Clarke pulls Scotia from PSOJ

• Clarke pulls Scotia from PSOJ

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Clarke pulls Scotia from PSOJ</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline>Opposition to his proposed constitutional amendments angers BNS boss</SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>JULIAN RICHARDSON, Observer staff reporter
    Friday, December 08, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=350 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>CLARKE. it is evident that if your views run contrary to those who believe in incumbency you will have no place at the table</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Scotiabank Jamaica CEO William 'Bill' Clarke, angered by opposition to his proposed amendments to the constitution of the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ), yesterday withdrew the bank's membership in the group, effectively ending his bid for the presidency.<P class=StoryText align=justify>But Clarke, in his two-paragraph statement announcing his decision, also ruffled the 30-year-old organisation by accusing it of being impervious to change and suggesting that the PSOJ lacked democracy.<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=175 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>ZACCA. I hope that the board of BNS will reconsider their position </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>"A democratic process that only exists at the PSOJ has defeated my candidacy for the presidency of the PSOJ," Clarke said in his statement. "The members of the PSOJ have elected the president that they desire and the status quo will certainly remain.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"It is evident that if your views run contrary to those who believe in incumbency, you will have no place at the table. As a consequence, the company that I represent will cease to be a member of the PSOJ with immediate effect."<P class=StoryText align=justify>But yesterday afternoon, the PSOJ expressed "deep concern" at Clarke's statement and said that the association "has always facilitated and encouraged varying views from its members and has sought to ensure that democratic processes are maintained".<P class=StoryText align=justify>Clarke's rival for the presidency, ATL Group deputy chairman Christopher Zacca, also took issue with Clarke's statement, saying that the election race was transparent and cleanly contested.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Added Zacca: "The conduct of the annual general meeting held on December 5, 2007, was an example of democracy at its finest."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Clarke and Zacca spent the past few months engaged in a vigorous battle for the presidency, with intense lobbying and the release of manifestoes by both men.<P class=StoryText align=justify>According to the PSOJ, it was understood that Clarke's proposed amendments to the constitution - which included expansion of the PSOJ's officer corps and executive committee - were intrinsic to his candidacy.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Outgoing PSOJ president Beverly Lopez told the Observer yesterday that Clarke was upset that his motion was not carried at Tuesday's AGM at which the organisation elected its council which, in turn, will vote for the PSOJ president.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"I tried to explain to Mr Clarke that democracy was at work...," said Lopez. "It was clear that some people didn't understand what his motion meant in terms of expansion of the officer corps and of the executives... when we realised that some people had not fully grasped the situation, a member asked Mr Clarke to withdraw the motion with the plan to have it studied in its fulsomenes

RE: Clarke pulls Scotia from PSOJ

Big job!

Childish behaviour?

Yes?

Both candidates were interviewed on Real Business and I did like the proposals of Mr. Clarke. As a matter of fact, I don't recall Mr. Zacca making any proposals. He was just being big up for what the ATL Group was doing.

To my understanding, Bill Clarke wanted to get the small businesses involved with the PSOJ and apparently that didn't go over well.

Is Bill being childish? Hell Yes! Is not all the while you going to get things your way.

Lazie (12/8/2006)Both candidates were interviewed on Real Business and I did like the proposals of Mr. Clarke. As a matter of fact, I don't recall Mr. Zacca making any proposals. He was just being big up for what the ATL Group was doing.

To my understanding, Bill Clarke wanted to get the small businesses involved with the PSOJ and apparently that didn't go over well.

Is Bill being childish? Hell Yes! Is not all the while you going to get things your way.
        There is also the matter of working for what you believe in. Clarke can(could have worked)work from within the organisation to effect change. He should be working at 'changing the mind-set' within the PSOJ.

Damn...yuh si mi a run weh fram changing the 'mind-set' of di JFF?

Stop the foolishness Karl. Change which mindset? Beverly Lopez said that they didn't agree with his proposed changes. How is he going to change their mindset?

