US denied - Government says no to extradition request

• US denied - Government says no to extradition request

US denied - Government says no to extradition request for St James businessman
    Published: Friday | January 22, 2010

Glenroy Sinclair and Gary Spaulding, Senior Gleaner Writers
    After being bombarded with criticisms about its tardiness in signing an extradition warrant for Tivoli Gardens' strongman, Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, the Government is again embroiled in a major extradition controversy with the United States government.

There are reports that the Government has reversed its acceptance of a request from the US government to extradite a prominent St James businessman.According to information reaching The Gleaner, the news that Presley Bingham will not be extradited has left some law-enforcement officers stunned. This was communicated to members of the Fugitive Apprehension Team Wednesday afternoon, while US marshals were in the island waiting to escort Bingham to the United States where he is wanted on drug-related charges.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead1.html

Bruce better be prepared for a long hard fight.

Why this is happening to Ja? When will we learn? As much as I loved Joshua, he made the same mistake in the late 70s and the people (key operative is people) paid dearly.

Why does the populace have to suffer for the egos of the few? I said it here that the people have to get up and set parameters. We will not go through that near civil war thing of the 80s again. We will not go through that whole food shortage and what not because of a few person's misguided ego. Ja is small island sorrounded by water; Ja can illafford to quarrell with likes of the USA.

I personally don't like the road we are taking right now. Ja needs intelligent young minds to guide it in these times (akin to choppy seas).

Maybe dem nuh provide sufficient evidence for the extradition request. Some people pon the forum know everyting what a gwaan everywhere so mek we know.

Yuh not saying that we should send our citizens to the USA so-suh-suh when Babylon aks fi dem, right?

bright boy, you signed an agreement.

leave the badmind outta dis.

what yuh really saying, jawge?

Yuh know what's amazing with you guys: You are willing to make the people suffer just because of your petty egos. Ja can be wealthy and prosperous if we use our minds. No we are lalzy hence others should do for us. Eighth graders have the island cowering in fear. We continue to give our tourist brand away for free and then wonder about our economic demise. Ja signed a treaty with the US with regards to Narcotics and other criminal activities; we are now dishonouring that treaty.

Bruce owes an explanation to the people of JA on this. Bruce did not elect himself.

the execution of an extradition treaty, like almost all similar bilateral reciprocal agreements (including TIEAs) does NOT mean that every extradition request will be granted.

Okay. Explain the speedy extradition of some and the long delay and outright denial of others (since 2007).

As far as I'm concerned the people of JA vote is not respected; at least Joshua would come on JBC and rant about the US in the late 70s (he gave the people that much respect. A true leader if you ask me).

how should i know the reasons for the delays? if they are expedited i would presume that the threshold for a prima facie case has been satisfactorily stated.

i am saying as a matter of fact, an extradition request is just that, A REQUEST, it may be denied on several grounds including that the information within the request is inadequate.

Do you feel that the PM owes the people of Ja an explanation? Seeing that JA is dealing with a powerful govt.

Okay. Explain the speedy extradition of some and the long delay and outright denial of others (since 2007).
                          what kind of a duh! request is that?!?!

they owe the US an explanation extradition is not by plebiscite and they have to go to the population with each request. is that what the us does with extradition requests.

That's what you think. The people of Ja deserves to know why JA is at quarrell with its powerful neighbour to north especially after signing an agreement. Ja won't sit and go through another 1980 again. It's this simple if you feel the running of the island is too much let the people know and call a refarandum/ election or something.

It's this simple JA won't quarrell with US no more. The people voted for Jobs,jobs, reduction in crime, peace wealth and prosperity. Picking quarrell with the USA was not on list (hence a clear explanation to the people is expected).

"not by plebiscite" see the type of arrogance. This is why the people must stand up and set new parameters for all political parties.