US denied - Government says no to extradition request
That I won't answer. I will give you time to think about it within the context of the general populace. See this is really part of the problem with Ja's politics: You have a few that think for themselves and not the nation on a whole. Ja will not suffer because of the egos of a few this time around.
Read this:
JA to tell US why it refused to extradite businessman
Saturday, January 23, 2010
THE Jamaican Government was last night crafting a response to the United States after Washington expressed displeasure at Kingston's refusal to extradite accused drug trafficker Prestley Bingham.
The US had requested that Bingham, a St James businessman who was described as major player in an international drug-trafficking ring, be sent to face trial in that country.
Minister of Justice and Attorney General Dorothy Lightbourne refused the request, citing a breach of Bingham's rights.
Bingham was yesterday released from the Tower Street Adult Correctional Centre in Kingston after spending 25 months in custody.
This was the second time the US had requested Bingham's extradition. In December 2005 he was arrested by members of the Fugitive Apprehension team, based on a US request, but was freed by the Court of Appeal in
July 2007.
The people of Ja should come out and make it clear that they are not going to suffer for a few at the top. Quarrelling with the Us was not what they voted for, it's that simple.
Originally posted by Jawge View Postother countries? Lazie, this is Jamaica and the USA. "every tub haffi sidung pon him own bottom" Ja signed an agreement. What we didn't read before we signed? If you have abargain and don't honour it, isn't that the start of a quarrell?
To say yes and then say no after all preparartions have been made? It's obvious that you guys think you can outsmart the US. Okay no quarrell; watch and see.
Just remember all the pieces on the board are set for a nice check mate.
Since Reagan the US and other countries have gone through so many staff and policy changes. We now have the Obama (youngest US president ever) administration. What does Ja have? The same set from the Reagan years. This alone speaks volume on the direction in which the island is going. I think some bright political minds are being stifled in Ja not to mention those who being are kept semilietrate.
If you are concerned that something just don't look right with this case, then I agree. It appears they were ready to go thru with the request then there was a last minute change of mind, which is our right, but it seemed to have left a few people surprised. Was this man worthy of extradition?
I would like the govt. to share with us why the request was denied, what new info became available resulting in the change of heart.
Brighter boy did you read the agreement? Did it say that ANYONE the US ask for under whatever guise, they must be sent there?
You spoke about history go back and do your home workSolidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
Fine; the point is that whilst Obama was just a freshman or finishing high school Bruce was a high ranking party leader (and sitting MP).
Guess what Bam is now President of the US and Bruce is PM. I keep telling you Ja is lost in time and you won't believe me.
What if you had decided to help Ja by making a change? Could you have gone into politics and succeeded? Look at the many road blocks in your way.
The US has made strides in leaps and bounds. Yes racism is in the US but at least they are confronting the issue. The richest set of blackmen resides in the US. Blacks; if they strive can make headways in any of the US key industries. Can you say the same for JA? Ja has a race problem but no one dares to address it. Ja is living acording to laws laid down THREE HUNDRED YEARS AGO.
Put that in your pipe and smoke it.
Yes you are right: lump me in with the "stupid americans" who can't read. They should have known that the agree ment says there is no guarantee even up to the last minute on the extradition (hence keep calling with your cell to make sure). Americans are just not bright; you can outsmart them all day.
See I finally did my homework.