That's what you think. The people of Ja deserves to know why JA is at quarrell with its powerful neighbour to north especially after signing an agreement. Ja won't sit and go through another 1980 again. It's this simple if you feel the running of the island is too much let the people know and call a refarandum/ election or something.
It's this simple JA won't quarrell with US no more. The people voted for Jobs,jobs, reduction in crime, peace wealth and prosperity. Picking quarrell with the USA was not on list (hence a clear explanation to the people is expected).
"not by plebiscite" see the type of arrogance. This is why the people must stand up and set new parameters for all political parties.
Jawge you are aware that other countries reject sending their citizens to the USA? I think it was Mosiah that posted an article since week where another Jamaican was sent to the US only for the case to be dismissed against him.
Maybe you have a point that an explanation should be given, but to claim its picking a quarrel with the USA is a bit of a stretch.
other countries? Lazie, this is Jamaica and the USA. "every tub haffi sidung pon him own bottom" Ja signed an agreement. What we didn't read before we signed? If you have abargain and don't honour it, isn't that the start of a quarrell?
I'm very concerned about Ja's stability in the region. I don't think today's generation are prepared to suffer for the egos of a few. The PM should be on TV explainig to the people why and what steps will be taken to correct the matter (seeing that the people did not vote for this).
It would be a good thing if the reasons are made public, yes.
But your initial posts were not making the case for information. Instead you declared that the JA govt broke an agreement without even knowing what the agreement was!
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Yuh know what's amazing with you guys: You are willing to make the people suffer just because of your petty egos. Ja can be wealthy and prosperous if we use our minds. No we are lalzy hence others should do for us. Eighth graders have the island cowering in fear. We continue to give our tourist brand away for free and then wonder about our economic demise. Ja signed a treaty with the US with regards to Narcotics and other criminal activities; we are now dishonouring that treaty.
Bruce owes an explanation to the people of JA on this. Bruce did not elect himself.
Under the treaty, our minister of justice has the discretion to deny a request to extradite. What's the problem?
Last edited by Bricktop; January 23, 2010, 08:16 AM.
Iman and Bricky, this is where my bone of contention stems from:
There are reports that the Government has reversed its acceptance of a request from the US government to extradite a prominent St James businessman.According to information reaching The Gleaner, the news that Presley Bingham will not be extradited has left some law-enforcement officers stunned. This was communicated to members of the Fugitive Apprehension Team Wednesday afternoon, while US marshals were in the island waiting to escort Bingham to the United States where he is wanted on drug-related charges.
See it's an obvious slap in the face. Now what if the US retaliates (which they can do in more ways than one)? I know that some few don't care about the people of Ja, but JA cannot do that "dance" that led to the 1980 election anymore. Ja seriously need new minds that are versed in political science and history to chart the waters of the info age. This is ridiculous.
The US has time to waste? Why not tell the Marshalls don't come becuase we have no intention of handing over this man?