• Something for the conspiracy theorists like myself

Artificially-Induced Earthquakes
    Officially, there is an area of research devoted to man-made earthquakes. Geologists and seismologists agree earthquakes can be induced in five major ways: fluid injection into the Earth, fluid extraction from the Earth, mining or quarrying, nuclear testing and through the construction of dams and reservoirs.
    In fact, there are officially recorded instances of earthquakes caused by human activity.
    Geologists discovered that disposal of waste fluids by means of injecting them deep into the Earth could trigger earthquakes after a series of quakes in the Denver area occurred from 1962-1965; the periods and amounts of injected waste coincided with the frequency and magnitude of quakes in the Denver area. The earthquakes were triggered because the liquid, which was injected under very high pressure, released stored strain energy in the rocks.
    Man-made earthquakes may seem like something out of the X-Files, and it’s probably only a matter of time before the idea is picked up by Hollywood.
    The plotline of Hammer of Eden, written by best-selling author Ken Follett, revolves around a terrorist group threatening to level San Francisco with a man-made earthquake. When asked by Salon magazine how real is the idea of a man-made earthquake, Follett replied that, “Some of the seismologists told me, ‘There’s no way this could happen.’ But others gave sad little shrugs and said, ‘It’s hard to say. Who knows? Maybe. It’s within the realm of possibly.’”
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yeah - I read that book!

In a rudimentary form yes (for example an offshoot of underground nuclear testing) but to use as a weapon; there isn’t sufficient data to support this. A nation would have to target another nation whilst excluding those friendly to it (including its assets and interests). Our civilization is certainly pushing towards the age when the control of earthquakes is possible. It could be done via our advancement in computing; by fusing us with machines (see Bill Joy’s Essay) or other means. An analysis of our (present civilization) history and science will show that we are not as advanced as we would like to believe. The Western world has made significant progress in harnessing the power of water and controlling it to an extent (one can look at the US with its massive dams, railroads beneath large rivers et al. Matter of fact when it rains in NY. City traffic still flows and the subways are still functional). The Haitian disaster has proven that there is a lot more work to do.
      Sidebar: Garvey was right there is a lot more things on this planet that needs to be done; hence we can make our mark.

To bring home the point, please read this excerpt from the physicist
      Michio Kaku (pay attention to the red italics) :

If we look at the rise of our own civilization over
      the past 100,000 years, since modern humans emerged in Africa, it can
      be seen as the story of rising energy consumption. Russian astrophysicist
      Nikolai Rardashev has conjectured that the stages in the development
      of extraterrestrial civilizations in the universe could also be
      ranked by energy consumption. Using the laws of physics, he grouped
      the possible civilizations into three types:

1. Type I civilizations: those that harvest planetary
      power, utilizing all the sunlight that strikes their planet
      They can, perhaps, harness the power of volcanoes, manipulate
      the weather, control earthquakes, and build cities on
      the ocean. All planetary power is within their control.

2. Type II civilizations: those that can utilize the entire
      power of their sun, making them 10 billion times more powerful
      than a Type I civilization. The Federation of Planets in
      Star Trek is a Type II civilization. A Type II civilization, in a
      sense, is immortal; nothing known to science, such as ice
      ages, meteor impacts, or even supernovae, can destroy it (In
      case their mother star is about to explode, these beings can
      move to another star system, or perhaps even move their
      home planet)

3. Type III civilizations: those that can utilize the power
      of an entire galaxy. They are 10 billion times more powerful
      than a Type II civilization. The Borg in Star Trek, the Empire
      in Star Wars, and the galactic civilization in Asimov's Foundation
      series correspond to a Type III civilization. They have
      colonized billions of star systems and can exploit the power
      of the black hole at the center of their galaxy. They freely
      roam the space lanes of the galaxy.
      Rardashev estimated that any civilization growing at a modest rate
      of a few percent per year in energy consumption will progress rapidly
      from one type to the next, within a matter of a few thousand years to
      tens of thousands of years.

As I've discussed in my previous books, our own civilization qualifies
      a Type 0 civilization (i.e., we use dead plants, oil and coal, to fuel
      our machines). We utilize only a tiny fraction of the sun's energy that
      falls on our planet. But already we can see the beginnings of a Type I
      civilization emerging on the Earth. The Internet is the beginning of a
      Type I telephone system connecting the entire planet. The beginning of
      a Type I economy can be seen in the rise of the European Union, which
      in turn was created to compete with NAFTA. English is already the
      number one second language on the Earth and the language of science,
      finance, and business. I imagine it may become the Type I language
      spoken by virtually everyone. Local cultures and customs will
      continue to thrive in thousands of varieties on the Earth, but superimposed
      on this mosaic of peoples will be a planetary culture, perhaps
      dominated by youth culture and commercialism.
      The transition between one civilization and the next is far from
      guaranteed. The most dangerous transition, for example, may be between
      a Type 0 and a Type I civilization. A Type 0 civilization is still
      wracked with the sectarianism, fundamentalism, and racism that typified
      its rise, and it is not clear whether or not these tribal and religious
      passions will overwhelm the transition. (Perhaps one reason that we
      don't see Type I civilizations in the galaxy is because they never made
      the transition, i.e., they self-destructed. One day, as we visit other star
      systems, we may find the remains of civilizations that killed themselves
      in one way or another, e.g., their atmospheres became radioactive
      or too hot to sustain life.)
      By the time a civilization has reached Type III status it has the energy
      and know-how to travel freely throughout the galaxy and even
      reach the planet Earth. As in the movie 2001, such civilizations may
      well send self-replicating, robotic probes throughout the galaxy searching
      for intelligent life.

But a Type III civilization would likely not be inclined to visit us or
      conquer us, as in the movie Independence Day, where such a civilization
      spreads like a plague of locusts, swarming around planets to suck
      their resources dry. In reality, there are countless dead planets in outer
      space with vast mineral wealth they could harvest without the nuisance
      of coping with a restive native population. Their attitude toward
      us might resemble our own attitude toward an ant hill. Our inclination
      is not to bend down and offer the ants beads and trinkets, but simply
      to ignore them.
      The main danger ants face is not that humans want to invade them
      or wipe them out. Instead it is simply that we will pave them over because
      they are in the way. Remember that the distance between a Type
      III civilization and our own Type 0 civilization is far more vast than
      the distance between us and the ants, in terms of energy usage.

In short, not yet (please note I’m dealing strictly with earthquakes).