<DIV>
            Lazie (12/8/2006)Stop the foolishness Karl. Change which mindset? Beverly Lopez said that they didn't agree with his proposed changes. How is he going to change their mindset?
            </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>So, because they don't agree now means they will never agree?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Imagine if civil rights workers took that attitude! Lose offa yuh, Lazie.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And btw, we did not agree with the JLP over the last two decades. Why should we listen to them now?</DIV>

Mosiah (12/8/2006)<DIV>
              Lazie (12/8/2006)Stop the foolishness Karl. Change which mindset? Beverly Lopez said that they didn't agree with his proposed changes. How is he going to change their mindset?
              </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>So, because they don't agree now means they will never agree?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Imagine if civil rights workers took that attitude! Lose offa yuh, Lazie.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And btw, we did not agree with the JLP over the last two decades. Why should we listen to them now?
              </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Mr. Clarke said something about the status quo!
              "I tried to explain to Mr Clarke that democracy was at work...," said Lopez. "It was clear that some people didn't understand what his motion meant in terms of expansion of the officer corps and of the executives... when we realised that some people had not fully grasped the situation, a member asked Mr Clarke to withdraw the motion with the plan to have it studied in its fulsomeness at a later date. Mr Clarke refused to withdraw the motion and wanted to press ahead... the long and short of it is that the motion was not accepted and Mr Clarke was upset that it was not."
              </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>If dumb ole Lazie had no problem understanding what he was saying in an interview, whats so hard for members of the PSOJ to understand? Remember, it was this same Bill Clarke that said "Jamaica is a failed state" was I was very much surprised he was a candidate.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Most Jamaicans don't disagree with the JLP based on policies, dem disagree because dem grow up PNP. Tek Jawge and his changing cry for improved education.</DIV><DIV></DIV>

Clarke seems to have short fuse and it is his way or the highway.

May work with Scotia Bank but with his peers he need to realise that him is just a part a the team.

Good that him want changes but him have to understand that not everybody like changes so instead of acting like a little spoil brat he needs to just relax.

Agreed. When I heard of it yesterday I was very shocked. If this is his attitude, mek him gwaan.

EDITORIAL - The unfortunate Bill Clarke
                    published: Tuesday | December 12, 2006

By any measure, Bill Clarke, the CEO of the Scotiabank Jamaica, has been a very successful businessman. Over the last decade he not only steered Scotiabank, unscathed, through the turbulence of the financial sector of the late 1990s, but into its most profitable period ever. Indeed, most banks worldwide would love to boast the performance ratios achieved by Scotiabank Jamaica.

Bill Clarke's achievement at Scotiabank has made him a leader in the Jamaican society, and provided a platform from which to serve in several areas of the community. People did not necessarily like him. The complaint was that he was brash and arrogant; often prone to taking extreme stances, perhaps for the shock effect: such as when he declared Jamaica a failed state.

But like him or not, you had to respect Bill Clarke. His performance as a banker insisted that you did. And there was this fearlessness, which you sensed could not be compromised by social, business or political considerations. It is this measure of Clarke which, we believe, propelled his ultimately failed candidacy for the presidency of the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ), the umbrella organisation for businesses on the island.

That candidacy, unfortunately, disintegrated last week as Mr Clarke went into a meltdown that suggests not only flaw in his character, but either misunderstanding or ignorance of the nostrums of democratic management. Or worse, for someone who has been passionate in his declarations about democracy, a lack of commitment to the process.

Indeed, Clarke's candidacy for the PSOJ leadership was predicated, in his view, on broadening and deepening its democracy, by widening the involvement of individuals and firms who have largely been on its sidelines. He wanted, he said, to modernise the organisation.

It was Clarke's proposal for dramatic change that ostensibly drew Christopher Zacca, the deputy chairman of Gordon 'Butch' Stewart's ATL/Sandals group, into a presidential race, which, for the first time raised the prospect of a contested election for the PSOJ's top post. Zacca's opponents argued that he would be Stewart's proxy and would perhaps use the PSOJ to pursue ATL/Sandals' corporate disagreements with the government.

