well as Gamma said he leaves no room for objectivity. He doesn't present the other side. Even though most of what he is writing is truth to him and maybe factual but once in awhile it wouldn't earth to counter the views of others, not just to present his. That is my only grouse with him, and even so I like his writing.
Haiti's real pact with a devil
And that 30% amounts to how much money per year? And have conditions improved long term?
This is not specific to Haiti. In far too many poor countries, aid has become a permanent fixture and there is little improvement to show for it. Corrupt government officials and private contractors are the ones who benefit the most."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
a good marketing person is not afraid to discuss the advantage of their competitor and then tell you why you should buy from them.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
The post was meant for here:
This is interesting. Okay let's say France decides to give back 21 billion
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6A3FcWPFKuo How should it be paid? In a lump sum or over the same 150 year period? If France pays 10.5 billion now to Haiti it would go right back to Europe and N.america for equipment and infrastructral repair. I wasn't gonna say anything but I couldn't resist any longer.
What the Prof. didn't tell you is that Europe is ashamed to tell you that Africa once overran Western europe and there was no quarters given. War is ugly.
Let me put you on a little:
The Moors did however not rest with the conquest of Spain. Their Holy War, or Jihad, forced them ever on, and in 722, they crossed the Pyrenees and invaded Gothic Gaul (France), seizing several towns in the south of that country.
Ten years later, in 732, they launched what was to be their final bid to overcome all of Western Europe when a massive army under the command of the Moorish governor of Spain, Abd arRahman, began laying waste to large parts of Frankish and Gothic France.
The Goths in Aquitaine, under their leader Eudes, were defeated at Garonne, and they were forced back into central France, carrying with them news of the frightful and merciless Moorish invasion.
Only isolated pockets of Gothic resistance held out. In the north an enclave only secured its existence by being forced to enter a treaty with the Moors in terms of which the Goths had to hand over 100 White Gothic virgins a year to the Moorish leaders for use in their harems - a painful tribute which continued until 791 AD, when the Goths once enough became strong enough to break the terms of the treaty.
Now based on the above do you really think these guys are going to pay it back? I think history should be presented properly; so that we can all understand where we are. I'm not here say that the atrocities by the Euros are justified but one must be objective when discussing things in the context of war and negotiation.
It seems as if humans are being more merciful at least in the developed world.
Right now if 1.53 billion comes into JA (will ease off Haiti a bit) it goes right back out without any real changes on the island. Who is to be blamed for that? Garvey said until we can match intellect with intellect; no respect will be given to us. Can't blame a man for seizing on a good deal.
I have to agree with you on this one Jawge.
I know of a small town , mostly black and mostly poor, in rural Louisiana that had a large factory. About 10 years ago there was an accident at the plant and some toxic gas got released in the town, so there was a class action lawsuit to compensate the residents for possible future medical problems.
Well even BEFORE the money was paid out, the local Lexus and Cadillac dealers (owned of course by non-resident, non-black businessmen) were overrun with people picking out cars they would buy with thier lawsuit money. These are people with low income jobs if any, and little to no savings. This windfall of money to the community was already on its way out even before it had arrived.
When Cedric the Entertainer said in the Barber Shop movie that the only thing that woudl change if black people got reparations is that Cadillac would be the #1 selling car, he was pretty close to the truth."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Glad yuh see it boss. Right now nuh earthquake nuh lick Ja and if 1.53 billion USD come to wi, wi cyaan give a proper account for it. This is the info age; a lot of info is moving around. Time for us to wise up to the game and throw away blaming. It's amazing how much Garvey was ahead of his time. At times you wonder how can one person have so much vision.
BTW mi respek wussa concrete fi yuh, cause it tek a strong bredda fi cross di picket line
Originally posted by Mosiah View Postfor those who can't handle the truth!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Assasin View Postwhen you reach certain age you mek up your mind pon everything.
Ask Karl if you think a lie
'Ow yuh tink yuh-a-guh keep young? Yuh affi grow an move wid di times!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostThe aid does not pour into Haiti. That is a misconception. Any US government aid has to be spent 70% in the US, the haitians get like 30% of the actual money and the rest is spent in the US on freight, overhead, goods, blah blah blah"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."