (CNNMoney.com) -- The number of Americans filing first-time claims for unemployment insurance surged to a 2-month high last week, the government said Thursday.
    There were 482,000 initial job claims filed in the week ended Jan. 16, up 36,000 from a revised 446,000 the previous week, the Labor Department said in a weekly report.

cnnad_createAd("270381","http://ads.cnn.com/html.ng/site=cnn_money&cnn_money_position=220x200_ctr&cnn_ money_rollup=quigo&params.styles=fs","200","220");

A consensus estimate of economists surveyed by Briefing.com expected new claims to fall to 440,000.
    The 4-week moving average of initial claims was 448,250, up 7,000 from the previous week's revised average of 441,250.
    "We did see an increase in initial claims and that does counter the recent trend of consistent improvement," said Robert Dye, a senior economist at PNC Financial Services. "But it's not surprising given the adverse weather conditions."
    The cold weather in December and the first half of January caused industries such as construction, agriculture and retail to suffer, Dye said.
    "Typically, economic series are seasonally adjusted," he said. "But when you have unusual weather like this, the adjustments sometimes don't go far enough to capture it."
    Continuing claims: The government said 4,599,000 people filed continuing claims in the week ended Jan. 9, the most recent data available. That's down 18,000 from the preceding week's revised 4,617,000 claims

Going to be that way for a while, I suspect. No easy fix to this.

Unfortunately Obamas big social plans are on hold. Better to spend the next 3 years dealing with the economy and jobs and if he gets a second term then he can go back to those plans and see if any of them can get support.

Now Don1 see what I mean when I say when I see changes I believe it?

A ruff time out there and the demcrats better start thinking about what they can truly do to put people back to work. While many people fed up with the republicans, many are brainwashed to think that the democrats are just not economic friendly and can't solve the job problem. The longer it goes on and the more the democrats fail to come up with a worthwhile plan the worst it will be for them. Most other major economies are and putting a few people back to work including China, Germany, Britain etc.