That, however, is beside the point. The PSOJ's council would, in its wisdom, elect the best person for the job. Unfortunately, there will be no election. For the council having disagreed with his reform agenda, or at least having asked for more time to study it, Clarke has pulled out of the race.

That, of itself, is bad enough. For by this retreat, unless an alternative candidate arises, or the PSOJ finds its way back to choosing its leader by consensus, those who supported Bill Clarke will find themselves without a candidate. Looked at it another way, Zacca will be president by default.

But worse than Clarke's peevish behaviour with regard to his candidacy is his decision to pull Scotiabank Jamaica out of the PSOJ. It smacks of immaturity and childish petulance and raises questions whether the decision has the support of the bank's board and Clarke's superiors in Canada.

It is also quite odd that Clarke could pull Scotiabank out of the PSOJ while remaining on its council as president of the Jamaica Bankers' Association. He can't have it both ways.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                    The opinions on this page, except for the above, do not necessarily reflect the views of The Gleaner. To respond to a Gleaner editorial, email us: editor@gleanerjm.com or fax: 922-6223. Responses should be no longer than 400 words. Not all responses will be published.

I don't think Mr. Clarke shouldn't have pulled BNS from the PSOJ, however, can you blame him? Wha the new talk a yaad? "A suh di ting set up!" Seems as if it also applies to the PSOJ.

The following is an excerpt of an article written by the host of Real Business.

We believe that William “Bill” Clarke’s proposals to amend the constitution to broaden the officer corps and executive as well as the membership base to include members of the rural private sector and the Jamaican Diaspora is sound and, therefore, would be accepted by a forward-looking and open organisation, which is committed to broad-based development through the market.

Including the rural private sector in the PSOJ would help to forge a greater link between the agricultural sector and the other key sectors of the economy such as tourism, finance and distribution. The inclusion of members of the diaspora would also help to increase the flow of skilled personnel and remittances for more productive purposes, while facilitating more rapid technology transfers.

Last year, members of the diaspora sent back some US$1.7 billion, which was used to help fund the country’s oil bill after it jumped to US$1.4 billion, as well as the current account deficit. The current account deficit measures the extent to which the country is depending on its trading partners to supply its current needs on a credit basis.

Members of the diaspora could also help members of the PSOJ to secure joint venture agreements directly or indirectly, while helping with lobbying efforts aimed at securing greater market access in the countries in which they live, work or conduct business, primarily the United States (US), Canada and the United Kingdom (UK).

Yardstick
                      Finally and perhaps most important, in a modern market economy, the ability to generate profits and the willingness to give back to the community are the major yardsticks by which a good corporate leader is measured.

Under Clarke’s leadership BNS raked in some $40 billion in profits, while supporting many noble causes during the last 10 years. During this same period of time his opponent presided over a company, which lost some $52 billion, while getting massive government support. These losses are now being hugged up by the taxpayers of this country.

We concede that BNS operates in a far less competitive environment than Air Jamaica, but we would also like to make the point that Air Jamaica got heavy government support, while having a 50 per cent share of the Jamaican market, although it was being run by a private company.

BNS also remained solid during the financial sector crisis, while Air Jamaica responded poorly to the impact of 9/11 and higher crude prices, expanding using expensive leases, while all other major airlines were cutting cost by replacing fleet and cutting staff as well as routes.

The question must, therefore, be asked as to why a man like William “Bill” Clarke with such as viable track record could not become president of the PSOJ, although his performance would be lauded on Wall Street, State Street, Fleet Street and even in the Frankfurt Main.

The answer is simple — the PSOJ wants to remain an old boys club, which is run along class and racial lines. It does not want become a serious organisation devoted to the development of the economy through the use of market forces, which place greater emphases on economic efficiency through the application of the laws of demand and supply. They want to use what Professor Marshall famously called “externalities” such as race, class and domicile to run the organisation.

However, if the PSOJ continues with this backward, petty and hypocritical behaviour it will soon be swept away by the inexorable forces of the global market.